We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not your typical Jumeirah Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
Ranked #126 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Not your typical Jumeirah Experience”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

My wifew and I just returned from 5 nights at the Jumeirah in Rome. It is a nice hotel but not at all what we have experienced in other locations.
Check in was smooth and lobby staff was very helpful. Our room was average but was cleaned daily. It is located in a very nice part of the city but is at the top of the hill - if you walk to the sites you will have to return back up the hill.
The lobby bar is a little outlandish. My wife ordered a vodka/soda and it cost 21 Euros. Now I realize that hotel bars are more expensivfe but this is not right. Needless to say we never returned.
Our other issue was when we booked our tour for the Vatican through the concierge. We really wanted to tour the church and was told to book the Vatican Museum tour to bypass the line. When we got there we did not have the proper pass and di end up having to stand in line to tour the church. Just a note - the line lokslong but moves very quickly; maybe 15 minutes to get in.
We will definitely return to Rome but will probably stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jekyll1162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilaria L, Front Of House Manager at Grand Hotel Via Veneto, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Jumeirah Grand Hotel Via Veneto.
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on tripadvisor following your recent stay in Jumeirah Grand Hotel Via Veneto. I hope that you had a pleasant return journey.

We are delighted to read your great post your stay in Jumeirah. Your comment is important to us, as we always aim at delivering an ultimate experience for every guest.
I was concerned to read that on this occasion we did not meet some of your expectations. I have noted your comment regarding the Bar. Please be assured that our variety of products is in line with similar properties in this area if not superior. We feel that we offer an excellent value, given our unique location and facility. However, should you feel we failed to meet your expectations, I would like to sincerely apologies for that. I would like to thank you once again for sharing your feedback with us and thereby giving us the opportunity to enhance our service quality. I do hope that this experience will not deter you from visiting Jumeirah Grand Hotel Via Veneto in the future and you will allow us the opportunity to restore your confidence in the ultimate hospitality Jumeirah Grand Hotel Via Veneto is renowned for.

Yours sincerely,
Ilaria Lucani
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    544
    218
    74
    36
    37
See reviews for
181
440
27
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

We were upgraded to the junior suite which was huge & lush! Even the deluxe room was extremely big. Nice bvlgari toiletries. As it was an occasion for us, we were also provided with complementary champagne. The staff were very helpful/friendly.
Location on via veneto, ritzy area so quite pricey but not a bad base to get to other locations (5/10mins walk to Spanish steps etc)
Only criticism was the food and price. We ordered room service one night & it was very ordinary & bland (unheard of in Italy!) also they charged us for the chicken that was supposed to come with a side of mash potatoes however it didn't.. That was disappointing.
We didnt have breakfast as it was astronomical (33 euros per person), you can find really nice breakfasts in local cafes near by for less than half of that..
We ran out of time & didn't get to try the spa unfortunately. It was also overpriced but that comes with 5 star hotels in general. Although we stayed in other 5 star hotels in Italy/Europe and have to comment this was the most expensive & least impressive of all...

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mons11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilaria L, Front Of House Manager at Grand Hotel Via Veneto, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor following your recent visit to Jumeirah Grand Hotel Via Veneto.
Your comment is important to us, as we always aim at delivering an ultimate experience for every guest. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the location which is the true centre of the city and you enjoyed the upgrade given to help celebrate your special occasion. I was concerned to read that on this occasion we did not meet some of your expectations in particular for the restaurant. Kindly note, that our variety of products is in line with similar properties in this area if not superior. We feel that we offer an excellent value, given our unique location and facility. However, should you feel we failed to meet your expectations, I would like to sincerely apologies for that. I would like to thank you once again for sharing your feedback with us and thereby giving us the opportunity to enhance our service quality. I do hope that this experience will not deter you from visiting Jumeirah Grand Hotel Via Veneto in the future and you will allow us the opportunity to restore your confidence in the ultimate hospitality Jumeirah Grand Hotel Via Veneto is renowned for.

Ilaria Lucani
Front Of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iow
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed her for one night and would thoroughly recommend it, our check in was great with great knowledge from our receptionist Olga who showed us to our room on the 5th floor and supplied us with a map and places to get to easily, the hotel is in a good position, we arrived at 8pm.. checked in and by 12am had walked to the Trevi fountain, Pantheon and spanish steps and also stopped for dinner !! Trevi fountain was stunning at night , our room had the most comfortable bed, large bathroom, and Blvgari toiletries which where lush, we had the best stay in Rome, on check out we left our luggage at the hotel while we explored the colloseum and vaticun, then returned and had a relaxing drink in the lovely lobby before we had a taxi called to the train station. We would like to thank all the staff for making our stay so special and will recommend The Jumeriah Grand to anyone visiting Rome.

Room Tip: we stayed in a room with a street view, not sure what the rooms looking into the hotel are like but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martineIow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilaria L, Front Of House Manager at Grand Hotel Via Veneto, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Jumeirah Grand Hotel Via Veneto.

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on tripadvisor following your recent stay in Jumeirah Grand Hotel Via Veneto. I hope that you had a pleasant return journey.
We are delighted to read your great review post your stay in Jumeirah. It gives us great pleasure to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.
We have communicated your feedback to the entire team at the hotel and they are all very happy to know that their efforts are so well appreciated. I am certain that this will serve as a source of inspiration for us to achieve higher standards of excellence in the future
We are looking forward to welcoming you back in Jumeirah Grand Hotel Via Veneto.

Yours Sincerely,
Ilaria Lucani
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

There were some very nice and helpful people at Jumeirah, but there were also miscues that suggest that this place is not quite ready to be among the 5 star hotels in the world. I blame this on management as I think the people are trying to do a good job but they lack the training that one get at real 5 star hotels like Four Seasons, the Mandarin Oriental, or the Peninsula. The staff at those hotels pay attention to the guests and remember names and events. Everything work together and as a team. It was not that way in the Jumeirah. I had set up transfers from the airport and the driver was given the wrong name. So it took us 30 minutes to clear that up as he was looking for someone else! Then when this was discussed with the concierge, the response was 'wow, this is strange'. No kidding. I don't care why it happened..I just wanted a sincere apology. Breakfast buffet was simple and ok. Nothing special. That's unfortunate in a city where food can be fabulous. Rooms were clean but again, nothing special. It was about expectations. I had expected more and did not feel like it was worth it. If I had expected a good chain hotel experience, I would not have been disappointed. That's what it felt like--another chain hotel but not a 5 star experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MRCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilaria L, Front Of House Manager at Grand Hotel Via Veneto, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Jumeirah Grand Hotel Via Veneto.

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on tripadvisor following your recent stay in Jumeirah Grand Hotel Via Veneto. I hope that you had a pleasant return journey.
I was concerned to read that on this occasion we did not meet some of your expectations. We do apologize for the inconveniente you encountered while waiting for the driver at the airport.
As per the breakfast, kindly be informed that our variety of products is in line with similar properties in this area if not superior. We feel that we offer an excellent value, given our unique location and facility. should you feel we failed to meet your expectations I would like to sincerely apologise for that.
I would like to thank you once again for sharing your feedback with us and thereby giving us the opportunity to enhance our service quality.
I do hope that this experience will not deter you from visiting Jumeirah Grand Hotel Via Veneto in the future and you will allow us the opportunity to restore your confidence in the ultimate hospitality Jumeirah Grand Hotel Via Veneto is renowned for.

Ilaria Lucani
Front Of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England of course !
Level Contributor
67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

This is a five star hotel that feels like it is part of a chain, the room was adequate and clean and room servicing was done very well.

I chose this hotel after much deliberation and using Tripadvisor, I booked on the internet and a week before arriving received a nice e-mail from the hotel Lifestyle representative letting me know that the The Sky Bar and Grill would be open for my stay and this included a free glass of 'Italian Champagne' this was one of may main reasons for choosing this hotel, in fact their website front page pictures is dominated with photos of the rooftop area. I had this view of spending the evenings up there relaxing after a day of walking around Rome. When checking into the Hotel we were told that The Sky Bar and Grill would be closed for all of our stay (3 nights) due to it being for private functions, I was not happy with this so I went to the front desk and asked to see the Manager, I was directed to 'The Front of house Manager' (Alessia) she told me it was all fine and i could use The Sky Bar and Grill and any problems to contact her. We decided the next day after a long day walking around Rome to go up to The Sky Bar and Grill for a glass of Champagne and to relax looking at the views of Rome, we were stopped as the lift opened by a very rude Toni, he was not letting us step any further, this caused me some real embarrassment, so we left and went downstairs to try and rectify this situation, we were greeted by Olga and Christian that were not willing to help in any way and just said sorry and that we could speak to Alessia in the morning, we checked out the next morning with no Alessia to be seen.
I will never use the Jumeirah brand again as they make promises that they cannot keep to which has caused me personal embarrassment. If you make a big thing out of facility then close it for private functions that is not fair on your guests, I could understand if work was being carried out or for health and safety reasons but this was not to be.

If you decide to stay at this hotel please check out my review of Caffe Strega which is just outside the hotel, This is not attached to the hotel in any way.

Room Tip: Dont expect The Sky Bar and Grill to be open to hotel guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank daneworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilaria L, Front Of House Manager at Grand Hotel Via Veneto, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feed back on the Tripadvisor. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on tripadvisor following your recent stay in Jumeirah Grand Hotel Via Veneto. I hope that you had a pleasant return journey. Your comment is important to us, as we always aim at delivering an ultimate experience for every guest.

I was concerned to read that on this occasion we did not meet some of your expectations. I have noted your comment and dissatisfaction regarding not being able to use the Sky Grill Bar which was booked for a private event. In these cases we always give the alternative to enjoy the free welcome drink at our Time Restaurant and Wine Bar, and so we did also with you.

Regarding the behavior of some of our colleagues, please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused in this respect. This is certainly not the level of service we want our guests to experience. I have personally looked in this matter and communicated with our outlets managers that more trainings should be provided to our staff to guarantee that all our guests are fully satisfied with the service.

II would like to thank you once again for sharing your feedback with us and thereby giving us the opportunity to enhance our service quality. I do hope that this experience will not deter you from visiting Jumeirah Grand Hotel Via Veneto in the future and you will allow us the opportunity to restore your confidence in the ultimate hospitality Jumeirah Grand Hotel Via Veneto is renowned for.

Kind Reagrds
Ilaria Lucani
Front Of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I have stayed here now 2 times and have had standard and deluxe units. Considering the cost which for a forst class hotel was reasonable, i would highly recommend this establishment. One has to understand this is not a budget hotel, (300-450 euro/night) but the rooms are fresh the staff is very accommodating and the location is better than the Excelsior(my second favorite in Rome). This is one of my favorite hotels in the world.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank enzovincent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilaria L, Front Of House Manager at Grand Hotel Via Veneto, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Jumeirah Grand Hotel Via Veneto.

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on tripadvisor following your recent stay in Jumeirah Grand Hotel Via Veneto. I hope that you had a pleasant return journey.
We are delighted to read your great review post your stay in Jumeirah. It gives us great pleasure to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.
We have communicated your feedback to the entire team at the hotel and they are all very happy to know that their efforts are so well appreciated. I am certain that this will serve as a source of inspiration for us to achieve higher standards of excellence in the future
We are looking forward to welcoming you back in Jumeirah Grand Hotel Via Veneto.
Meanwhile please do not hesitate to contact me for any further assistance.

Yours Sincerely,
Ilaria Lucani
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We checked in late and our room was ready. The receptionist Olga was extremely friendly and helpful. We have booked our train tickets to Venice through concierge very quickly. The location of the hotel is superb! You have the spanish steps nearby, the bus tours are very close and the Termini train station is 5 min away. The only down point was slow wifi internet in the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mazhit I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilaria L, Front Of House Manager at Grand Hotel Via Veneto, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Jumeirah Grand Hotel Via Veneto.

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on tripadvisor following your recent stay in Jumeirah Grand Hotel Via Veneto. I hope that you had a pleasant return journey.

We are delighted to read your great review post your stay in Jumeirah.

We are also pleased to know that you enjoyed the service provided by our colleagues especially of the lifestyle dp. which is always very helpful!

We have communicated your feedback to the entire team at the hotel and they are all very happy to know that their efforts are so well appreciated. I am certain that this will serve as a source of inspiration for us to achieve higher standards of excellence in the future.

Yours Sincerely,
Ilaria Lucani
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Palace
Grand Hotel Palace
#281 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Baglioni Hotel Regina
Baglioni Hotel Regina
#113 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#56 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,329 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Majestic Roma
Hotel Majestic Roma
#107 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
The Westin Excelsior, Rome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Via Veneto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Via Veneto

Property: Grand Hotel Via Veneto
Address: Via Vittorio Veneto 155, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Via Veneto 5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right on Via Veneto, 116 spacious rooms and suites, containing beautiful decor and 1920s inspired handmade furniture. With two fine dining restaurants, a rooftop solarium, the state-of-the-art AQVA CITY SPA, and Fitness Centre, this is the perfect destination for an event or city break in the eternal city. With a legendary art collection including works by Picasso, Dali and Guttuso, and the grand marble bathrooms in every suite, Grand hotel via Veneto is your luxury hotel in Rome. The hotel’s sleek design is defined by an art deco’s Ruhlmann inspired motif that pervades throughout the building while contemporary works from an excellent collection of artists and tech- forward amenities fill the public spaces and guest rooms. Marble bathrooms, meeting rooms with fully-stocked bars and penthouse suites with terraces overlooking the eternal city below add to the opulent experience. DISOVER YOUR LUXURY HOTEL IN ROME. We offer uncommonly spacious accommodations in Via Veneto styled after luxury apartments, providing guests a residential-like escape in the eternal city. Every guestroom at Grand hotel via Veneto offers a plush king or queen bed, modern bathrooms full of Carrara Marbles, bath robes with slippers, and room service from our Magnolia and Time restaurants. Huge windows welcome refreshing natural light into a simple and elegant space. Modern art, ranging from abstract paintings to collages, adds a bit of Italian artistic flare to our sleek and luxury spaces. Grand hotel via Veneto offers to its guests a rooftop garden with hammam and hot tub, and also its AQVA City Spa: fitness center, chromotherapy, vitality pool, any kind of massages, sauna, hydromassage, everything within an environment completely made with pure Carrara Calacatta Caldia marble, that evokes the ancient Roman thermal baths ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Hotel Via Veneto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing