We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ice cream”

La Gelateria Frigidarium
Ranked #7 of 766 Dessert in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $5
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Takeout
Neighborhood: Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Description: Figidarium house is a classic Italian gelato where tradition and the search for new flavors are always accompanied by the choice of quality ingredientsThe customer service is not limited to the essential, but try to convey the passion and attention that we have in the laboratory to produce our ice cream.
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great ice cream”
Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

I had the lemon and the maracuja flavours and they were great! They were sweet and sour at the same time, and absolutely refreshing. Try it! For 2 flavours it is 2 euros, and you get quite a lot.

Helpful?
Thank Irina P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

4,281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,346
    682
    172
    44
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Porto Alegre, RS
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Ask for the Frigidarium flavor and get a cookie on top of your cone!”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

The attendants are friendly and the ice cream is delicious!
Get some chocolate topping and ask for the house's flavor to get a cookie on your ice cream!
:)

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SamanthaVlassis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best gelato in Rome”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

When my family visited Rome, we did a "gelato crawl" where we went to one gelateria every day. This was by far our favorite, and a great location too. You can tell they use all natural ingredients since the mint is a greenish/grey, and the banana is grey also. I think that's what I liked most about it. The tiramisu was TO DIE FOR. Absolutely worth the long line.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank laurenhall0226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Life-changing Gelato”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Gelaterias are everywhere in Rome, especially on warm summer days. So for one to stand out, it must be special, and we are not alone in remembering the rich, complex flavor and textures of the gelato at Frigidarium. We heard of it through Serena Cantagalli, our amazing tour guide.

Then location is great as well - on a lovely side street leading up to the Piazza Navona.

Not to be missed.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“High Quality Gelato!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stumbled across this place by accident and decided to take a chance (how can you go wrong, really). But this turned out to be our favourite gelateria in Rome. The flavours were fresh and the serving sizes were generous. Delicious!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank IrishJo18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Gelateria Frigidarium also viewed

 

Been to La Gelateria Frigidarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing