We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location, friendly service, would stay again with earplugs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pantheon Royal Suite
Ranked #168 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best location, friendly service, would stay again with earplugs”
Reviewed November 9, 2009

Just got back from a three night stay at the Pantheon Royal Suite (who thought of that name?) - and apart from what other travelers have said (no lift, but apparently coming this month, so keep checking with them, and still a building site in places i.e. around the stairwell) it was a very good place to stay.
We did not notice any of the building works in terms of noise and the builders kept the stairs very clean while working on the sidelines and the stairs as such were save.
Reception is on third floor and they were always very friendly and helpful and even arranged for a very late checkout on the Sunday.
On arrival, they immediately apologized for the stairs/absence of lift and were quite astounded to hear that I knew about it. Lift is being installed sometime November apparently.
All further questions regarding Rome or the room where dealt with immediately and a free water bottle was replaced straight away as the seal seemed to be broken.
Room 304 is with Pantheon view, a deluxe double room, not huge per se but big bed with a firm mattress, but all very clean and new and enough space for two, clear design nothing to annoy the tastebuds. Bathroom not huge, particularly the showertray is tiny, so might feel a squeeze for some. Plenty of towels and good water pressure and lots of hot water. No plug for handbasin, so not sure what people do if wet shave. Good hair dryer and very nice Mila Schoen toiletries (plenty, including two toothbrushes).
Safe in warddrobe worked and the fridge was stocked minimally (which means you can stock up yourself) but all clean and new. Could have done with more hangers but forgot to ask. The bedlinen is very nice but if it is getting cooler the bed throw will not be enough to keep you warm. Air con in room but did not use. The pictures on the website show the room as it is.
Sensational view which really is quite breathtaking at all times of the day. A full moon over the Pantheon is quite something!
Good double glazed windows but if you like to leave them open at night, bring ear plugs as the piazza is very busy and therefore noisy until the early hours of the morning and at about 5-6am the street cleaners come to empty the bins. All fine with windwos closed though!
Adding to the streetnoise is the running water noise of the beautiful fountain outside the window! Next time I bring ear plugs.
Good Samsung flat screen TV and Sky channels.
One negative point: The hotel needs to do sth about the badly insulated wall to our neighbours and the keycard buzzer to our neighbours door. It is quite loud and you can hear most of the conversation in the other room which was the annoying part (one night out of three). Again, ear plugs would have solved the problem.
Breakfast is in the bar/coffee shop/restaurant downstairs (does not belong to hotel) and has improved somewhat from previous reports: super coffee, hot chocolate or any hot drink, buffet with different baked good (rolls, croissants, cake) one variety of cheese and ham, cereals, milk, yoghurt and fresh fruit basket. You can eat inside or out. If you return to eat another meal during the day there you will get a 20% discount in this place.
Location: you cannot top the location, that is for sure. Everything is in walking distance from there: Piazza Navona and Campo dei Fiori round the corner, shopping district/Corso, even the Vatican or the Castle St Angelo is very close 10-20min.
We did two guided tours with Angel Tours (one of which was the tour on a golf cart/buggy) and both were sensational and very informative but fun. (see Angel Tours Rome recommended on TripAdvisor). Shame we did not have time for their Vatican tour.
We also use the red open top bus company (which was good for a general overview on the first day) and they were good and not as bad as some reviews on this site. If you have kids and want to show them a lot, Eur15 well spent for 24h.
We will definitely stay again at the hotel, next time in one of their family appartments which have kitchenette and sleep 4. The lift will be a massive improvement. More rooms are being done in different styles - one apparently with a jaccuzzi. If the management keeps up the cleanliness and friendlyness and the general basic concept of a good unfussy hotel in a superb location with all the right basics, then this is a place I am happy to return to time and time again.
Around the corner is a very well stocked Spar supermarket (next door to it is the best ice cream shop - and cheaper than most of the big name ones! Try the Lemoncello variety) with a good deli counter, so ideal to self-cater for some of the stay. They even had glutenfree produce/breads/ snacks which was fab.
They also sell earplugs I noticed on my last trip. ;-).

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MXW9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    280
    78
    27
    34
See reviews for
110
513
20
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hoogland
1 review
Reviewed October 14, 2009

The greatest thing about this hotel is it's location! It is situated at the Piazza della Rotonda, one of the most intimate piazzas of Rome. We stayed in a deluxe room, with view right at the Pantheon. If you opened the window in the morning after waking up, the Pantheon was right there, how unique is that?! It was great to see the piazza changing through the day. When you looked out of the window in the middle of the night the piazza was completely empty. In the morning during breakfast the piazza was slowly waking up, in the afternoon it was crowed with people and not until late at night it was slowly getting more quiet.

Disadvantage of this unique location was the fact that it was noisy from very early in the morning. At 6.00 a.m. they started to clean the piazza, to collect the dirt (also the empty bottles, which made a lot of noise) and to deliver to the restaurants. During three nights of our five night stay there arrived a truck at 6.00 a.m. to deliver construction materials for the renovation that was taking place in the building of the hotel. They left the engine running. But the construction workers were very polite to the guests and tried to do there work as quiet as possible. During the day I did not really notice that there was work in progress.

We were staying at the 3th floor, where the reception is located. Sometimes late at night or early in the morning you could hear the telephone ringing rather loud, but it was always picked up quickly. The staff at the reception was very friendly. The hotel consist of only rooms. There are no facilities like a restaurant or bar.

The hotel is not indicated on the outside. But the Piazza della Rotonda is not very big and when you have seen the pictures on the internet, you will find it easily.

There was no lift at the hotel, so we had to carry our luggage up and down three floors. But all this was forgotten when we saw the view from our room!

The rooms are very new, so everything looks new an clean. The decoration is very modern and fresh. Its great, especially when you compare it to many other hotels that
I have seen on the internet. The room is not big, but big enough as we spent most of our time in the city. The bathroom is rather small as well, especially the shower. But I understand that is normal in most Italian hotels. Towels were changed every day. It was nice to have an airco and a safe in the room. The beds were great, although it was too short for my partner, who has a length of 1.90 meters.

The location is great as well because it is really in the center in Rome and right in the middle of all the important sites that you should visit when you are in Rome. The Colosseum an the Vatican are most far away, and even these places can be walked to in 15-20 minutes.

Breakfast is being served in the restaurant that is situated downstairs. Breakfast indeed consists of only a cup of coffee (a very big one!) or tea, a glass of orange juice and one croissant. But I learned that this is a normal Italian breakfast. We could use our breakfast on the terrace in front of the restaurant, right at the Piazza della Rotonda, only about twenty steps away from the Pantheon. Really breathtaking! Before breakfast we walked into the Pantheon for a minute, when only a very few people were inside. While later on the day it is crowded with people. Disadvantage was that breakfast is being served from 9.00 a.m. So if you want to start your day in the city early, you will have to skip breakfast.

Even though there were some disadvantages, our overall opinion about this hotel is that it is great! We will never forget sleeping at only some meters distance from the impressive Pantheon.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reiziger71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brigantine, New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2009

The location is excellent. The room was very new and spacious. The hotel is currently undergoing renovations. There is no elevator and we were given a low floor that fulfilled our request. The room appointments were very good. The room included an area with a comfortable couch. The kitchen area included a small refrigerator, cooktop and microwave. The setup was good for a quick breakfast or lunch. Pots, pans, plates and utensils were all clean and ready for use. The window of our room looked out onto the construction area, but this was not a drawback during this trip. It would be nice to have a room with a view of the Pantheon. Continental breakfast was included in the cafe at the hotel entrance. Keep an eye on this one.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 12, 2009

The owners of this hotel are operating the following business model: let's see how much we can squeeze out of poor unsuspecting tourists while we are STILL IN THE PROCESS OF CONSTRUCTING OUR HOTEL. The whole hotel is a construction site and building works woke us up on our two mornings there at 6 in the morning leaving us exhausted for our entire trip. Apart from the noise the works constitute a serious safetey hazard and had we taken our 18 month old with us (luckily we hadnt) we would have had to find another hotel on arrival at midnight. In the event we stayed because it was only two nights and we couldnt take the hassle of finding somewhere else. At check out we asked for a discount to compensate us for the horrible noise and lack of sleep and were first offered 10 euros off which we took as an insult. Eventually, we were given the two nights for free but this did not make up for a ruining what was supposed to be a relaxing weekend away. This hotel is a disgrace! Please see the photos of the building works and decide for yourselves.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank londongirl3011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2009

DO NOT STAY HERE! I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. I was deceived and lied to from the moment I booked to stay at the hotel. The rooms on the Pantheon Suite Website are only the few they have finished. The hotel is still under construction. There is no lift and upon our arrival we had to carry our luggage up to the 3rd floor. There was no bell boy or concierge to help. Upon reaching reception on the 3rd floor we were informed that our room was not ready and that we would be placed in a lesser room for the 1st night and then upgraded for the remaining 3 nights of our stay. We were then told that we would be offered a bottle of Champagne to make up for this, in the end we were only given a bottle of white wine.
The room we were placed in was next to reception. It had a window which faced the corridor with no natural light. During the night I was unable to open the window as the noise from reception was too loud. The air conditioning in the room was directly above the bed so I could not turn it on as I did not want to catch a cold. In the end I had a hot, noisy sleepless night. The following day we headed down to breakfast which was all inclusive and supplied by a restaurant on the Pantheon plaza. The breakfast was a coffee and a croissant. On the table next to us a german couple who were also staying in the hotel were complaining about the size of the breakfast. We then spoke to them and found out that they too had been lied to about their rooms. Due to all these factors we decided to check out after just one night as the noise of the building work also started very early. To add insult to injury we were charged 100Euros for the night.
I would not stay here again and would never recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank axetrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2009

I think the last review is very unfair of this hotel. Yes it is still under construction but we stayed on a Friday night and its one of the best night sleeps I have had in a hotel (the bed was very comfy). We paid a little more for a 'deluxe' room with a view right on to the Pantheon- I could have stayed for hours both during the day an night just to people watch!. Believe me, 170 euro is not expensive for a hotel in Rome with this kind of view. There was building work going on, but we heard nothing at all on the Saturday morning. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful and although breakfast was only a croissant and coffee they were delicious and we ate outside over looking the Piazza della Rotonda. The only construction work is in the stair well and on the other floors of the hotel- the floor we were on (which I believe is the only floor they are letting rooms on) was completely finished.
The bedroom is very nicely furnished in a very modern style. The bathroom is a little on the small side, but has everything you need and is very clean (with everything being brand new).
I would go back in a second, but as another reviewer said its likely the prices will increase when the hotel is finished.
If you would like a romantic getaway at an amazingly located hotel, book into this hotel while it still has affordable room rates and pay a little more for a deluxe room- the view and location to all the top sites will not disappoint.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AWoo80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crewe
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2009

Returned from this hotel a couple of weeks ago and can honestly say if you have booked to stay here please cancel!!! The photos on the website show the few rooms that are completed but fail to show that it is literally like staying in a building site. You have to climb 3 flights if stairs to get to the reception, which are not even finished so you can see the sky above, and there is banging and drilling from 8am in the morning,,,,NIGHTMARE!!! The rooms are modern but ours despite being a suite was really dark with all windows looking out onto a wall (thats if you could get the window open). More like a dungeon than a suite.
When asked to be moved rooms or hotels we were told there was nothing they could do and that the reason it was such a good price was because the hotel was still under construction... I personally dont think £130 a night to be exactly cheap.

The one good thing about the hotel is its location which is amazing for seeing the sites, but i would still advise anyone to change hotels if its not too late

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clairwilcoxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Abruzzi
Hotel Abruzzi
#56 of 1,256 in Rome
952 reviews
Colonna
Hotel Pantheon
Hotel Pantheon
#140 of 1,256 in Rome
612 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Sole Al Pantheon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Navona
Hotel Navona
#129 of 1,256 in Rome
1,053 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#30 of 1,256 in Rome
739 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Albergo Santa Chiara
Hotel Albergo Santa Chiara
#115 of 1,256 in Rome
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pantheon Royal Suite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pantheon Royal Suite

Property: Pantheon Royal Suite
Address: Piazza Della Rotonda 7, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Rome
#101 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#159 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#241 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pantheon Royal Suite 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The combination of an eighteenth century historical building together with contemporary design is what gives Pantheon Royal Suite its reputation for a charming design accommodation in the center of Rome. Wake up to the view of the historical landmark, Pantheon, and feel the atmosphere of 'The Eternal City' on your stay with us at Pantheon Royal Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Pantheon Royal Suite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pantheon Royal Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing