We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Piccolo "GREAT" Buco !”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Piccolo Buco

Piccolo Buco
Ranked #222 of 12,165 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Trevi
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
98 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“Piccolo "GREAT" Buco !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

First you have to make our eyes and your soul happy , watching the great beauty of the Trevi's fountain . But then also your stomach is calling his turn so what to do ? Very close to this famous spot we saw this little little "hole in the wall" . I was really attracted to see the pizza oven with the real wood burning, as you may know the final result for the pizza is a completely different story . So we went into this really small restaurant , and a really kind waiter helped us to find a table free . One pizza for me and one plate of spaghetti alle vongole for my better half , really simple and fast lunch . First surprise : welcomed by a really tasteful bruschetta , free gift from the restaurant as we had to wait a little bit for the table . Ok , nice touch ! then my pizza was really a good one , it is a Roman style so is different from the one we used to get in the other part of Italy . The spaghetti also were "one of the best ever" , I am citing what she said . Then it was late , we were the last customers , the guy serving us was quite free so we started to chat .... spent 30 mins of lovable chats about travelling in the world and , again, as we boys were sometime speaking in Italian , he decided to keep my Asian GF busy with a free Tiramisu'.....hahahaha , then what to say more ? This is , in my opinion , the classic demonstration that to work in the F&B industry you do not need to have top places , with great spaces and 5 stars chefs in the kitchen to make your clients very happy . Most of the times a simple kindness from a waiter , a smart move that it doesn't cost you too much (1-2 euros?) make the real difference and will people happy to come back to you and to suggest others to come and visit your tiny tiny .......but great hole in the wall !

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Padrino-65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,933 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,096
    560
    164
    63
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“All round great place to eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

The food was good, the service was excellent, and Value for money, all things hard to find in rome but all located in one cute restaurant. Located just around the corner from the trevi fountain one has to be sceptical at first because it could be another tourist rip of fake Italian restaurant. Not this restaurant! Best pizza I have eaten in my life and decent pasta to. The owner was lovely as well. He even told us where we could go for cannelloni in Rome which is a hard task!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sferry17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

We tried this restaurant on our first visit to Rome in January 2011 and went back again on our recent visit over the New Year 2012/2013. Again we enjoyed the food and especially enjoyed the waiter with his friendly and generous service. If we return to Rome we will eat here again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drewhell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
1 review
“Very friendly, amazing food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

By far, the best eatery in the fontana di trevi area! Genuine Italian food! A real pleasure, thank you! You have to try the Gorogonzola burschetta!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark-Giacomos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“18 month later we continue thinking about your delicious food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Today we went eating at a no so nice place here in Valencia, Spain. Centric, that's true, after the eating it's nice to visit the cathedral, plaza la reina, etc, well the touristic zone of Valencia, but the food at this place was awful. So we thought at Piccolo Buco in Rome, totally contrary to what happened today! Centric also, just at the corner to Fontana Di Trevi, but the food at Piccolo Buco was soooooo good, that after 18months we continue thinking about the fantastic pizzas, pastas, desserts at this place! Thank you for your enchanting service and helping to create a wonderful memory of Rome!!

Después de una terrible comida en un restaurante muy céntrico aquí en Valencia (España) hemos vuelvo a recordar este restaurante en Roma. Igual de céntrico, ya que está a unos pasos de la Fontana Di Trevi y podrían ser otros expolia-turistas como tantos, pero no es el caso! Todo, todo, todo (y damos fe de ello, ya que comíamos casi todos los días allí durante nuestra estancia en Roma y no nos quedó nada por probar) está riquísimo, tanto las pastas, como las pizzas como los postres. Gracias por darnos un tan agradable recuerdo de Roma, chicos!

Nachdem wir heute in Valencia (Spanien) eine nicht so gute Erfahrung in einer Turisten-Abzocke machen mussten, haben wir uns wieder an dieses wunderbare Restaurant in Rom erinnert. Ebenfalls sehr zentral in der Nähe der Fontana Di Trevi gelegen kann man hier absolut super essen. Alles - wirklich alles, weil wir fast jeden Abend dort gegessen haben währen unseres Aufenthaltes und wir fast alles probiert haben - ist absolut lecker, egal ob Pizza, Pasta oder Nachtisch. Danke für eine wundervolle Erinnerung an Rom!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Salsacurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Piccolo Buco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing