We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value and great service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Fontanella Sistina

La Fontanella Sistina
Ranked #9,314 of 12,044 Restaurants in Rome
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Colonna
UK
Level Contributor
109 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Great value and great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

We passed by this restaurant on our way to the metro at Barberini and the owner invited us in. The menu was typical Italian and we had pasta and pizza. With two rounds of drinks and a main course the average cost per person for six was €13 which I thought was brilliant. The waiter was lovely and the service was fast. This was by far the best value restaurant we found in Rome.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tankgirl2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    142
    70
    64
    116
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“So good we went back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

We were wandering in the Barberini area and lucked into this place. The owner spoke with us as we walked by and invited us to come back later. Roberto was so engaging we had to five it a try. We had a ravioli dish that was excellent and also shared a lamb dish that was one of the best I have had. Everyone of the wait staff was very attentive. The mountain berry tart was superb. We usually do not go back to the same restaurant, but we did on our last night in Rome. We had fish and the minestrone soup. Both were excellent. Highly recommend.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DFPerry123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mediocre Food, Obnoxious Owner”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

You can do much better at many other Piazza Barbarini restaurants, for the same dinner price range ($100 for 2). They touted their place as a "family restaurant." That it is, but that doesn't excuse the mediocre cooking. My fish stew was served in a very ordinary pomodoro, with most of the crustaceans flavorless, probably of the frozen variety. All of which could have been overlooked had not the overly solicitous owner inexcusably insulted me. Before leaving fro Rome, my wife and I studied "traveler's Italian" and were excited to try to speak this beautiful language at any opportunity. However, when I asked for zuppe de pes-ce (pes-key), rather than zuppe de pesce (as in Joe Pesce), the owner immediately walked around the corner and had an audibly, good loud laugh at my minor gaffe (peach soup vs. fish soup) with his staff. Unbelievably unprofessional! My hotel concierge, who never recommends this restaurant, said he's heard this kind of story before. So, if you crave pricey, mediocre cooking with insults for dessert, this spot is for you.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Don C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aruba
Level Contributor
68 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

We were taking a walk before dinner and we came to this ristorante. I saw a beautiful raspberry tart in the window and we decided to try this place. It was a very good choice. Our meal was delicious and the service was great. Typical Italian menu. The tart was filled with cream and topped with baby strawberries not raspberries which was memorable. Go here!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Aruba17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Excellent!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

We found this restaurant from Tripadvisor! Excellent food, excellent service! We ate there three out of five nights while in Rome. The staff is amazing, very personable and great restauranteurs! The owners are there to ensure everything is great. Food was fantastic. Fresh... Tey the Caprese Salad and Bruschetta. Tomatoes are amazing! Everything is made fresh! We ate at many restaurants and Lafonanella was the best!!! I am a 25 year restaurant executive and I thought they were great!!!

Helpful?
Thank Bigkingzfan
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed La Fontanella Sistina also viewed

 

Been to La Fontanella Sistina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing