We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this hotel and the staff”
Review of Hotel Villa Duse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Villa Duse
Ranked #172 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
east valley
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Loved this hotel and the staff”
Reviewed December 14, 2011

This is a small charming hotel in a lovely, quiet neighborhood. It's away from the city center so one does get to experience Rome from a non-touristy perspective. I"m sure Irena at the front desk will remember us. I broke my foot our first day in Rome. Irena was so very helpful. She called a nearby medical clinic and got me an appt. with an orthopedic doctor. Since it was only a few short blocks away she insisted on taking us there in her own car. I just can't say enough about how nice and helpful all the staff were to us. Loved the hotel, loved the neighborhood and loved everyone working at the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank exurbia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    115
    19
    1
    3
See reviews for
27
313
9
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2011

Hotel Villa Duse is a true Rome experience; however, before you book, do decide if you are going to Rome to see absolutely everything possible in the least amount of time, or if you want to experience real life Rome. Villa Duse is not in the standard tourist zone, so one must use public transportation which functions exceptionally well and will get to every tourist district. However, do expect to walk in a friendly, upscale neighborhood that provides all the amenities that those that live and work there actually need and use. The Hotel Villa Duse is the bonus. The small competent staff will exceed your expectations, and the Pastry Chef will have morning surprises that will not disappoint your palate. As an exceptionally renovated private villa, the attention to detail from the high ceilings, massive windows, beckoning bathroom, and quiet walled courtyard complete with water fountains, wine service, and wifi will have you gladly extending your original stay

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jiminhawaii808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2011

Wonderful experience from the moment we set foot into the lobby on our first day.
The hotel is small - about 16 rooms or so in a previously owned private home, now converted. This allows for each guest to get personal service: the reception staff were extremely helpful with great suggestions for nearby restaurants, help with getting around, and little details. The service staff were great, including the porters, servers, and housekeeping. Everyone was extremely courteous. Daily breakfast in the hotel was lovely and always a great start to the day.
The hotel is located on the outskirts of the city center - upscale and safe, but always a bus ride away from any of the major tourist sites. This was maybe the only downside; however, well worth it. This is a great hotel for anyone who may have already visited Rome and is not preoccupied with seeing all the sights, but rather looking to have a relaxing vacation.
We loved it here and will almost certainly return!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VenessaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2011

Located in an upscale, safe neighborhood of Rome. It is a 10euro, 10 minute ride into city center. Taxis always arrived within ten minutes of our request. The distance did not bother us at all. There are about 4-5 cafe's located less than a 1 minute walk from the hotel..most have staff that speak English and stay open until midnight for quick bites.

The room was very clean with a comfortable bed and a powerful hairdryer (not the typical european wall mount.) The free breakfast had a wide selection of meats, breads and cereals, all fresh.

This is an urban but not touristy area (similar to the Upper East Side of New York.) One of our driver's questioned how we found this part of Rome and the hotel..."because this is really nice most American's don't know about it." Not sure if I should have been offened but I took it as a compliment.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMG Travel s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Beautiful hotel in a great location. We had breakfast there and the food was excellent.Our room was comfortable, and the bed wow! best nights sleep ever!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pickledpipa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2011

We were staying in another hotel when we saw Hotel Villa Duse on tripadvisor and decided to try. The hotel is located in Parioli area, where you can experience real Roman life (nice, clean, high-end suburbs). The hotel is not in the city center, yet I would prefer a quiet, nice and "local" location anyway. We walked to Collosseum one day, visiting Borghese gardens and walking down Via Veneto. Thanks to GPS, we never got lost and had a wonderful walking trip. Even some reviewers say it is far to the city center, we found it pretty close - walking distance to Villa Borghese, Via Veneto and Trevi Fountain.

We stayed at Tower Lodge room, which has a private access with elevator. The room is definitely incredible. Classic furniture with a modern touch of technology, comfiest bed ever... And a private terrace...

The staff is extremely helpful and friendly. We will definitely come again

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank laurangelus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

The hotel room is the smallest of my italy trip.
The location is far away form the centre and all the attractive points. Only a bus - No.360 from Termini to the hotel and it takes 25 mins to go there.
The room, the bed and the bathroom are all extreme small
I selected to include breakfast by paying more but what a pretty the hot food is not included. We need to pay extra for eggs and toast. I stayed 4 nights and ate their cakes and corn flake for 4 days
Only 1 staff serve during the whole breakfast time and we need to wait for everything.

Room Tip: Don't go there it is too far from centre and needs to wait for bus all the time
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank van v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Villa Pirandello
#88 of 1,258 in Rome
436 reviews
Parioli
Hotel delle Muse
Hotel delle Muse
#184 of 1,258 in Rome
870 reviews
Heart Hotel
#112 of 1,258 in Rome
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Relais 6
#30 of 1,258 in Rome
1,874 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Roma Boutique Hotel
Roma Boutique Hotel
#199 of 1,258 in Rome
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Duse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Duse

Property: Hotel Villa Duse
Address: Via Alamanno Morelli 1, 00197 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #172 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Duse 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the cosmopolitan atmosphere of the Eternal City and finally retire in the quietness of Villa Duse, one of the most exclusive Roman houses, the perfect place for a happy landing. Claiming its uniqueness, Villa Duse will wrap you in an environment which exudes discretion, quality and style, and will give you the feeling of an increasing comfort, relax and peace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa Duse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing