We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Apartment Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aurelia Vatican Apartments
Ranked #13 of 1,170 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 9, 2013

This was an excellent and reasonably priced place to stay in Rome, and we would highly recommend it for budget-minded travelers. The only downside is the location, which is really not an issue once you get used to the bus and metro. You can buy a weekly travel card, which is good on all public transit, for 24 Euros. We took both the bus and the metro daily, and shopped at the local Conad grocery store for breakfast and dinner food. We also appreciated the written guide that they gave us with restaurant recommendations and other attraction information, we ate at several of the restaurants and they were very good and seemed popular with the locals. We went in February, so it was in the mid-50s fahrenheit, but it was still warm enough for us to sit out on the balcony and enjoy the sun. The service was great, they arranged transport for us and answered all of our questions. For the price, we would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: The superior room with balcony, on the top floor, had a lot of morning sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Riga11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (411)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

176 - 182 of 411 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2013

Stayed here for a one bedroom flat with full kitchen and utilities and a sofa bed in the living room. Paid €95 per night. 3 guests in total. In summary, I think this is great value, even if I ignored the fact that we were upgraded to a superior room!
Very happy to recommend.

PROS:
1. Great value. If we had book a hotel room, even if it's the same price for 3 (unlikely), there is no way we could have been this comfortable - I had a separate room with my missus and my sister slept on a big sofa bed - plenty of space.

2. Very comfortable beds and pillows. I had no problems sleeping whatsoever. And I particularly like the soft but plump pillows - but my wife preferred the harder one (you get both each).

3. Very helpful staff - all the people at the reception were very helpful and friendly. For example they volunteered to tell us about the city and suggestions on how we should spend our 4 days. Also, based on her suggestion, we booked the Vatican ticket online to beat the queue and they happily printed it off for us.

4. Location - it is around 8 - 10 mins walk to the Valle Aurelia Metro station and it is also served by 2 bus routes with the stop being 1 minute away from the apartment which takes you to the station if you don't feel like walking. The station connects you to the sites you want to visit.

5. Kitchen is fully equipped meaning that you can buy groceries from the nearby supermarket and have a great breakfast. You can even cook dinner if you fancy it or to save on costs. There's a decent-sized fridge and a big freezer too.

6. Plenty of hanging space in the bedroom and the living room.

7. Functioning cable TV if you want it.

8. Restaurants - there are some really good restaurants near the apartment frequented mostly by locals, due to the fact that it is in a residential area - so not the usual overpriced, mediocre grub you find in tourist spots! We had 3 satisfactorily, fairly priced meals in 3 different restaurants, suggested by reception. Happy to recommend Il Buongustaio and La Ruota Pizzaria.

CONS:
1. Perhaps location - takes a casual 20 mins door to door (door to steps?) to the Spanish steps (Spagna station) and 12-15 mins to the Vatican City. If the hassle of taking the metro is not for you, perhaps this is something to consider.

2. Minor point - towel knob in the bathroom is a little high if you're not tall. I am 6' and had no problems, but my wife is 5'4" and she had to jump a little to hang the towel.

3. No microwave - this perhaps would have been useful.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank PerantauDunia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

The location, staff and transportation was by far superior! They have car service that picks you up on time to take you to and from the apartment but at a reasonable fee! They provide details of the most popular spots to visit, and how to get there on the train or the bus that is located right next to the apartments. I loved it here and my little girl just loved the turtles in the courtyard.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Cheetera C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

My wife, two college aged boys and I stayed here in August (Rome is sweltering in August). We drove from Germany and the hotel was easy to find with a GPS. The neighborhood is older, but the hotel is a gem. Parking is a big plus. We were welcomed by the hostess who went to great lengths to make sure we had all the information we needed to make the trip a success. We ate at the restaurants they recommended and it was the best food. The room was clean, cool, and comfortable. We had everything we needed in the kitchenette to cook dinner a couple of nights when we were too tired to eat out. There was a market just down the street where we picked up the food. The bus stop is on the main street and just a few stops from the Vatican and the middle of the city. GREAT LOCATION! The price for what we got was worth it! I'll stay here again!

Room Tip: Get a one or two bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DesertsoccerAz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Location-ok these apartments are not located in the heart of Rome, they are closer to Vatican City. We arrived in Rome via train & caught a taxi from the Termini to the apartments which set us back from memory around 50euro, but that was between 3 people. To get to the apartments from the Termini you catch the train to the Valle Aurelia station. It is a 10min walk from the station to the apartments. The apartments are located in a quiet street. There is a bus stop in the street which we caught sometimes to the train station if we were particularly tired. 5min walk from the apartments is a laundrymat, supermarket, some really nice restaurants, deli, a bank. The road that the apartments are on leads back to a main road, which has more shops to choose from.
The apartments are owned by an Australian/Italian couple & they are lovely! Very helpful!. On arrival they gave us a map of Rome & showed us where all the sights were & the best way to get there. We also had an incident with my mother's cash card & they allowed us to use their internet & even called the cash card place for us to try & sort it out. Which greatly reduced our stress levels! The apartments are lovely, they all have balconies that look onto a courtyard which has a fountain. The living room is large with a lounge, coffe table & dining room table & chairs. The apartments also have a kitchen & fridge, no microwave though. Basic cooking stuff, plates, cups, pots & pans. We thought they also had a toaster, it was to a degree, but not a toaster like here in Australia where it browns the bread, it just warmed it. The bedroom was reasonable although we had 3 people in there so it was a bit cramped. Big wardrobe. Bathroom was adequate. They have laundry facilities, washer & dryer which were about 4euro each. Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay there & would definately go back.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kylie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

The neighborhood setting, the helpful staff, and the attractive facility make this a marvelous place to stay in Rome and a little at home. Public transportation access is excellent. Nearby restaurants include one that has both good good and moderate prices.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carol K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#456 of 1,270 in Rome
299 reviews
Domidea Hotel
#227 of 1,270 in Rome
665 reviews
Hotel Pulitzer Roma
#103 of 1,270 in Rome
1,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#111 of 1,270 in Rome
1,235 reviews
Adagio Rome Vatican
#14 of 1,170 in Rome
557 reviews
Esquilino
Generator Hostel Rome
Generator Hostel Rome
#9 of 1,170 in Rome
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurelia Vatican Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurelia Vatican Apartments

Address: Via Dei Laterizi 20, 00167 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 1,170 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Price Range: $66 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aurelia Vatican Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently opened in the summer of 2009 following a complete restoration. AURELIA VATICAN APARTMENTS is the perfect choice for your stay in Rome.Conveniently located just 2 km from the Vatican City and only minutes by bus or Metro (Line A “Valle Aurelia”) to famous landmarks such as; St.Peter’s Basilica, Castel Sant’ Angelo, Spanish Steps,Trevi Fountain, Piazza del Popolo, Villa Borghese and Termini (Rome’s central train station).Our luxury apartment offer guests all the comforts of home; including fully equipped kitchens, air conditioning, satellite LCD TV, Wi-Fi / LAN internet connections, stylish bathrooms and modern furnishings. With balconies providing views overlooking the elegant, flower decorated, Roman inspired courtyard.Situated in one of Rome’s central neighborhoods, close to cafés, restaurants, supermarkets, pharmacies, banks, parks and churches, parking facilities are also available to guests. AURELIA VATICAN APARTMENTS boasts a classic Roman architectural façade, stylishly contrasted by modern and sleek interiors. The elegantly designed restoration enables our guests to become immersed in the true Roman experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Aurelia Vatican Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurelia Vatican Apartments Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing