We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis in the City Center”
Review of UNA Hotel Roma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
UNA Hotel Roma
Ranked #99 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 23, 2011

The hotel is an excellent option for anyone who visits Rome (leisure or business). It is very well located, near the main train station (one block), rooms are very comfortable and the breakfast is varied and with great quality, although the breakfast service is a little bit slow. I would definitely suggest anyone who want a good hotel in the center of Rome to stay at this hotel and surely will come back. just one remark: the overnight garage is a little bit expensive as all the others in the region.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CSFilho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,164)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,325 - 1,331 of 3,164 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2011

Very nice. Clean and modern rooms. Good location near Termini train station.
Helpfull staff. Breakfast was nice too.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ama_Israel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2011

Stayed 3 nights in the hotel. Got a free upgrade to a superior room with terrace- unfortunately it was too cold to go out! Room and toilet were adequate but no kettle. Staff busniess-like in their interactions. Do note that they strictly enforce check-out at 12noon- they will disable the room key cards at precisely that time! So inform early if you want a later check-out. The best thing about the hotel is there are about 5 halal eateries in the immediate surrounding area. I would advise to pack the food to go though, cos like in many countries, areas near the main train stations tend to be pretty dodgy especially at night.

Room Tip: ask for a higher floor to reduce noise from tram and trains
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cakes71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2011

Lets start by the area; dodgy and dangerous to say the least. After three days my wife and I were lucky to be alive. Crooks and thugs in every inch around the hotel and Termini station after 20:00. Average (even though clean; I give them that) reception and staff that gave the impression that couldn't care less about the customer or about anything that was going on around them. The welcome was pretty average but the first impressions from the room were very good: god size, very clean, wooden floor, immaculate bathroom but the room was SOOOO COLD that not even a polar bear could sleep there. The aircon was fixed at 21 degrees in November! Yes, in November..I am not joking. We of course complained only for the non-caring staff to say that this is a good temperature and we shouldn't feel cold. From when is the staff's job to judge whether a customer rightly feels cold or hot or whatever? Their job is to help resolving problems and nothing else. It is obvious that management absolutely forgot to train their staff; needless to say that management was non-existent even when I asked to speak to them. I was told off (!) by the receptionist as unreasonable! These things are beyond this world and shouldn't even be happening to 2* hotels. I wonder how they got their 4* rating and thsi will remain a mystery to me! I noticed that the hotel had security at the entrance; why??? Nobody would ever go in. Why go sleep in the hotel when its nicer and warmer outside even in November month????? Am I the unreasonable here???? Seriously if you have respect for yourself find somewhere else to stay in Rome.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Klidimos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UNAHOTELROMA, VICE DIRETTORE at UNA Hotel Roma, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2012

Dear Mr.Klidimos

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to share your experience with other travellers on tripadvisor.
Our Hotel is centrally located near the Termini Station, very convenient for business and leisure travellers.
As every city’s railway station area may not be the nicest one, and to guarantee the safety of our guest, a security person has been enrolled even though we did not have any unpleasant episode happening so far

We are very sorry for the inconvenience occurred with your room temperature .
I have communicated your most unfortunate situation with the relevant department heads who are investigating all the issues raised, and these will be addressed with their teams as a matter of priority.
UNA Hotels & Resort gives customer care top priority and we do regret for not accomplishing our goal to make your stay as pleasant as you exepected, and we inteded it to be.
We also hope to have the occasion to welcome you again as our guest and let you enjoy your stay at Una hotel Roma.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Overall I have to say this hotel was comfortable and clean. The breakfast was simple but excellent in terms of choice and quality of produce. Room service was expensive and a little bland.

As a guide you can walk to most of the major historical attractions in under 20 - 30 minutes. The metro is very close (2 minutes) and this will get you to the Vatican in
under 10 minutes...(The Vatican being the furthest historical site away from this hotel).

The internet access was very expensive but they did offer full day or logon/logoff plans. 60eu for 3 full days or 18eu for 6 hours on demand.

The staff were mostly helpful but definitely only did as much as they had too. We lost our bag at the airport (we don't speak Italian) and there was no help contacting the airport for us. We asked reception but really ended up having to do it our selves as we could tell it wasn't something the staff wanted to do or made us feel comfortable that they would handle it well for us.

If you're new to Italy, don't expect to get any movie channels on the TV either. Italian hotels just don't seem to think there's a market for it. This hotel is no exception...but then, Rome is too beautiful to be stuck in a hotel room watching movies I quess...unless you're a kid!

There's no gym and this part of the city doesn't really lend itself to running routes either, so if you're an exercise freak, probably look elsewhere I think.

We did have a good experience when we bought some expensive wine at the hotel. The waiter arranged a small lunch for us which we didn't have to pay for. I nice touch but probably due to the price of the wine.

There's no iron or coffee facilities in the room either. There was also no hair conditioner either. The room we had was also very small. Difficult to navigate with 2 bags as the bed took up most of the available space.

All in all I think most people would be comfortable at this hotel...but it's unlikely to leave an indelible memory if you know what I mean.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Don S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2011

The hotel is very close to Roma Termini if you know the way. If you are coming to town by bus, you will need to walk much longer because the bus stop on the other side of the train station. The room is clean and of moderate size. At first they try to give me a room on the ground floor and I request a higher level one, which end up is a good experience. I don't know why hotel keep giving the worst room to customer first. I got a very bad experience in another hotel not refusing a room at low level. The breakfast is very good. Only bad is the bathroom shower. There is just a curtain and nothing define the shower area. So water is spilling everywhere. There is no English TV channel. Internet is at a very high cost. You can go to some internet places on the nearby sheet. Only 1.5 euro 30 minutes. There are McDonald everywhere but the free WIFI is not available for tourist because it requires you to register a local phone #.

Room Tip: Go for high level room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WWWilliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the UNA Hotel Roma for two nights. We selected this hotel based on reviews on Trip Advisor. The hotel is new and modern with lots of glass, chrome, and high tech features. Our room was small, but very efficient with a large bathroom, a good bed and adequate storage space, room safe, etc. The room and all of the public areas were very clean. While it is located on a busy street, the room was very quiet. Breakfast was included in the price. Breakfast is served in a large, attractive dining room and features an attractive bountiful breakfast buffet with a good selection of hot and cold items. The quality of the food was only marginal.

One of the advantages for us was the helpful front desk staff who were always willing to make recommendations, dinner reservations, provide maps, etc. The hotel is located only a short block from Termini station which is Rome's main train station and also a hub for all local public transportation. It has a large variety of shops, atm, and other tourist services. We read several comments about the area around Termini being unsafe, but we never felt uncomfortable there. The area is home to a large number of immigrants from India, North Africa, and a mix of others. The area is not a slum, but not very attractive. We walked to some very good local restaurants at night and never had a problem on the busy streets.

Compared with other Rome hotels we considered, I think the UNA Hotel Roma is an excellent choice. If it was located in a more attractive neighborhood, it would be a superior hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Packer_Backer_too
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#34 of 1,272 in Rome
1,414 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#19 of 1,272 in Rome
4,364 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#51 of 1,272 in Rome
2,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#78 of 1,272 in Rome
2,724 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,272 in Rome
7,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to UNA Hotel Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about UNA Hotel Roma

Address: Via Giovanni Amendola 57, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: $143 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — UNA Hotel Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the historic centre of Rome, close to the train station, the new UNA Hotel Roma is characterized by a strong architectural design throughout its 6 floors. It features 197 rooms, 5 meeting rooms, restaurant and bar. Private garage.The hotel is: a few steps from the Opera Theatre, Santa Maria Maggiore Church .15 Min on foot, 5 min ( 2 stops) by metro, from the Coliseum / Fori imperiali 20 min on foot from Trevi Fountain, Quirinale, Altare della Patria 30 min on foot from Piazza di Spagna, Panteon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your UNA Hotel Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing