We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Expectations but let down”
Review of Relais 6

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Relais 6
Ranked #29 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Expectations but let down”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We picked this hotel after reading all the great reviews on tripadvisor, having done a lot of research. When we arrived, we were greeted by the wooden receptionist who proceeded to give us this rehearsed speech with no personality or friendliness. Indeed he gave us misinformation about restaurants in the area some of which were closed for ferragosta. You would think he should known which ones were closed for the holiday but I got the impression that he did not care. Our room and the interior of the hotel was very clean and very nice as it appeared in the photos but the exterior was unkept with weeds growing up through the concrete and overall the outside areas appearance were shabby. Another disapointment was the breakfast, mostly stuff out of packets and a poor choice overall with the worst scrambled eggs ever and very poor toaster. Overall this hotel is lacking a personal touch.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 260Say
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,842 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,312
    455
    55
    17
    3
See reviews for
478
907
88
107
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The hotel Relais 6 ist the best hotel in Rome, we`ve ever been. Best Service with very fine recommendations for diner. Very, very clean and an very good housekeeping. The top-floor rooms are excellent. The international breakfast is excellent, too. Thanks for all!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tap321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beatrice e Salv... R, Proprietario at Relais 6, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Tap321,
Thanks for reading your review: we understand that your stay in Rome was pleasant. We hope to see you back again at the Relais 6.
A warm greeting.
Beatrice and Salvatore Rizzacasa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed two nights as part of our European honeymoon trip and wished we had more time to spend here. Great customer service! We loved taking wine up to the rooftop deck! There's a short walk from the metro station but very do-able with two suitcases. Great hotel!!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Kimberly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beatrice e Salv... R, Proprietario at Relais 6, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear KimberlyM,
still many wishes for your wedding!
Thank you so much for having appreciated our service and organization of the Relais 6.
We are delighted that you have spent a good holiday in Rome for your honeymoon.
A warm greeting
Beatrice and Salvatore Rizzacasa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I stayed at Relais 6 for one night before flying out of Rome. The place has a lovely feel to it, a real haven after Rome's busy streets. I can't say that it is in a central location but this is part of why it's such a lovely place to stay. I was able to walk here with my luggage from Termini station (average fitness). Staff were very warm and helpful. They organised a private transfer to the airport the next day for me, provided a map and pointed out where I could walk to and get a take away pizza in the evening. I felt safe walking around the neighbourhood in the evening. The window shutters kept out street noise. There was a button on the wall, I think next to the bed which controls the shutters. No one mentioned this, I think I only knew from reading other reviews! The breakfast was great and it was so lovely to be able to dine in such homely surrounds while in Rome. I wish I could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ACTraveller113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beatrice e Salv... R, Proprietario at Relais 6, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear AC Traveller113,
Thank you for your lovely review. Hopefully the next stay in Rome you can stay more than one night.
We are pleased that, for now, you are able to know Relais 6 so for next time you already know you can choose our hotel again for your future return to Rome.
A warm greeting
Beatrice and Salvatore Rizzacasa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights a few weeks ago and loved the place. The staff is wonderful and very accommodating. The only drawback is that it is a couple of stops away from the city centre, but the metro is really reliable and convenient. If you stay here, have a meal at 'Pepe Verde' which is a couple of streets away.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank travelersIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beatrice e Salv... R, Proprietario at Relais 6, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear TravelersIndia,
Thank you so much for publishing this great review.
Our staff is really very nice and we're glad they helped you in your choices and that they were ready to give you good informations.
We hope to see you again soon!
A warm greeting
Beatrice and Salvatore Rizzacasa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandwich, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

My family and I just stayed in Rome for 2 days. We all loved this hotel. Our rooms were very spacious, clean and comfortable. You can't beat the price ( which included breakfast) and a few assorted beverage in the minifridge. The staff was helpful and freindly. I personally loved the area, which was outside downtown, in a lovely residential section of Rome. It was close enough to the metro, but we took cabs. 13 euros to most everything was fine for my family. I would recommend this hotel to any one who doesn't need to walk out the hotel and be in the thick of night life.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank letrab44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beatrice e Salv... R, Proprietario at Relais 6, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear letrab44,
We're glad you've enjoyed the residential area where is located the Relais 6. In fact it seems quite far from town but the area is so well served by public transport and in about 15 minutes max you can comfortably reach the Centre.
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your good review.
A cordial greeting
Beatrice e Salvatore Rizzacasa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
460 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We spent two wonderful days and nights at Hotel Relais 6 in Rome in July and we have just spent another night, actually last night. The hotel is really fabulous and magnificently decorated. The whole staff is very open, very friendly and very Professional. We were absolutely delighted to have the oleasure of discovering this supern hotel. We WILL come back as soon as possible and we highly recommend it to anyone wishing to visit Rome. It is ideally situated in a very nice and quiet district. The best hotel we've ever been to.
Michel and Marie Moulin. Lyon France

Room Tip: All the rooms are superbly decorated and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank moulinmichel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beatrice e Salv... R, Proprietario at Relais 6, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Michel and Marie,
Thank you, thank you ... and thank you again!!!
Have guests at the Relais 6 nice people like you is always an honor and a pleasure.
Really hope to see you again soon in Rome. Would be beautiful!
We’ll remember for our next guests to check our web site, where you can find special offers for short and long stay every day of the year. We hope to have that opportunity to welcome you back again.
A warm greeting
Beatrice and Salvatore Rizzacasa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#31 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#47 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vatican / Borgo
Vatican View
Vatican View
#37 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Trieste
Palm Gallery Hotel
Palm Gallery Hotel
#20 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
Esquilino
SuiteDreams Hotel
SuiteDreams Hotel
#89 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais 6? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais 6

Property: Relais 6
Address: Via Tolmino 6, 00198 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Rome
#13 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#13 Family Hotel in Rome
#14 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#95 Best Value Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais 6 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relais 6 is a refined and exclusive Hotel located in one of elegant area in Rome. The rooms also interconnecting, the suites and apartments with two rooms meet the needs of all customers. An ideal combination for journeys to the Eternal City and business travel. Each room has been designed and equipped with all facilities at the highest levels of quality and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Relais 6 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais 6 Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing