We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
Ranked #137 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

When we arrived we found a dirty towel from the previous guest in the bath. When I phoned reception their response was that somebody would come to remove it. I said that we should be given a different room as we did not feel the bathroom had been cleaned properly. After an argument and an hours wait we got another room. The rooms in this hotel are tired and dated and the whole experience was far from 5 star. There was no hot water on our final day so we could not have showers. My complaints fell on deaf ears as the reception staff were rude and didn't care. I would not stay here again. Breakfast not very good either.
Well located in center of Rome but you would get much better value finding somewhere not on Via Veneto.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 733Michael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilaria L, Front Of House Manager at Grand Hotel Via Veneto, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feed back on the Tripadvisor following your recent stay in Jumeirah Grand Hotel Via Veneto. I hope that you had a pleasant return journey. With regards to the small issues with reception and the breaksfast please be assured that we have passed your feedback to the competent departments to avoid a recurrence of the incident you have experienced.
Regarding the towel I would remark, as informed, that it was not dirty but clean, unlucky left by the maid into the bath to dry it after the cleanings.
Reagrding the Buffet Breakfast, kindly note, that our variety of products is in line with similar properties in this area if not superior. We feel that we offer an excellent value, given our unique location and facility. I hope these shortfalls will not tarnish your overall impression of Jumeirah Grand Hotel Via Veneto and deter you from staying with us. It would be our privilege to welcome you back in the near future, giving us another opportunity to make sure you have a wonderful stay with us. I will personally take care of your future reservation by assuring you a special treatment, We are looking forward to welcoming you back in Jumeirah Grand Hotel Via Veneto.Meanwhile please do not hesitate to contact me for any further assistance.

Yours Sincerely,
Ilaria Lucani
Front Of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

880 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    523
    212
    73
    35
    37
See reviews for
177
425
25
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barossa Valley, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Had great stay in this hotel. Staff efficient, rooms good and location excellent . We did find climb back from day out to tourist places exhausting but Rome is very hilly! Quiet area, no view but hey leave the room and there it is! Restaurant okay but their gourmet restaurant , The Magnolia,was closed which was disappointing( don't know why it was not open). Excellent WiFi. Side note ..the drive from airport was like a Crazy Taxi experience. If you have high blood pressure do not drive in Rome.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandyAngaston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilaria L, Front Of House Manager at Grand Hotel Via Veneto, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor following your recent visit to Jumeirah Grand Hotel Via Veneto. Your comment is important to us, as we always aim at delivering an ultimate experience for every guest.
We do apologize for the closure of the Magnolia Restaurant and we are sorry you could not experience the taste of our cuisine (The prestigious "Gambero Rosso Guide" assigns "2 Forchette" (=Forks) to "Magnolia"! Only 23 restaurants in the entire Roma has won this prestigious Award!). Should you wish to avoid the negative experience of crazy taxy drivers, next time you may refer to our Concierge which will gladly organize the transfers for you.
I hope these shortfalls will not tarnish your overall impression of Jumeirah Grand Hotel Via Veneto: It would be our privilege to welcome you back in the near future, giving us another opportunity to make sure you have a wonderful stay with us. Please do not hesitate to contact me personally for any kind of assistance you may require.

Ilaria Lucani
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

First time in Rome, wanted something easy and convenient yet comfortable. This is it. Never stayed at one of the Jumeriah properties and was happily surprised. The hotel arranged for transfers back and forth from FCO. Outstanding. Room was comfortable though oddly configured. Bathroom entry way on top of each other separated by a sliding pocket door. I get it is Europe but even odd for them. Spa use difficult never found it. Great Buffett breakfast even though the tour group was a little aggressive elbowing their way into the line and grabbing food. Coffee made to order each morning. Yum!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slaintebmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilaria L, Front Of House Manager at Grand Hotel Via Veneto, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Jumeirah Grand Hotel Via Veneto.
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on tripadvisor following your recent stay in with us. I hope that you had a pleasant return journey. Your comment is important to us, as we always aim at delivering an ultimate experience for every guest.We are delighted to read your review post your stay in Jumeirah. It gives us great pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as the facility and that breakfast was up to your expectations I was concerned to read that on this occasion we did not meet some of your expectations. I hope these shortfalls will not tarnish your overall impression of Jumeirah Grand Hotel Via Veneto and deter you from staying with us. It would be our privilege to welcome you back in the near future, giving us another opportunity to make sure you have a wonderful stay. Please do not hesitate to contact me personally for any kind of assistance you may require.
Yours sincerely,
Ilaria Lucani
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ltraveler7
Level Contributor
57 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

The Jumeirah in Rome is a really great hotel to base a trip to Rome from.
Great central location and the rooms are very spacious (photo attached)
My only issue was parking the car when arriving to the hotel, had to find someone to valet it and it cost something like 30euros per night to park the car.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LTraveler7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilaria L, Front Of House Manager at Grand Hotel Via Veneto, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Jumeirah Grand Hotel Via Veneto.
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on tripadvisor following your recent stay inwith us. I hope that you had a pleasant return journey. We are delighted to read your great review post your stay in Jumeirah. It gives us great pleasure to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and our facility lived up to your expectations. We apologize for the delay in finding a valet to park your car and we do hope that this shortfalls won't deter you to visit us again in the future. It would be our privilege to welcome you back giving us another opportunity to make sure you have a wonderful stay with us! We are looking forward to welcoming you back in Jumeirah Grand Hotel Via Veneto. Meanwhile please do not hesitate to contact me for any further assistance.
Yours Sincerely,
Ilaria Lucani
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Awesome hotel 5 min away from spanish steps. Great customer service, good location, clean rooms, large rooms, and also has a spa inside the hotel. Definitely a great place to stay while visiting Rome.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ppoursha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilaria L, Front Of House Manager at Grand Hotel Via Veneto, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Jumeirah Grand Hotel Via Veneto.

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on tripadvisor following your recent stay in Jumeirah Grand Hotel Via Veneto. I hope that you had a pleasant return journey.

We are delighted to read your great review post your stay in Jumeirah. It gives us great pleasure to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and that our facility lived up to your expectations. We are also pleased to know that you enjoyed the location and the service provided by our colleagues.
We have communicated your feedback to the entire team at the hotel and they are all very happy to know that their efforts are so well appreciated. I am certain that this will serve as a source of inspiration for us to achieve higher standards of excellence in the future.We are looking forward to welcoming you back in Jumeirah Grand Hotel Via Veneto.

Meanwhile please do not hesitate to contact me for any further assistance.

Ilaria Lucani
Front Of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

My wifew and I just returned from 5 nights at the Jumeirah in Rome. It is a nice hotel but not at all what we have experienced in other locations.
Check in was smooth and lobby staff was very helpful. Our room was average but was cleaned daily. It is located in a very nice part of the city but is at the top of the hill - if you walk to the sites you will have to return back up the hill.
The lobby bar is a little outlandish. My wife ordered a vodka/soda and it cost 21 Euros. Now I realize that hotel bars are more expensivfe but this is not right. Needless to say we never returned.
Our other issue was when we booked our tour for the Vatican through the concierge. We really wanted to tour the church and was told to book the Vatican Museum tour to bypass the line. When we got there we did not have the proper pass and di end up having to stand in line to tour the church. Just a note - the line lokslong but moves very quickly; maybe 15 minutes to get in.
We will definitely return to Rome but will probably stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jekyll1162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilaria L, Front Of House Manager at Grand Hotel Via Veneto, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Jumeirah Grand Hotel Via Veneto.
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on tripadvisor following your recent stay in Jumeirah Grand Hotel Via Veneto. I hope that you had a pleasant return journey.

We are delighted to read your great post your stay in Jumeirah. Your comment is important to us, as we always aim at delivering an ultimate experience for every guest.
I was concerned to read that on this occasion we did not meet some of your expectations. I have noted your comment regarding the Bar. Please be assured that our variety of products is in line with similar properties in this area if not superior. We feel that we offer an excellent value, given our unique location and facility. However, should you feel we failed to meet your expectations, I would like to sincerely apologies for that. I would like to thank you once again for sharing your feedback with us and thereby giving us the opportunity to enhance our service quality. I do hope that this experience will not deter you from visiting Jumeirah Grand Hotel Via Veneto in the future and you will allow us the opportunity to restore your confidence in the ultimate hospitality Jumeirah Grand Hotel Via Veneto is renowned for.

Yours sincerely,
Ilaria Lucani
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

We were upgraded to the junior suite which was huge & lush! Even the deluxe room was extremely big. Nice bvlgari toiletries. As it was an occasion for us, we were also provided with complementary champagne. The staff were very helpful/friendly.
Location on via veneto, ritzy area so quite pricey but not a bad base to get to other locations (5/10mins walk to Spanish steps etc)
Only criticism was the food and price. We ordered room service one night & it was very ordinary & bland (unheard of in Italy!) also they charged us for the chicken that was supposed to come with a side of mash potatoes however it didn't.. That was disappointing.
We didnt have breakfast as it was astronomical (33 euros per person), you can find really nice breakfasts in local cafes near by for less than half of that..
We ran out of time & didn't get to try the spa unfortunately. It was also overpriced but that comes with 5 star hotels in general. Although we stayed in other 5 star hotels in Italy/Europe and have to comment this was the most expensive & least impressive of all...

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mons11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilaria L, Front Of House Manager at Grand Hotel Via Veneto, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor following your recent visit to Jumeirah Grand Hotel Via Veneto.
Your comment is important to us, as we always aim at delivering an ultimate experience for every guest. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the location which is the true centre of the city and you enjoyed the upgrade given to help celebrate your special occasion. I was concerned to read that on this occasion we did not meet some of your expectations in particular for the restaurant. Kindly note, that our variety of products is in line with similar properties in this area if not superior. We feel that we offer an excellent value, given our unique location and facility. However, should you feel we failed to meet your expectations, I would like to sincerely apologies for that. I would like to thank you once again for sharing your feedback with us and thereby giving us the opportunity to enhance our service quality. I do hope that this experience will not deter you from visiting Jumeirah Grand Hotel Via Veneto in the future and you will allow us the opportunity to restore your confidence in the ultimate hospitality Jumeirah Grand Hotel Via Veneto is renowned for.

Ilaria Lucani
Front Of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Palace
Grand Hotel Palace
#224 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Baglioni Hotel Regina
Baglioni Hotel Regina
#109 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#58 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,309 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Majestic Roma
Hotel Majestic Roma
#107 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
The Westin Excelsior, Rome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Via Veneto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Via Veneto

Property: Grand Hotel Via Veneto
Address: Via Vittorio Veneto 155, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #137 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Via Veneto 5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right on Via Veneto, 116 spacious rooms and suites, containing beautiful decor and 1920s inspired handmade furniture. With two fine dining restaurants, a rooftop solarium, the state-of-the-art AQVA CITY SPA, and Fitness Centre, this is the perfect destination for an event or city break in the eternal city. With a legendary art collection including works by Picasso, Dali and Guttuso, and the grand marble bathrooms in every suite, Grand hotel via Veneto is your luxury hotel in Rome. The hotel’s sleek design is defined by an art deco’s Ruhlmann inspired motif that pervades throughout the building while contemporary works from an excellent collection of artists and tech- forward amenities fill the public spaces and guest rooms. Marble bathrooms, meeting rooms with fully-stocked bars and penthouse suites with terraces overlooking the eternal city below add to the opulent experience. DISOVER YOUR LUXURY HOTEL IN ROME. We offer uncommonly spacious accommodations in Via Veneto styled after luxury apartments, providing guests a residential-like escape in the eternal city. Every guestroom at Grand hotel via Veneto offers a plush king or queen bed, modern bathrooms full of Carrara Marbles, bath robes with slippers, and room service from our Magnolia and Time restaurants. Huge windows welcome refreshing natural light into a simple and elegant space. Modern art, ranging from abstract paintings to collages, adds a bit of Italian artistic flare to our sleek and luxury spaces. Grand hotel via Veneto offers to its guests a rooftop garden with hammam and hot tub, and also its AQVA City Spa: fitness center, chromotherapy, vitality pool, any kind of massages, sauna, hydromassage, everything within an environment completely made with pure Carrara Calacatta Caldia marble, that evokes the ancient Roman thermal baths ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Via Veneto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing