We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good restaurant”

Ristorante del Giglio
Ranked #537 of 12,448 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Esquilino
London
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good restaurant”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

This is a good restaurant, with prices to match. Setting is good. Old fashioned, traditional sort of restaurant. Food was good, but not anything that special. A bottle of Bardolino was 20 euros which was not too bad. Enjoyed our meal but would not have gone back. Was the most expensive meal we had, but it was our last night so it was fine to end our stay on.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank RecaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    252
    194
    72
    29
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hidden Roman Treasure”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

After five days in Rome we had yet to locate an authentic italian, fsmily run restaurant until our ladt evening. The food and service were amazing. The brothers go out of thier way to please. If you are staying at the Hotel Mediteraneo this Hotel is no distance away just walk out the front door and turn right. it's just a couple of streets down.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank newftrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level 6 Contributor
270 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Good food, good service, warm ambience and welcome.”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

The two of us ate here 3 times over three weeks because the food and service are amazingly good. So many restaurants have just pasta and pizza. This restaurant has the best of Roman cooking, made with fresh ingredients – not the same menu as it most of the others. Try the vitello tonnato and the eggplant parmesan side-dish. It is a 2-minute walk from the Repubblica Metro Station.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Greg_and_Claude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“best meal of our trip”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Elegant dining room, many traditional favorites. Osso bucco was outstanding. Service very professional but friendly. Our waiter understood English and our Americanisms like sharing appetizers and desserts. Nice wine list. When you want a more special dinner, we recommend Trattoria del Giglio.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jannielb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mosta, Malta
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful restaurant but food is nothing special”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We saw the restaurant the day before and loved the interior of the restaurant as it was quite and romantic.
I visited Ristorante del Giglio with my wife on our second day in Rome.
The staff was elegant, polite and very professional.
The food was good but not to our expectations. We took a liter of house wine which to be honest was not worth it....for a few more Euros we could have took a much better wine, but we wanted to taste the house wine. Starters I took the ravioli, while my wife had pasta with clams. Ravioli portion was very small and nothing special. The other pasta was better but too oily. As primi we took the baccala (cod) with baked potatoes and again we were not impressed. Dessert Tiramisu was much better.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SimonGouder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante del Giglio also viewed

 

Been to Ristorante del Giglio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing