We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Italian resturant”

Trattoria Al Gran Sasso
Reserve with
Trattoria Al Gran Sasso is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,093 of 12,268 Restaurants in Rome
Price range: $22 - $39
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Campo Marzio
Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful Italian resturant”
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Ok, how many restaurant can one review in while in Rome ? This is a hidden gem. I stubbled upon it walking down the street from Piazza del Popolo. Warm and inviting lighting and beautiful porcini mushrooms growing in the window. The service was some of the best I have ever had in Rome. The various plates/portions were fresh with all the right spices for a good home cooked Italian dining experience. Mushroom risotto was warm, creamy but not heavy. Wine selection was varied but priced well.Only 8 tables upstairs but also has a downstairs. Try to stay upstairs. The street looks a bit dark and uninviting at night but do explore and find this tasty familia cooking. It has been in the Persi family 35 years. This says it all !

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ericsweden_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    168
    62
    24
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
105 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Small, cozy, tasty”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We were meeting our son and family at a hotel near Piazza del Popolo, and walked by along the way. Since we were early, we went in and had lunch. Wonderful. Don't remember what we ate, but I do remember we went back a couple of days later - our departure plane was delayed by a strike, so we had an extra 6 hours. Great way to spend a strike.... the food is honest and well prepared, the wines are tasty, the desserts just the right amount of sweetness, and the service was heartfelt.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank saulshap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corning, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great surprise”
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Similar to the other review; we were running down the street in the rain and saw this place. small and crowded but they took us down to the wine cellar where they had a few tables. Our waiter, Luca, was the best, the food flawless and the wine list extensive and fairly priced.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jacobslaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
205 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Great service and fresh food”
Reviewed April 8, 2012

My wife and I had a great experience here in mid-March. We happened upon the place after a long day of sight seeing and liked the look of it because it didn't seem at all like a tourist joint. We went in at about 7pm and had no problem getting a table. The interior is small, maybe 12-15 tables, but not cramped, nice lighting and very clean. Our waiter seemed like a genuinely nice guy and had no problem taking extra time with us due to our not speaking Italian very well at all. For food, we went with his recommendations. The duck breast with black truffle potato puree (not on the menu) was fantastic and really fresh. Also good were the Carciofi alla Romana and the Carbonara with home made pasta. We drank local red wine by the glass which was delicious, and very good value, too. Prices were very reasonable and when we settled up our waiter even brought each of us a limoncello-like digestif on the house. When I return to Rome, I will definitely visit this place again.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank DLM212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great local restaurant”
Reviewed April 7, 2012 via mobile

Just a few doors down from the apartment where we stayed was this very traditional trattoria. The service was friendly and the food excellent using lovely local ingredients. Well worth a visit.

Helpful?
Thank Simbar29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Al Gran Sasso also viewed

 

Been to Trattoria Al Gran Sasso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing