We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice neighborhood restaurant”
Review of Er Faciolaro

Er Faciolaro
Ranked #972 of 12,522 Restaurants in Rome
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Colonna
Fredrikstad, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Very nice neighborhood restaurant”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed at a B&B in the same building and was glad to find that er Faciolaro was such a pleasant place.

The staff was very friendly and welcoming, and the food was very good. In fact, we ended up eating here several times during our three day stay. It didn't take long for the staff to recognize us and they were as friendly as they could be.

Unlike most other restaurants on this street, er Faciolaro seems to draw a good crowd of local guests, which is always a good sign.

The menu was large and varied, and everything we tried was very good. We never got around to trying the beans though (we were told "er Faciolaro" means the bean-eater).

We hope to return before too long and hope er Faciolaro will not change one bit in the meantime.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank cicignon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    518
    393
    207
    87
    107
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Worth a visit if you are around Pantheon”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

When we visited, this restaurant had a few tables taken and a large table reserved for a group. It turned out the group was a business function full of locals, always a good sign when you're a tourist looking for a restaurant. Over the night it filled up further and by the time we left there was quite a good vibe.

Food was very good, the mushroom and ham pizza and tomato and chilli pasta were both nice, probably not the best in Rome but certainly worth a try. We had starters of vegetable soup and bruchetta, the soup was AMAZING, tasted like grandma would make and we enjoyed it so much we tried to replicate it when we arrived back home. The bruchetta/crostini was good but a little on the oily side.

Service was excellent, friendly staff (sometimes a little too attentive to us?) and overall very nice place to eat.

The bill was quite reasonable, around 60 Euro for 2 people including 2 starters, 2mains, bottle of wine, and tip. Certainly one of the more reasonably priced on the street. We were quire happy with our choice.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AGD2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emerald Isle
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fab food ,wonderful service,”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Just returned from a four day trip to Rome. This restaurant has everything. Really good food ,wine and service. Nothing was too much trouble . We wanted to sit outside (Yes in Dec !!) they had patio heaters and setting was very authenic . The rain came on after our first course (artichokes) so we moved inside.Fillet steaks were amazing as were the sole and sea bass. Desserts were excellent especailly the chocolate souflle. You wont be disappointed eating here. Very close to Pantheon and Trevi Fountain, nearest metro is at Spanish Steps. Ronnie you're great !!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank buddyboys4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Small family run....Porcini in season....yum!”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Small, no frills, basic a bit cramped but the food was great especially the Porcini mushrooms which were in season and what we had for a starter a bit steep at 18 Euros but they were fantastic, simply served with a little butter and parsley. The steak was also good a nice aged steak with deep earthy flavour. A bottle of Barbera D'Asti and a nice meal all round. Would not like it in the summer though as a bit cramped and would be hot.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RedandRussian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Amazing mussels!”
Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

My girlfriend and I ate here on our first night in Rome. We decided to get lost and happened to come across this restaurant. The food was amazing in particular the muscles in the main course and the creme Brule desert. We had one waiter look after us who was very pleasant and polite. We sat outside which was nice and romantic but be prepared to be pestered by street salesman and homeless, if you can deal with this and your a people watcher then it's great. Luckily the restaurant was quiet which I think added to the enjoyment but if it were to have been busy I can imagine outside could be quite uncomfortable as the tables are very close to one another to such a degree they are touching. It was quite pricy and if they offer bread be prepared to pay 6 euros. Don't be of the illusion its free. There is also a cover charge which is approximately ten percent added to the total bill. However, despite these slight negatives we loved it and would definitely go back. I would definitely recommend this restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Been to Er Faciolaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing