We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet and Relaxing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Villa Duse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Villa Duse
Ranked #216 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Eastwood, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Quiet and Relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

This hotel is away from the hustle and bustle of Rome. The suburb is very leafy and it is a short ten minute walk to the nearest piazza for the choice of great restaurants. The rooms are adequate, the ambience of the hotel is lovely, drinks in the garden. The standouts though are the staff - morning and evening staff. Ever so helpful, even rustled up a knockup lasagne at short notice when we arrived home late.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    112
    19
    1
    3
See reviews for
26
303
8
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is set in a leafy suburban street 10 minutes walk to some awesome restaurants. The staff was so helpful bringing our drinks out in the evening while we're sitting in the lovely jasmine scented garden sipping red wine and beer perfect relax to the end of a busy day seeing the Colosseum and the Vatican would recommend this hotel to anyone and will certainly return.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jorose23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

The hoel is in a suburban area just outside the city centre. Very nice building/decor and quiet area. My husband and I stayed the weekend in the tower lodge and it was lovely! I was surprised with a bouqet of red roses that my husband arranged with the very kind and very friendly receptionist. The room was comfortable and very nice. Good facilities. We took taxis to and from the city centre apart from the time we walked to Villa Borghese which takes just over 10 minutes. The receptionist does provide you with information on buses and other means of public transport along with a map. We didn't really mind the non-central location as we enjoyed starting and ending our days in this peaceful haven away from the hustle and bustle of the city centre. Breakfast was more than adequate with choices of cereal, fruit, yogurt, cakes, muffins, cheese, bread and boiled eggs. We had our breakfast on our private terrace one morning which was really nice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lamees89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Ditto the other fabulous reviews of the splendid accomodations and service! My wife and I just spent 4 nights in the elevator-accessed Tower Lodge and were thoroughly pleased with all aspects of this hotel from location, decor, friendly and accomodating service, to the good breakfast assortment.
What made it so special is the peace and quiet it offers after being herded through the Sistine Chapel, nearly trampled at the Trevi Fountain, elbowed inside the Pantheon, and panhandled at the Coliseum. The easy bus/tram connections provide a total escape to tranquility where the only annoying (not really) sounds you hear are the seagulls and other birds floating past and perched on rooftops. It's hard to believe you're in Rome.
This may not appeal to many, but after numerous great dinners in Piemonte, Tuscany and Umbria, my wife and I decided to enjoy our private rooftop terrace for candlelit dinners. Within a 10 minute walk is a Doc supermarket at Viale Parioli 5 where you can buy great cheeses, bread, prepared salads (arugala, mixed greens, carrots, zuchinni), olive oil, lemons, prepared seafood salads (octopus, squid, mussels, shrimp), prepared vitello tonnato (my favorite) and fantastic wines (Barolas, Brunellos, Amarones, etc.) for great prices. The setting is ideal if you're a romantic and a foodie.
Even if you're not, don't miss Hotel Villa Duse!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank finder45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
183 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Hotel Villa Duse is situated in a stylish large villa on the outskirts of the city center. The building is very well maintained and has a lot of class. The environment is quiet, which can be nice in a busy city. But since the hotel is noit in the center you will have to take a taxi, public transportation or rent a car if you wish to visit the old city.
The staff is very professional, the reception excellent. Rooms are not gigantic, but large enough and very nicely decorated. The beds are very good, very good TV and choice of many channels, bathroom with shower excellent, complete minibar.
Breakfast is complete, but not masses of choice. Eggs are at an extra cost.
There is no restaurant in the hotel.
All in all a very good experience !

Room Tip: the top floor is of course very nice !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller123Brussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

We booked our honeymoon so long ago that we actually forgot what this hotel looks like. When we arrived we were both very surprised...it was great. The staff were easy the friendliest we have had yet and the rooms are brilliant. Don't be worried that the hotel is a little out of the city centre, it is easily accessed and we have enjoyed leaving the city behind after a hard day of sight seeing. I can not recommend this hotel enough.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Every aspect if this hotel is stunning, including the street view, rooms and courtyard which due to clever landscaping smells devine!!! Service is excellent rooms are immaculately clean decor is luxurious and just beautiful. I disagree with other reviewers the location is perfect as after enduring the crowds in the city centre Villa Duse which is situated in a leafy neighborhood is a delightful retreat! We stayed in central Rome at the beginning of our trip and I much prefer the location of Villa Duse as it's a lovely 15 min walk (we are in our early 30's) almost a straight line where you can walk through the lovely gardens around Villa Borghese or if you prefer only 8€ for a taxi from Trevi fountain!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwislovetoholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Vatican / Borgo
Hearth Hotel
Hearth Hotel
#62 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Trieste
Palm Gallery Hotel
Palm Gallery Hotel
#20 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
Monti
Hotel De Monti
Hotel De Monti
#74 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Relais 6
#31 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,807 reviews
Villa Pirandello
#100 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Aventine
Hotel San Anselmo
Hotel San Anselmo
#51 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Duse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Duse

Property: Hotel Villa Duse
Address: Via Alamanno Morelli 1 | Parioli area, 00197 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #216 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Duse 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the cosmopolitan atmosphere of the Eternal City and finally retire in the quietness of Villa Duse, one of the most exclusive Roman houses, the perfect place for a happy landing. Claiming its uniqueness, Villa Duse will wrap you in an environment which exudes discretion, quality and style, and will give you the feeling of an increasing comfort, relax and peace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Villa Duse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing