We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Traditional tratoria..”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Brancaleone

Brancaleone
Reserve with
Brancaleone is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #714 of 12,135 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Traditional tratoria..”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Very good tratitional tratoria. Excellent food, very good service, great value of money. I've been twice at Rome and I visited Brancaleone both of the times. The place was the same although I've been for the second time at Rome after 3 years. It's very wise to make a recervation because the place is very famous and has a lot of customers every day. The plates are big enough so be stingy with your order. Christina - the owners wife - welcomes and serving customers has been to Greece for 10 years and she speaks greek very well. The decoration is warm and cosy with a lot of wood and the place big enough. Be there for really good food.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chrysanthi1802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    337
    205
    79
    35
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“cosy and friendly”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

A cosy place with awesome food and very friendly service! Prices were very decent and the house wine, excellent :) Spent 6 nights in Rome and we had dinner here 5 nights :) Lovely atmosphere and we felt like we were in the real Rome as opposed to all the touristy spots. Definitely recommended for authentic experience

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank suneeta10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“poor choice for a large group”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We took a group of 25 students to this restaurant and were very disappointed. The manager initially seemed very accommodating but, when the bills arrived at the tables, we were saddled with a host of surprise charges (including a 2 euro/bottle charge for water when he had expressly said that water would be free).
Our students were shocked when they were being charged nearly 15 euro for pizza and a coke! The "home-made" antipasti were low-grade (bought at the Italian version of BJ's?) and the "hot dog pizza" has now become a running joke with our students. My bolognese pasta had a strange texture and flavor which made me recall Europe's recent horsemeat fiasco. The ambiance and the waitstaff were nice but I do not recommend this place at all.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LexMumma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Over all very good. Susan's first Italian pizza, at 9:30 pm like all the good Italians.
Your normal table Vino good but not some thing you will store in the cellar. Fresh ingredients and a large selection I would go back. The staff was very freindly and fun!

Helpful?
1 Thank johngates8988
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Simple, cheap, yet extremely good food - excellent!”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

A simple place with great pizza, very good service, very pleasant manager (or owner), surpisingly low prices (8 euros for most pizzas), excellent house wine (8 or so euros a litre!) - simply excellent. The locals seem to appreciate it, which is always a good sign. Nothing to complain about. Highly recommended place!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alexander S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brancaleone also viewed

 

Been to Brancaleone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing