We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“unfriendly & tasteless” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ristorante del Giglio

Ristorante del Giglio
Ranked #680 of 12,045 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Esquilino
Darmstadt, Hessen, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“unfriendly & tasteless”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

extremely unfriendly stuff - due to late hours, we were almost "forced" to hurry up with our order. followed by a fast-food-style service. the worst lasagne I ever ate - liquid and tasteless. quite high prices & coperto. Very dissapointed.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DAD581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    180
    71
    29
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Best steak on trip through Italy and France”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Took a chance on this restaurant as an alternative to a high end restaurant previously selected. It turned out to be a wonderful experience in its price point of less than $60 per person including wine dessert and gratuity. The service was attentive and well timed. They were very curteous to our every request. We would definately come back.

Helpful?
Thank bddarby
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Roma
Level Contributor
89 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“THE TASTE OF HISTORY”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

At the entrance you will read on the carpet : " Since 1908 ". This restaurant has been there for more than a century ! Next door to the Rome Opera Theatre il Ristorante del Giglio keeps adequate quality standards. You will be served by professional waiters who will advise you about the "specialties of the day " proposed by the chef. If you like spaghetti alla amatriciana, carbonara, cacio e pepe or fettuccine : this is your place. At the same time there is a good offer of both meat and fish courses. The wine list is limited , but offers good italian wines at fair prices.
This is not at all a " trap for tourists ".

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ElHabanero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott Valley, AZ
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Too rushed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

The food was fine, with a nice variety. But I felt like our poor waiter was being timed. He was never rude, but would rush to take our orders, sometimes we weren't finished making requests before he had zipped off. Then he would run back and forth to the kitchen, whizzing by the table. After a day of running around seeing the sights, I was ready to relax and enjoy dinner. I did not find the atmosphere to be relaxing.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RickDonya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Traditional excellence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Very attentive waiter of the traditional mould who immediately noticed any requirement but didn't exhibit the dreadful american style of enquiring every few minutes whether everything was all right (a well trained waiter immediatley knows if there is dissatisfaction and corrects the situation)
Ambience quiet and condusive to secluded conversation. Food very good - waiter again displaying his training by expertly filleting the fish dishes we ordered.
Price reasonable for the all-round quality of food, service and environment

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlemaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ristorante del Giglio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing