We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here you won't regret it.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Duse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Villa Duse
Ranked #187 of 1,285 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Port Orchard, Washington
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Stay here you won't regret it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

I have nothing negative to say the staff is more than helpful and friendly . The breakfast is excellent and the hotel is super quite and relaxing . A little out of the city center so the restaurants were fantastic in the area would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nbarr777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    103
    19
    1
    2
See reviews for
24
287
7
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new hampshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for three nights in late October, 2012. We chose this hotel for its location away from the city center, in a quiet residential area. The front desk and food service staff were very helpful, courteous and polite. Our room was very clean and the windows have automatic shades that block out all light at night and help soundproof the room. Because the hotel fronts on a one way residential street, there is very little traffic. Just a few short blocks north of the hotel, there is a plaza that offers great views of the Tiber River to the north and the mountains to the northeast, freshly covered with snow in late October.

Also, our stay coincided with the superstorm Sandy in the northeastern U. S. We were scheduled to fly to Boston from Rome. I made several international calls from our hotel room to check on the status of our home during the storm and our flight out. In no case was the charge for a call more than 2.05 euros. I greatly appreciate the hotel's efforts to keep phone charges as low as possible.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nhgeo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Our room was clean and everything was in nice shape. We had a very small private garden outside our room, but were unable to enjoy it because of the weather. The breakfast was great and the service received while staying at this hotel was 5-star!

The hotel is small and very cozy. Almost a little too cozy, like an expensive retirement home.

The hotel is situated in a very quite neighbourhood atop of a hill and is a 15 minute walk away from the nearest large restaurant- and shopping street.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Solfaktor

Helpful?
2 Thank RolfT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for several days this past September (2012) and we loved it. The rooms were beautiful with high ceilings, marble, and a good amount of space. The hotel was quiet and comfortable, and we loved returning to it after each busy day of touring around Rome. The front desk staff were wonderful at helping us to understand how to get to our destinations around Rome and in guiding us to the top notch neighborhood restaurants. They even packed little box breakfasts for us the one morning we had to leave early for a tour. We will definitely look to stay there again when we return to Rome.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
125 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

An excellent escape from the hubbub of Rome. Just north of the Villa Borghese the Hotel Villa Duse offers quiet comfort in a relaxed area well served by local busses. Good sized rooms, comfortable beds, helpful staff and a quality breakfast makes this a very sensible stay. Also, the quality of local restaurants in nearby Parioli is superb, no need to even think about popping back into the city for an evening meal. We could not fault our seven day stay - very enjoyable and the sun shone throughout!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MandJNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omer, HaDarom, Israel
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

we were at this hotel for 1 week and it was just a great expirience!
the hotel is decorated with a great taste, very stylish and romantic.
the staff are amazing! really nice, and whenever we needed help they did everything possible to make our wishes come true, like ordering a place in a nice restaurant or were to go and what to do..
the room facilities and bed where really clean!, the bed was AMAZING!!!

the main issue with this hotel is the distance from within the city, as we see it it has it pros and cons:
1. you need to walk about 10 minutes each day to get to the nearest bus to within the city or the vatican.
2. the bus passes there every 30 min and from the times 5:30 to 24:00 so if you want to go out later you gotta have a taxi and that's a bit prici.
3. not to many turistic places near the hotel

pros:
1. you can buy a weekly bus/tram ticket so the traveling is not that problematic.
2. usually if you are a couple who just want romance you'll be traveling the city during the day and by 23:00 you'll be beat and want to go back to the hotel..
3. the roads and houses near the hotel are just beautiful!, plus you can eat and live just were the real italian live so that's great and pretty cheap :)
4. you will not be able to get such a quiet, nice and practically beautiful 4 star hotel for an even close price within the city.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sahar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Villa Duse for four nights in October. It was a wonderfully relaxing experience to come "home" to every evening. The staff were extremely helpful and went above in beyond in answering our many questions, giving recommendations, calling taxis etc. Our room was very clean and comfortable - not to mention beautiful with high ceilings and lovely decor. The bathroom was surprisingly large with a tub. The hotel is located away from the city center, which was a plus for us - we felt we got a more authentic experience at the surrounding restaurants, and prices were reasonable. However, you will need to take taxis most of the time (we walked to the Spanish steps one afternoon and it took almost an hour) to see the sites. We highly recommend this hotel and would love to visit again. Thanks to all the staff!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KateHelm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trieste
Palm Gallery Hotel
Palm Gallery Hotel
#19 of 1,285 in Rome
5.0 of 5 stars 950 reviews
Parioli
Duke Hotel
Duke Hotel
#115 of 1,285 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 1,235 reviews
Relais 6
#33 of 1,285 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 1,656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gianicolense
Trilussa Palace Congress & Spa
Aventine
Hotel San Anselmo
Hotel San Anselmo
#35 of 1,285 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 1,011 reviews
Aurelius
#40 of 1,285 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Duse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Duse

Property: Hotel Villa Duse
Address: Via Alamanno Morelli 1 | Parioli area, 00197 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #187 of 1,285 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Duse 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the cosmopolitan atmosphere of the Eternal City and finally retire in the quietness of Villa Duse, one of the most exclusive Roman houses, the perfect place for a happy landing. Claiming its uniqueness, Villa Duse will wrap you in an environment which exudes discretion, quality and style, and will give you the feeling of an increasing comfort, relax and peace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Villa Duse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing