We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel We Have Ever Stayed In....Anywhere!”
Review of Relais 6

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Relais 6
Ranked #35 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 15, 2013

My husband can be quite difficult when we are traveling away from home. This time, he not only didn't miss home, but I literally had to drag him away.

We spent 7 nights at this elegant but small hotel. The staff was outstanding, and they get very high marks for putting up with my hubby......LOL

Those who complain about "location" are probably folks who don't belong here. If you are overweight, I suggest you find another hotel, as there is a brisk walk to the nearest "metro" station (about 5 minutes if you walk quickly).

The young man in the breakfast room was very polite --- he was not "rude" as the other guest was even more rude to sit at a dirty table without waiting. Our experience with him was stellar.

Everyone mentions the excellent Breakfast, so I won't go into detail except to mention that it saved us at least $30 Euros (or more) per day on restaurant meals.

We both loved the "Momart Cafe" for a late lunch, its very economical and "Mahmoud" is a very funny waiter who speaks fluent English.

The hotel's neighborhood is very upscale, with lots of rich people's homes, convents, and embassies located nearby. The Iranian embassy is only 2 blocks away, you can't miss it because it is under 24 hour police guard!

Shopping nearby is outstanding, and prices are much lower than the tourist trap areas.

Staying at the Relais 6 was like being in someone's very opulent home, the beds and pillows are top notch, and the electronic shutters came in handy for keeping out light and extraneous noise. Bathrooms are immaculate.

We gave high marks to the hotel's ownership team, they really know how to make a guest comfortable during their stay. Thanks to Beatrice, Salvatore, Gianni, Fabio, Giacomo and Nams for all your hospitality. My husband has already broadcast his high marks, but I thought it would be nice to add my opinion, as this is my first review on Trip Advisor!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 205. Very high ceilings make the room seem larger than we expected!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lorena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beatrice e Salv... R, Proprietario at Relais 6, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear Lorena, for all of us it was great to get to know you and your husband. Your sympathy is unique! Thank you very much for the nice review and for having enjoyed the facilities and the organization of our small hotel. We hope to see you again in Rome.
A warm and affectionate greeting.
Beatrice e Salvatore Rizzacasa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,892)
There are newer reviews for Relais 6
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

761 - 767 of 1,892 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2013

Fantastic hotel, fantastic service, but location was a bit far, even with the metro. If you don't have. Lot of time in Rome, you might want to stay somewhere else since you can better use your time than for commuting. Other than that, great hotel

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Yayit001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beatrice e Salv... R, Proprietario at Relais 6, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Dear Yayit 001, thanks for taking the time to write a review. All constructive feedback is most welcome.
The breakfast room is not very big but not small. Guests often occupy the tables to wait for the arrival of the rest of the family and this creates a lot of "traffic".
We are glad that your stay in Rome was good.
Kind regards and best wishes for the future.
Beatrice and Salavatore Rizzacasa.
Owners Relais6

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

This was a return visit to the Relais 6. We were there in Nov 2012. This hotel is located in the Northeast corner of Rome in a lovely and quiet neighborhood yet conveniently located close to bus and metro
The breakfast buffet is excellent with table service for freshly prepared coffee cappuccino and espresso
We also recommend the Graziani winebar restaurant on Via Costanza

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ospreycouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beatrice e Salv... R, Proprietario at Relais 6, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear Ospreycouple, how nice to know that you had come back to Relais 6! Thank you so much for writing so many nice words on behalf of our hotel. We are glad that your stay in Rome was good.
Best wishes
Beatrice e Salvatore Rizzacasa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We chose this hotel based on the excellent reviews. Overall very pleased with it and would have been given full marks but for one issue. Our first night we had an awful nights sleep due to the lack f air conditioning which is apparently not switched on by law until later in the season. We didn't know this so kept fiddling with the thermostat in the wall which only seemed to make th room hotter. Opening the window cooled things down but let the road noise in. After an awful night. We complained and staff handled this very well. We moved rooms to a quieter part of t he hotel which helped when leaving the window open. Other than this issue the hotel is excellent. He staff ar very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable and nothing was too much trouble. We were given a free drink to make up for our poor nights sleep. Breakfast was good. The waiter in the bar in the evening is very friendly and the drinks and free snacks were great. The hotel has been renovated to a very high standard and free wifi worked well. We went to Millevoglie restaurant just around the corner one night which was excellent and the best meal of our stay.

All in all really great. If the air con had been on would have been full marks or even if we had been told it wasn't on. They should probably mention this on the website which declares air con.

Would recommend and return however.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank filouthompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beatrice e Salv... R, Proprietario at Relais 6, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to write a nice review on our small hotel. We are very sorry that you have had problems with the room temperature. In this season the temperature of Rome is very strange: it is very cool at night and warm during the day. For this reason, we can not make the switch from the heating of air conditioning.
Although, each room is equipped with a thermostat that allows you to turn off the system completely.
Best wishes
Beatrice e Salvatore Rizzacasa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We too chose on the basis of research and reviews on Trip advisor and were very pleased. The hotel has loads of character ( yet all mod cons), the staff were very helpful and friendly and all had a good understanding of English.
Although not walkable to any attraction, access either via the Metro (5 minutes walk and a 10 minute ride) or bus (2 minutes walk and 10 minutes ride) made it a great location.
The breakfast buffet was good although sometimes you had to wait for a few minutes for a table to be cleared and come free.
The lounge area was comfortable and a nice place to relax - the drinks were not expensive and the free snacks is a nice touch.
Sometimes it's the little things that count - buying metro tickets from the reception, free maps and advice, booking things for you online, all make the holiday better.
Finally, a big thank you to the member of staff who helped us at 2am when our son was very ill!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thewal2ns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beatrice e Salv... R, Proprietario at Relais 6, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear Thewal, thank you for taking time to write your lovely review.
We are glad that you and your family have had a lovely holiday at the Relais 6 and that you have enjoyed during your holiday in Rome.
Best wishes
Beatrice e Salvatore Rizzacasa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

This hotel is easily located outside of the city centre where you can escape the crowds and noise. It takes about 10 mins walk to the local metro or a couple mins to the nearest bus stop, both offering convenient ways to get to all of Rome's attractions. Better still, Reception provided a free city map and highlighted the routes we could take and transport stops - including sale of transport tickets. Before arriving at the hotel we received an email advising us of the best ways to get to the hotel and the services the hotel could offer, which created a pleasant start to the trip. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, especially on reception - it was my birthday and we were offered welcome drinks in the bar for our first night. The bar reception room was busy with guests when we arrived back after a meal out, but the barman offered us the use of a quiet private room, a nice touch! The decor is fabulous, stylish yet simple and so clean and tidy. Our room was a standard double on 3rd floor, but perfectly spacious and comfy with electronic shutters (took us some time to figure out where the switch was!). The room was quite warm at night and we did think some extra pillows would've added to a more comfortable sleep, but this is the smallest fault we could find and I am sure if we had asked they would've been provided. Stunning continental breakfast on offer with lots of choice and great coffee! All in all a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stassy_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beatrice e Salv... R, Proprietario at Relais 6, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear Stassy, thank you so much for the great review. We are pleased that you had a good holiday in Rome. Thanks for appreciating the style, the organization and the staff of our small hotel. Please, next time if you have a problem ask at the reception and you shall receive!
A warm greeting.
Beatrice e Salvatore Rizzacasa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We chose this hotel after looking on trip advisor and are SO glad we did! It deserves every great comment it has received. The hotel is so well looked after, the rooms are beautiful ( the beds and pillows really comfy) it is elegant yet has a friendly feel, and the staff are helpful and service great. We had an inter-connecting room which was ideal for a family of four, and the breakfasts have good choice. The sitting room is a nice place to retire to at the end of the day and had a lovely ambience. We used the metro to get there and found it easy to use, once you've done it once. We cannot fault this hotel and would recommend it to everyone. Thank you for our great stay!

Room Tip: We had two spacious rooms with interconnecting door at the back of the hotel, and had no noise issue...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TinaF681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beatrice e Salv... R, Proprietario at Relais 6, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear Tina, we want to thank you for your kind review and we are pleased that you have had the opportunity to visit our hotel. Thanks again for taking the time to write a nice review and you are always welcome at the Relais 6.
A lot of greetings also from all our staff.
Beatrice e Salvatore Rizzacasa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Suite Dreams
Suite Dreams
#101 of 1,267 in Rome
1,485 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Vatican View
Vatican View
#38 of 1,267 in Rome
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#36 of 1,267 in Rome
1,354 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Parioli
Suite Oriani
Suite Oriani
#10 of 1,267 in Rome
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais 6? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais 6

Address: Via Tolmino 6, 00198 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Rome
#13 Family Hotel in Rome
#13 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#19 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#49 Best Value Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $97 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais 6 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relais 6 is a refined and exclusive Hotel located in one of elegant area in Rome. The rooms also interconnecting, the suites and apartments with two rooms meet the needs of all customers. An ideal combination for journeys to the Eternal City and business travel. Each room has been designed and equipped with all facilities at the highest levels of quality and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Relais 6 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais 6 Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing