We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful honeymoon”
Review of Hotel Villa Duse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Villa Duse
Ranked #181 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful honeymoon”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Hotel Villa Duse was an amazing choice for our stay in Rome! The room was fantastic. The staff was always friendly, courteous and we felt like they genuinely cared about us. The breakfast was good (though it did get a little old having the same thing--cakes and sweets--every single day), but they allowed us to take food with us for other meals. We purchased some flowers for our room and they gave us a vase. Every time we left the hotel we were greeted and asked if there was anything that they could do for us. We would update them on places we were going to go and they suggested local cafes and inexpensive restaurants. When we left the room late in the day they would still send the maid to pick up our room and it was always clean. We opted for a room with a patio/balcony. We weren't able to use it much because of inclimate weather, but the times we did, we quite enjoyed it. They made our honeymoon very special and will stay there again if we return to Rome.

Room Tip: The balcony/patio are only on the ground floor. We would recommend only booking these rooms if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    115
    19
    1
    3
See reviews for
26
311
9
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Grat place to stay in Rome if you have a way to move around because it's quite far form everything (we rent an scooter).The staff is excellent and always willing to help. During nights you couldn't hear any sound.
the rooms are great: clean, charming, big enough...
The only BUT is that in the website they say that the rooms have bathtub and it's false (they had them but not any longer). It's not a drama but it was one of the reasons for me to choose the hotel.
I would repeat.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duseduse, Direttore at Hotel Villa Duse, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for completing your experience at Villa Duse leaving this comment on Trip Advisor website.
Concerning the misunderstanding about the bathtub, we want to specify that the hotel has both kind of bathroom: with shower or with bathtub but only the shower has whirlpool.
Anyway, we want to thank you because we realized that in our website it is not good specified. We will provide to modify and improve the description in order to avoid further misunderstandings.
We really hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Kindest regards,

Rosaria Mastroianni.
Managing Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level Contributor
202 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

This is a very lovely hotel in one of the upmarket residential areas of Rome. It is very well kept hotel with very helpful and friendly staff.

My wife and I have visited Rome on many occasions, and will continue to do so even in the future since its a lovely place to visit and re-visit. We have always stayed in good hotels in the centre of Rome, however this time we opted for the Villa Duse due to the good reviews it was getting on Tripadvisor.

The beauty of staying in Rome is its accessibility to its sights on foot and within walking distance. The Hotel Villa Duse is a 15 minute walk to a bus stop or tram stop followed by a 15/20 minute ride to the centre. With a hotel in the centre of Rome, you just walk out and you are there...right in it.

The room we had (room 4) was very small. I was surprised since the hotels I have stayed at previously in central Rome had larger rooms.

Another factor to consider about the Villa Duse is its breakfast room that is in the basement, without any natural light.

The hotel sells itself as being a star or two above most hotels in central Rome at the same or better price. However I think that the price difference is not worth the location inconvenience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SLM_Malta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
351 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights at Hotel Villa Duse which is situated in a residential areas. It's about 10min to walk to the big park Villa Borghese. We got a nice room with a comfortable bed. We had booked a room with a private terrace which we couldn't use since it was too cold and the sun didn't really reach it. The room and bath were clean, just the seams of the bath tub could need a redo and we were missing the option to let the water out of the tub. We had to pull the plug with the help of our finger nails.
The breakfast was kind of little. No eggs, only one sort of fruit salad, one sort of tiny supermarket buns. We'd expected a little more.
The staff of the hotel was very friendly and helpful. Never getting tired to explain something. We missed a kind of brochure about the hotel in our room and we didn't get any information about the pool area. Unfortunately the hotel doesn't have a restaurant, but it offers room-service.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KristinMiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duseduse, Direttore at Hotel Villa Duse, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your comments about your experience at the Villa Duse Hotel in Rome. We greatly respects our guests’ opinion and we take every comment very seriously in our continuous effort to improve our level of hospitality.
Regarding the pool area, you didn't get any information about it beacuse we do not have a swimming pool in our hotel.
We hope that you will give us the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future, until there my warm regards,

Maria Rosaria Mastroianni.
Managing Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Villa Duse is a nice refurbished house near Villa Borghese. The hotel and rooms are nice decorated and the staff is very helpful. Although a little far from the center, it's easy to reach it taking a bus to termini, or walking through Villa Borghese (after 30 minutes or so, you will get to the Piazza de Spagna). On the way you can stop a Galeria Borghese, where you can see some spectacular Bernini Sculptures.
The quality of the food served for breakfast is also very good.

Taking into account the bad quality/price relationship of most of the hotels in Rome, Villa Duse is a nice option to think about.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarCisIgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I really like the the staff and place. They are courteous, friendly, and helpful to guests. The breakfast was excellent and in abundance. The staff are willing to take extra miles to help customers with information regarding bus/train stations, where to buy tickets, or to find the nearest stores. Hotel Delle Muse, Rome is a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pastorfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orchard, Washington
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

I have nothing negative to say the staff is more than helpful and friendly . The breakfast is excellent and the hotel is super quite and relaxing . A little out of the city center so the restaurants were fantastic in the area would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nbarr777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Villa Pirandello
#91 of 1,257 in Rome
434 reviews
Heart Hotel
#98 of 1,257 in Rome
455 reviews
Aventine
Hotel San Anselmo
Hotel San Anselmo
#41 of 1,257 in Rome
1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parioli
Hotel delle Muse
Hotel delle Muse
#188 of 1,257 in Rome
865 reviews
Trieste
Palm Gallery Hotel
Palm Gallery Hotel
#20 of 1,257 in Rome
1,132 reviews
Relais 6
#31 of 1,257 in Rome
1,862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Duse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Duse

Property: Hotel Villa Duse
Address: Via Alamanno Morelli 1, 00197 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #181 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Duse 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the cosmopolitan atmosphere of the Eternal City and finally retire in the quietness of Villa Duse, one of the most exclusive Roman houses, the perfect place for a happy landing. Claiming its uniqueness, Villa Duse will wrap you in an environment which exudes discretion, quality and style, and will give you the feeling of an increasing comfort, relax and peace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Villa Duse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing