We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made our time in Rome AMAZING!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aurelia Vatican Apartments
Ranked #11 of 1,169 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 5, 2011

Rome is a great city and we had an incredible time there thanks to Sam and Kate, the owners of Aurelia Vatican Apartments. When my husband and I showed up, Kate sat down with us for a half hour and explained everything we needed to know so that our stay in Rome was a success. She immediately put us at ease, suggested ways to explore the city, told us about great restaurants (so that we avoided toursit traps - which there are many of) and helped us figure out how to use the transit system. She was so warm, kind, and helpful which made us feel really good about our decision to stay there. Our room was perfect - clean, bright, and all that we needed for our 3 short days in Rome. All in all, a fantastic experience and we would reccommend this to anyone who is travelling to Rome. Thank you, thank you, thank you Sam and Kate!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JanaDL123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (411)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

228 - 234 of 411 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2011

We (two adults and one baby aged 1.5 years) stayed at Aurelia Vatican Apartments for four nights. We had a wonderful apartment with a balcony/terrace. The kitchen was nice and particularly useful for people traveling with small children. Likewise, the on-site coin laundry was useful for us. The staff and owners were attentive to all our questions and needs. We found the neighborhood friendly and walkable with stroller (the sidewalks are a bit narrow, but you get used to it), and enjoyed the fact we were staying in a neighborhood with few tourists, where you could interact with the locals. The owners gave us some great restaurant recommendations, and we ended up having dinner in the neighborhood several times. Again, traveling with a a baby, it was great to have good restaurant options in the neighborhood (15-20 min walk with a stroller). Thank you for a wonderful stay. On the flight home, we were already talking about how we want to go back to Rome next year and stay at the same place once more.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aibnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

We arrived a little upset as we had had our passports and travel documents stolen but Sam and Kate couldn't have been more helpful. We were settled in then Sam advised us on where we needed to go to get sorted and even showed us on google maps where we needed to get off the bus. we were given a print out of places to visit and also restaurants they recommend which we tried a number and worth well the visit.
As for the apartment............................wow, very modern and incredibly clean and well kept complex. Laundry services available on site.
I was maybe a little disappointed it wasn't as close to the center of Rome as I would have liked but the comfort and hospitality of Sam and Kate more than made up for the distance and also the complex is right on a bus service and 15-20 minute walk to a metro line so I guess I'm just being a bit picky!
A previous reviewer had said Sam and Kate should be proud of what they created and I fully agree, what a lovely couple.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the accommodation and would happily stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joderbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2011

The owners are fantastic, the staff are amazing and the apartments are heavenly.

Thank you Sam and Kate, you should be really proud of what you have created, and the standard you are setting.

Aaron and Rachael x

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ensoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Perfect new apartment complex for families of 5 or more. Staff is extremely helpful. Owners live on site. Bus 495 stops one block away and metro stop is a short walk from the apartments.

Room Tip: Call early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charliesteelcity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Our stay here was fantastic, both for the actual accommodations and for the information provided to us on seeing the sights in Rome: the latter was completely unexpected and very welcomed.
One of the owners, Sam, greeted us as soon as we arrived and he was incredibly friendly and helpful. I'd like to add that Sam speaks perfect English - although he looks Italian (because he is!), he is also half Australian. He gave us a thorough walk around the apartment to show us where things were and how they worked, offered us an informal "briefing" on Rome, but suggested that we make a dash up the street to the grocery store immediately as it closed in 20 minutes and wouldn't be open the following day as it was Sunday. Very helpful and timely info for a family of five with teenaged boys, thank you Sam! He stayed late to meet us as soon we got back.
His information brief was tremendously useful, including such things as: tips on avoiding long lines, navigating sites efficiently, using the transportation systems, recommended restaurants in various areas of town (incl price range), shopping, things to see outside of Rome etc. etc. I think he would have given as little or as much info as we wished. As well, he provided emergency contact info for reaching him or the staff, a great feeling for us in a big city where we didn't speak the language!
Now, for the apartment itself - it is exactly as shown and described on the website.
We are a family of five, three boys ages 17, 16 and 12, so we took a two bedroom unit. It was clean, modern, and very efficiently set up. There were options on bed configuration and we chose three single beds in the master bedroom - our boys were happy to each have their own bed! The wall of the master bedroom was a huge closet, with room for everything.
Note that the living room had a sofabed we opted not to use so there was a room for early risers and night owls to use and not disturb the rest of us.
Our bedroom had a double bed, and night stands with good lighting.
The kitchen/living room had a table for four (five if needed), the sofa bed, a large flat screen TV, and ample cupboard space. The kitchen was well stocked for dishes, pots and pans, knives and cutlery etc. There was a microwave and a toaster, fridge, oven etc. We easily ate a few dinners in, and every breakfast. The bathroom was clean and well equipped with a shower, toilet and bidet, and a large storage drawer under the sink. The atmosphere of the building itself was beautiful - all apartments look in on a very quaint and European courtyard - complete with iron railings, yellow paint, a fountain (with turtles, my son loved that!), and it sparkled with light in the evenings. What a lovely sight to return to in the evenings with tired feet - and at the end of July/early August, the air conditioning was also welcome!
We had access to laundry facilities and vending machines as well - also a huge bonus with so much laundry created by a family. We were all happy to access wifi at no additional charge as well
The location itself was good - easy access to bus and metro, and very quick into the downtown. Quicker than I expected. We had a rental car, but parked it safely and securely (video surveillance, no extra charge for parking) and never used it once we arrived. All amenities are close by as well - grocery store, local restaurant, some small shops, pharmacy etc.
I am sure I am forgetting things - but I would certainly give Aurelia Vatican Apartments two thumbs up and will recommend it to any of our friends. Thanks Sam!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JohnstonesOnTheMove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Sam and his staff are the best. When one of our members became ill during their trip, they bent over backwards to make sure he was cared for appropriately. The apartments were spotless, and all of our wants/needs were attended to promptly and graciously. I highly recommend these apartments to anyone who plans to experience Rome.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Merle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#467 of 1,271 in Rome
299 reviews
Domidea Hotel
#224 of 1,271 in Rome
665 reviews
Hotel Pulitzer Roma
#102 of 1,271 in Rome
1,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#111 of 1,271 in Rome
1,234 reviews
Adagio Rome Vatican
#14 of 1,169 in Rome
557 reviews
Esquilino
Generator Hostel Rome
Generator Hostel Rome
#9 of 1,169 in Rome
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurelia Vatican Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurelia Vatican Apartments

Address: Via Dei Laterizi 20, 00167 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 1,169 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Price Range: $66 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aurelia Vatican Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently opened in the summer of 2009 following a complete restoration. AURELIA VATICAN APARTMENTS is the perfect choice for your stay in Rome.Conveniently located just 2 km from the Vatican City and only minutes by bus or Metro (Line A “Valle Aurelia”) to famous landmarks such as; St.Peter’s Basilica, Castel Sant’ Angelo, Spanish Steps,Trevi Fountain, Piazza del Popolo, Villa Borghese and Termini (Rome’s central train station).Our luxury apartment offer guests all the comforts of home; including fully equipped kitchens, air conditioning, satellite LCD TV, Wi-Fi / LAN internet connections, stylish bathrooms and modern furnishings. With balconies providing views overlooking the elegant, flower decorated, Roman inspired courtyard.Situated in one of Rome’s central neighborhoods, close to cafés, restaurants, supermarkets, pharmacies, banks, parks and churches, parking facilities are also available to guests. AURELIA VATICAN APARTMENTS boasts a classic Roman architectural façade, stylishly contrasted by modern and sleek interiors. The elegantly designed restoration enables our guests to become immersed in the true Roman experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aurelia Vatican Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurelia Vatican Apartments Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing