We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel with friendy staff, good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Relais 6

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Relais 6
Ranked #31 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel with friendy staff, good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

When looking for a hotel in Rome we wanted some thing to meet our budget and looked clean and comfortable. We were impressed with the reviews on trip advisor and the website so booked Relais 6, we were not disappointed.

The Hotel is tastefully decorated and has a very comfortable lounge / waiting area. There is a also a good sized lift to all floors.

When we arrived we were upraded to a senior room at no extra charge, which was spacious and tastefully decorated. The bed was massive although quite firm, and there was a large wardrobe with draws and a safe. The windows to the bedroom had electric shutters activated by the bedside, which shut out 95% of all the light in the morning and keep the outside noise to a minimum. The bathroom was a good size and reasonably well equipped with a bidet.

Staff at the Relais 6 were always on call and extra friendly, especially when giving advice on directions and public transport.

Breakfast is served from 7.00am till 10.00am and consists of a buffet style, with cereals, fruits, bread and scrambled eggs. The member of staff working the breakfast area was very helpful and provided us with coffees and those much needed espressos!

Checking in and out was easy, and we were able to leave our key at the front desk whilst we visited the city.

Transport to the city centre:

When we arrived at the main termini we took the green Tram-bus number 90, this does not depart directly from the front of the bus station but is situated a little further forward and to the right (an information desk nearby can help). The bus ride to the main road by the hotel took about 10 minutes, although I was glad that I had looked up the hotels location on street view so we knew when to get off.

We didn't use the metro at all during our stay and instead used the bus stop which is a 3 minute walk around the corner. Bus number 60 took us from the hotel to the Altare della Patria (or the typewriter as it is affectionatly know) which is based in the centre of the city and not hard to miss. The same bus can be taken back to the hotel from the same spot with a journey time of around 10-15 mins and several came within 5 mins of eachother, they run till midnight according to the timetables.

We had also purchased ourselves a ROMA pass (30 euro) which gives you acces to public transport for 3 days from activation and access to two public attractions (excluding the Vatican museums). One thing to note is that in Italian public transport you personally need to get your ticket stamped by the small yellow boxes on the buses and the red/green ones on train platforms. We found that the Roma passes did not work in these machines so we kept them to hand just in case we we asked - which we never were!

Overall for us the Relais 6 is the perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MandKBeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beatrice e Salv... R, Proprietario at Relais 6, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
MandKBeans dear, thank you so much for taking your time to write a nice review on behalf of Relais 6. We are glad that you had a good stay at our hotel.
Best wishes
Beatrice & Salvatore Rizzacasa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,829 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,301
    453
    55
    17
    3
See reviews for
475
899
88
107
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Just back from 4 days in Rome and stayed at the Relais 6. They say it is a little out of town but there is a new Metro station just 5 minutes down the road so it is really easy to get into the centre.
the Hotel staff were very helpful and friendly - we had the most amazing room on 4th floor and couldn't beleive we had our own roof garden!
I would definitely go back to Relais 6 - it was really reasonable and just loved Rome

Please book this hotel you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: We had Room 401 - absolutely beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Serena H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beatrice e Salv... R, Proprietario at Relais 6, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Serena, we want to thank you for your kind comments and we are pleased that you have had the opportunity to visit our hotel. Thanks again for taking the time to write a nice review and you are always welcome at Relais 6. Best regards.
Beatrice & Salvatore Rizzacasa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

A beautiful hotel with wonderful and helpful staff. A great start each morning with the delicious breakfast buffet. Great tips from the front desk on where to go and how to get there, plus the public transportation was within a 5-10 min. walk from the hotel. We bought a 7 day pass for all the public transportation and found that it paid for itself in just 3 days as it was only 24 Euros. Our room was beautiful and overlooked the patio where we could hear doves cooing each morning. The bathroom amenities were more than adequate, including shampoo, soap, hair net, qtips, make-up wipes, sewing kit, and a hair dryer with a nice reversible mirror. We also enjoyed the first night's free access to the mini bar in our room. Also, the room and bathroom were very clean with updated linens and oversized bath towels. We will definitely recommend Relais 6 to all our family and friends!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neta T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beatrice e Salv... R, Proprietario at Relais 6, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Neta, thanks for the great review and thank you for choosing our little hotel and have enjoyed our organization. We are glad that your stay was enjoyable.
Best wishes
Salvatore & Beatrice Rizzacasa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Relais 6 has wonderfully appointed rooms and a very helpful staff. The complimentary beverages provided in the mini bar at the beginning of your stay is just one example of their hospitality. The breakfast buffet is available at convenient times for both early and late risers. The gentlemen at the front desk are willing to assist you during your stay with directions, maps and they even sell metro passes (single ride tickets & all day passes).

Located in a residential neighborhood outside of the hustle and bustle of the city center, Relais 6 allows you to see the real city of Rome -- mothers taking their kids to school, people going to the market, families taking their dogs to the dog park down the street. Relais 6 is close to the bus stop and "relatively" close to the Metro, so the major sites of Rome are not far away.

Relais 6 has its own little idiosyncrasies - (e.g., no facial tissues/kleenex available although they provide a "vanity set" with cotton swabs, emery board, cotton squares). The hotel has free wi-fi, but remember to pick up your password from the front desk every 24 hours. But these are not deal breakers.

Relais 6 would be a perfect hotel if it had its own restaurant or worked with a local eatery to offer snacks and light meals for guests from 3pm to 11pm. Many of the local restaurants don't open for dinner until 7pm or 8pm. There is a pretty decent restaurant around the corner at the Hotel Fenix, but its closed on the weekends during low season.

Overall, Relais 6 delivers on its promise to give guests the best it has to offer with beautiful rooms, great service and value for your money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sasheen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beatrice e Salv... R, Proprietario at Relais 6, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for having chosen our hotel for your recent stay in Rome. On behalf of all our collegues, we wonted to thank you very much for your kind words and for the time taken to share your experience. Our guests satisfaction in our day to day top priority you will always be become at Relais 6. Warm regards.
Beatrice & Salvatore Rizzacasa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed at Relais 6 for two days and the hotel saved our budget, with a beautiful and comfortable room. The location was wisely great in city center, could walk some minutes for the Church, Square and famous restaurant nearby. The breakfast was excellent with good choices for food and Italian food.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BenzJojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beatrice e Salv... R, Proprietario at Relais 6, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
BenzJojo dear, thank you for the nice review and thank you enjoyed our hotel and our services. We are glad that you had a pleasant stay in Rome.
Best wishes
Salvatore & Beatrice Rizzacasa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

We wanted to stay in a decent budget hotel in a good location for sightseeing. This hotel fitted these criteria perfectly and exceeded our expectations. The hotel is beautiful, decorated with antiques and all sorts of interesting artefacts. The rooms are clean, bathrooms decent with hot water whenever we needed it. Breakfast was brilliant with a variety of high quality foods - fresh coffee made to order, croissants, pastries, fresh fruits, scrambled eggs, granola, juice... We didn't go hungry! The location is ideal for sightseeing, it is a 10 minute walk to the S.Agnese/Annabaliano metro station which is on the B line connecting to central Rome within 3-5 stops. A very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank banana12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beatrice e Salv... R, Proprietario at Relais 6, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Banana, thanks for taking the time to write your lovely review on behalf of Relais 6. We are glad that you found in our hotel all comfortable facilities to spend your stay in Rome.
Best wishes.
Salvatore & Beatrice Rizzacasa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enterprise, Alabama
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

This place is amazing! The staff are helpful and friendly, the breakfast was great and the rooms were real good as well. The hotel has a decent amount of antiques in hotel, some are in the rooms, some are in the lobby. I personally like antiques so it was nice to see them and see them still being used. I really enjoyed the staff! They were helpful when it came to any question we had. The even offered us an umbrella to use during one of our trips as it was raining outside.
The ONLY reason I did not give it 5 stars was due to the location. Its east of the main train station so you're away from all of the touristy things. You can take the metro and get close to the hotel, but we didn't know that at the time as that section of the metro is newer. I can't remember 100% the name of the stop you want, but it's on the Blue line going east. The blue line splits into two lines, so ensure you get on the one going towards the "Conon" or something like that. It's the only stop that starts with a "C". Then you'll want to get off on the exit with the "S and two "A"s. Sorry, only way I know how to explain it. From that metro stop the hotel is about a 5 minute walk.. PERFECT!
Other then that the place was great!
Defiantly stay there again if we head back to Rome!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noakesd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beatrice e Salv... R, Proprietario at Relais 6, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Guests, we want to thank you for your kind review and we are pleased that you have had the opportunity to visit our hotel. Thanks again for taking the time to write a nice review and you are always welcome at Relais 6. Best regards.
Beatrice & Salvatore Rizzacasa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#28 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,212 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#48 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vatican / Borgo
Vatican View
Vatican View
#34 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Trieste
Palm Gallery Hotel
Palm Gallery Hotel
#22 of 1,291 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
Esquilino
SuiteDreams Hotel
SuiteDreams Hotel
#77 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais 6? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais 6

Property: Relais 6
Address: Via Tolmino 6, 00198 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Rome
#13 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#13 Family Hotel in Rome
#16 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#97 Best Value Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais 6 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relais 6 is a refined and exclusive Hotel located in one of elegant area in Rome. The rooms also interconnecting, the suites and apartments with two rooms meet the needs of all customers. An ideal combination for journeys to the Eternal City and business travel. Each room has been designed and equipped with all facilities at the highest levels of quality and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Relais 6 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais 6 Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing