We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Ice Cream in Rome”

La Gelateria Frigidarium
Ranked #6 of 774 Dessert in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $5
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Takeout
Neighborhood: Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Description: Figidarium house is a classic Italian gelato where tradition and the search for new flavors are always accompanied by the choice of quality ingredientsThe customer service is not limited to the essential, but try to convey the passion and attention that we have in the laboratory to produce our ice cream.
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best Ice Cream in Rome”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Besides Il GRom at Piazza Navona, it's the best Gelateria in Rome. The Tiramisu, the Pistachio, The Maracuya, and Gianduia ice creams were our favorites. It's great and open until late at night. The staff are very frindly and speaks good english. Really love this place. With lived in Rome and came here hundreds of times. Don't miss it and the prices are good too.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fabiano B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,303
    670
    170
    42
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Scrumptious!”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

This gelateria is across the way from the best pizza we had in rome - Pizzeria Buffeta. It was a fantastic dessert for a fantastic meal. The area is hidden in a neighborhood, and surrounded with interesting bars and shops. If you get their signature flavor, it will come with an added treat!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dovie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Best ice cream ever”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Based in Via del Governo Vecchio, this ice cream parlour was fantastic. Half the price of that in the Trevi of what appears similar ice cream. 3 euros for three scoops, a big cone and choc/cream to cover. Flavours you are spolit for choice, the cherry being my favourite. Bench outside to sit and savour, or stroll along to the nearby Naverone piazza. In a lovely back street but a gem. So good we went back for another the next day and we weren't disappointed. We would very much recommended for service, taste, variety, situation. For the ice cream lover its a must, for the not so sure you will become a convert. It was a great afternoon break to our sightseeing day.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alisonh123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“The BEST Gelato in Rome!”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Honestly, after going to the Frigidarium there are no other gelato places worth going to in Rome. We walked out of our way numerous times to come here! It was excellent, and is one of the things I miss most about being in Italy!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ollipop87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“REAL Gelato!”
Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

OMG thosr flavours. Nocciola, banana,strawberry, choko-orange all super tasty. No gluten, no artificial flavours. Just real tastes. Although on diet, couldnt resist to go back after finishing my first 2 scoops :) 5 from 5!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laci_Sz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Gelateria Frigidarium also viewed

 

Been to La Gelateria Frigidarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing