We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not quite as good as we expected” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Via Veneto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
Ranked #162 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not quite as good as we expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

At one level, this is a great hotel - location, decor, art, doormen (who were brilliant) and waiters. However, given the price, it didn't quite live up to expectations. We couldn't quite put our finger on why. As others have pointed out, it is just a few small things - no coffee in room, a very strange relaxation pool, small gym, badly designed reception/check-in area, a bad recommendation for a tour company. Also, not as well geared up for children as the Four Seasons which is our absolute favourite hotel chain. So, four stars not five.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank ME272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    502
    204
    73
    34
    36
See reviews for
161
415
25
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

I chose Jumeirah Grand Hotel Via Veneto to give my wife a little home town comfort before heading back to the UAE from our most recent Italian adventure. What i found was not your typical Jumeirah quality. The *****L rating on a plaque out the front of the building by a corporation i had never heard of made me question the reason why this was stated this way - 5 star Luxury rating was definitely not there. bathrooms are poorly finished - really cheap, toilet amenities were completely limited and lacking - not even a cake of soap was provided!! I was able to find out from the staff that the Hotel had only recently been taken over by Jumeirah so i figured that was their excuse, but if a Brand wants to take over an existing property they should really consider the entire package(and refurbish if required) before placing their name to it.
All metallic looking materials we found to be plastic - yet trying to look expensive...Not Cool at all.
Bedroom furniture is of poor quality - doesnt close properly, placement of the same prevented me from opening our wardrobe and still be able to walk around my bed.
No turn down service.
2 pillows on my bed only - that flatten to a pancake - No pillow Menu.
Really cheap quality slippers even...

5 Star Luxury - NOT!!! says it all....

only good thing - location. if you want my advice stay somewhere else until Jumeirah can bring this place up to the standard they exude throughout the UAE.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gazzzadubai69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

First time stay at a JH and we were looking forward to their 'award winning' service and amenities. Left slightly deflated and probably will stick to better known 5 star brands in future.

The good:
Location
Service of door and bar staff (super efficient and friendly).

The bad
Check in : slow and not very private ( I don’t really need the whole of reception and lobby knowing how much my stay was going to be and how I was going to pay).
Rooms: Asked for non smoking room, was escorted to a room that had strong cigarette odour and ash trays. Asked again and was assured this was non-smoking, refused to stay and asked to change. The receptionist then told me I should have asked at time of booking (which at that point presented my printed out my booking confirming non-smoking). Manager got involved and asked us to wait whilst they checked for another room as hotel was completely full. We waited 45mins then were escorted to a tiny room at the end of one floor (must have been spare room for staff I reckon) which also suspiciously smelled of cigarette odour. At this point was getting late so we reluctantly accepted as we had a dinner reservation and needed to change. When we returned the TV wasn’t working so they sent concierge up to fix, whilst he was in the room I asked him if I could smoke and he said ' yes of course sir ' this is a smoking floor. At this point was pretty angry at being lied too twice. Good 5 star hotels don’t deceive customers. The night manager changed our room the following day to a slightly larger room on the non smoking floor. Rooms pretty average , toiletries not replaced, cleaning sporadic.
Restaurant recommendations: Do your own research and don’t rely on concierge....both recommendations we had were at best pretty average. We had better luck on our own.
Breakfast: Watch out for bugs on the fruit.

There were many other smaller incidents that detracted from this being a 5 star hotel. We travel globally and have stayed in many 5 star hotels so this isnt a one off. This is the first time I've felt it necessary to write a review on TA . Im not the type to complain but the JH managed to bring out the 'disgruntled consumer' in me unfortunately.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Youandr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed in a junior suite in October, the hotel is luxurious, modern, comfortable and all you would expect from a 5 star hotel and more. The staff are friendly and professional but best of all for me was the location, around 10 minutes walk to the Spanish Steps and beyond.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sjr_1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in September for four days in an 'open suite.' Our room was luxurious--spacious, rich linens, king bed, a sleeper sofa, and round table with chairs in the center of the room, very comfortable, modern, and very quiet.; A/C worked very well. Our two young kids slept on a sleeper sofa and my wife and I had a king bed which was very comfortable. The bathroom was the largest you will find in any hotel with luxurious toiletries. The staff at the hotel was outstanding--extremely warm and helpful. Even my two young children commented on how nice the staff was and how much they enjoyed their stay. My wife used the spa and had a great time.
Breakfast was limited in terms of the buffet offering but you are allowed to order from the breakfast menu which is included so there was no problem. We enjoyed sitting in lobby in the evening and having tea and snacks; the lobby is small by American standards but cozy and comfortable, and has an attached bar; you can order drinks in the lobby as well. The hotel location is excellent--upscale and quieter neighborhood with other upscale hotels/shops/restaurants, and only a ten minute walk to the Spanish Steps. The only downsides are lack of a swimming pool (the small rooftop 'pool' is unheated and for sitting only), the rooftop terrace lacks any view, and there is no WiFi in the room--it is only available in the lobby but is free; there is a free broadband connected computer and printer available in the lobby. We cannot comment on any kids activities being available since we did not request any; there were kids staying in the hotel and the staff seemed quite friendly and welcoming to them.

Overall, a magnificent hotel with old world charm but modern luxuries. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: if you are traveling with children, request a room with a sleeper sofa beforehand.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank p s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

What an amazing experience! We spent two days in this magnificent hotel and experienced hospitality at its finest. Genuine warmth and care is a rare treat - and the staff at this hotel exceeded all expectations. We were also blown away by the incredible ORIGINAL art and sculptures throughout the hotel - with jaw dropping exhibits from the likes of Picasso. An art haven not to be missed. Not to mention an incredible location - a few steps away from the spanish steps and coin throw away from the Trevi fountain - need we say more!

Room Tip: I stayed in room 203 - spacious and luxurious
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GillianVile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

We spent a weekend in couple there and i can't imagine a better place to stay in Rome, absolutely great!!! The hotel is in one of the nicest streets in Rome, next to Piazza di Spagna and Shopping area, also sights. Also liked the design, old romantic building refurnished between modern and classic with a business touch.

Room Tip: Interior rooms are as good and lighting as the ones facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiguelBP87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Baglioni Hotel Regina
Baglioni Hotel Regina
#112 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#54 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Palace
Grand Hotel Palace
#191 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Majestic Roma
Hotel Majestic Roma
#108 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
The Westin Excelsior, Rome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Via Veneto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Via Veneto

Property: Grand Hotel Via Veneto
Address: Via Vittorio Veneto 155, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #162 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Via Veneto 5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right on Via Veneto, 116 spacious rooms and suites, containing beautiful decor and 1920s inspired handmade furniture. With two fine dining restaurants, a rooftop solarium, the state-of-the-art AQVA CITY SPA, and Fitness Centre, this is the perfect destination for an event or city break in the eternal city. With a legendary art collection including works by Picasso, Dali and Guttuso, and the grand marble bathrooms in every suite, Grand hotel via Veneto is your luxury hotel in Rome. The hotel’s sleek design is defined by an art deco’s Ruhlmann inspired motif that pervades throughout the building while contemporary works from an excellent collection of artists and tech- forward amenities fill the public spaces and guest rooms. Marble bathrooms, meeting rooms with fully-stocked bars and penthouse suites with terraces overlooking the eternal city below add to the opulent experience. DISOVER YOUR LUXURY HOTEL IN ROME. We offer uncommonly spacious accommodations in Via Veneto styled after luxury apartments, providing guests a residential-like escape in the eternal city. Every guestroom at Grand hotel via Veneto offers a plush king or queen bed, modern bathrooms full of Carrara Marbles, bath robes with slippers, and room service from our Magnolia and Time restaurants. Huge windows welcome refreshing natural light into a simple and elegant space. Modern art, ranging from abstract paintings to collages, adds a bit of Italian artistic flare to our sleek and luxury spaces. Grand hotel via Veneto offers to its guests a rooftop garden with hammam and hot tub, and also its AQVA City Spa: fitness center, chromotherapy, vitality pool, any kind of massages, sauna, hydromassage, everything within an environment completely made with pure Carrara Calacatta Caldia marble, that evokes the ancient Roman thermal baths ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Grand Hotel Via Veneto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing