We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Sea Bass”

Ristorante del Giglio
Ranked #549 of 12,362 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Esquilino
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best Sea Bass”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

3 of us had dinner here on our last night in Rome. We always do best with the "eye ball" test in Italy of finding places we like by looking in and checking the menu. This one scores as an authentic Italian selection of pasta and seafood and of course wine.

The sea bass was probably the best I've tasted, filleted and de-boned at the table by the waiter. Very buttery, probably from the butter, but hey you're on vacation. We also had ravioli filled with ham and mushrooms in a cream sauce. House red wine was fine, as it is seems to be at most places in Rome.

We didn't have desert, but they wheel out a cart of great looking treats. Filled up on the bread again.

It's located near the Opera House on Via Torino not far from Via Nazionale, which is where our hotel was. Lots of great places to eat and Rome, but this was a good one especially for the reasonable price.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    249
    191
    72
    29
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Elegant dining in Rome.”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We came here on our last night in rome, as it was located not far from out hotel.
We could not find a fault with this restaurant. I thought that it was great value, only 3 euro for half a litre of wine! We had a 3 course evening meal which was delicious, I particularly enjoyed the lemon cello cake YUM.
The waiters service was excellent, very traditional and very polite.
Would recommend to all!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Zofia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quite enjoyable.”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

A friend and I came across Giglio's after a long day of walking through the sights of Ancient Rome. We picked it at random and were very pleased with our choice. The staff was friendly, service was quick and the food was quite good. We enjoyed it so much that we went back at the end of our trip, when we got back to Rome from Florence. We also made use of the free WiFi access here, allowing us to send some photos of our day to our families back home.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
“We feel like a Roman restaurant”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Like a kitchen, wine, service. Interior respective traditions.
The waiter skillfully butchered before our eyes the fish. I advise you to go to this restaurant.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank mfs78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limmen
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We dined two times in this restaurant. The service and the food are very good. So is the atmosphere.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank WalterXG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante del Giglio also viewed

 

Been to Ristorante del Giglio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing