We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome b&b a skip & a jump to everything!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gli Scipioni Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #25 of 3,642 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome b&b a skip & a jump to everything!!”
Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

Loved this b&b! Location Location Location spotlessly clean and fantastic hosting in wonderfull Prati suburb. We'll be coming back for our third time hopefully again in spring! Close to some very Iconic tourist sites like VATICAN CITY, CASTLE SANT'ANGELO, GIANICOLO GARDENS where an amazing view of Rome can be admired..the many wonderful bridges overlooking the Tiber River which truely comes alive with free activities concerts & the like throughout summer & it's ancient roman saint peters cobble stones that lay the streets which I'd advice wearing comfy shoes to explore the city, all took our breath away.
We were here in Spring for the begining of our trip around Italy & we quickly made up our mind that we would rebook to stay in Summer at Gli Scipioni for our return trip home to Australia, by then our room aircon was of great use.
That quaint little old elevator which fitted both of our 2 large luggage & 2 carry on luggage snuggly took us to our accom floor.
The b&b has a refreshing clean feel to it, smartly modern bathrooms & tastefully ikea decked out bedrooms..the entrance looks further on to the kitchen with an L shaped corridor which leads to all 3 rooms we stayed both in the orange and middle room.
Everything is truely a skip & a jump to all you could possibly want & need, restaurants & cafes just downstairs, although if u are a foodie like us & want to try some authentic Roman dishes go for a little more expensive & upmarket restaurants with specialities like "carciofi/jewish artichokes" or "Orata in acqua Pazza/Rainbow Trout steamed in seawater with thin poatatoes" & antipasto "olive ascolana" ask ur host she'll know a 5min. walk away as the name of the place where we went near there escapes me, there's a chemist downstairs, supermarket not far if u want something different from the 24/7 fully stocked fridge of cold meats eggs jams fresh fruit bread juices milk sweets real italian coffe that we made every morning was just like home away from home & more, you could bruch lunch and breakfast on all day if u really wanted..never stayed anywhere where breakfast wasn't someone elses schedule if you know what i mean, which is very relaxing to eat when suits you instead.
Public transport is another big plus Ottaviano metro station walking distance, but a lot is on offer by just walking.
However what was truly exceptional about this b&b was the people that work there which go above & behond like I've never quiet experienced staying at a b&b before, made our stay just AWESOMELY FANTASTIC TRUELY RELAXING EXPERIENCE. They met with us at check in, to which we were 4 hrs late, and considering we weren't sure if we still had the room due to our late arrival from the airport we were stressing out a bit, but once we got there & sorted our mobile we were able to contact them, they'd been trying to reach us too, they came back out to meet us at the b&b as they don't stay on premises, they were so very understanding and unbelievably nice about it all just like our friend who'd stayed there had told us.
We were shown the apartment, keys, our room & access to free wifi free local calls included in the price which was a bonus we didn't know when booked it just fantastic & great local knowledge like the Vatican Museums are free entry first Sunday of the month worth the visit but line up early, or where the closest nicest "Bar" is, italian style coffe out at what they call standing up leaning at the Bar sipping the espresso not before drinking a glass of mineral or tap water, something most italians do all day, which my partner not been italian background did & loved, or a reliable taxi company which we used for our airport transfer, the list goes on. We asked in advance if we could have the latest check out possible which understandably, also a 5 star hotel practise, were only able to confirm on the day of our check out, it worked out well for us with enough time to organise pick up of our car & have even a little rest before starting our big road adventure across Italy. The only caprice if u can call it that, would be not having a small dishwasher only because my partner is lazy with the dishes even at home, but having said that the cleaner was excellent and I made sure our dishes were always done which made me feel more at home & by the end of our stay we didn't want to leave the place, we were so relaxed & enjoying our stay that we wished we could've delayed our departure a few more days, but even so they were booked up. What more can one say about it accept that nothing is 100% perfect but Gli Scipioni came pretty close to it! Try it out for its cleanliness, fantastic above & behond hospitality, location to everything & really great value for money!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dulcisinfundo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    479
    36
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
130
259
18
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We booked the Gli Scipioni for 5 nights in January 2014 after my parents stayed here about a year before and had an excellent stay. We did too! The bedroom & bathroom has everything you might need (including a selection of English or Italian DVDs which was handy when we had a lazy night in during our stay, following lots of walking!) and the kitchen was modern and well stocked with food. Very good way to start the day - big breakfast and nice coffee. The bed was also comfortable and the room was warm without being stuffy.

Antonella was so helpful and we felt that if there had been any issues we could have easily contacted her for assistance. She met us on the first night to show us around the apartment and suggested places to visit/restaurants etc which was very useful, plus it was great to meet her after corresponding by email - much more personal than other private places we have stayed in in other cities.

The location is ideal for the Vatican - you can see it from the main street (which Gli Scipioni is just off) and there is a tram terminus at one end of the main street and a Metro at the other. The area also has shops, restaurants and an internet café so everything you might need is nearby. That said, it is not a noisy area - the occasional police siren was all we heard. We will certainly be booking again!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eliza B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We stayed at Gli Scipioni 4 days in January and we couldn't have made a better choice!
Our room (the green one) was spotless and provided with everything you might need for: bathrobes, sleepers, fridge, DVD players with wide selection of films. The kitchen is always packed with food you can access any time.
Antonella was always available, very polite and extremely helpful.
We will definitely recommend this place to all our friends.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anto40enne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Stayed at Sli Scipioni B&B from 12/23/13 to 12/27/12. From Antonella's rapid response to my first frantic e-mail inquiry attempting to make last minute Christmas reservations in Rome for two rooms until the day we departed Antonella was amazing. Although Antonella could accommodate all of us the first four nights she generously offered to obtain reservations at one of her friend's B & B for our last two nights. Gli Scipioni B &B was immaculate, the rooms exceptionally spacious and an endless selection of breakfast items, actually anytime snack items was so welcome. The espresso machine made wonderful cappuccinos. The fridge was well stocked with different types of cheese, salami, ham, eggs, bread, crackers, cakes, bananas, oranges, beverages. When we returned on Christmas Eve we were delighted to find bottles of prosecco and pantone cakes so we could celebrate. How incredibly thoughtful!! As we were getting ready to check out we had an emergency situation that required us to change the remainder of our itinerary. Initially we intended to leave our luggage at Gli Scipioni B &B following a tour at the Vatican and then move on to the new B & B. When Antonella learned of our emergency she immediately offered to assist us not only arranging a taxi to take us to the B & B for our last evening but calling the B & B host advising him that we needed to check in early. When we couldn't reach the airlines on our mobile phone she called the airlines on her phone so we could change our reservation. When the taxi did not arrive as scheduled, Antonella repeatedly called them and then went into the street to flag down a new taxi. She then followed the taxi to the new B & B to assist us with our luggage and the check in process. When our taxi finally reached the new B&B after becoming lost several times Antonella scolded the taxi driver and demanded he refund several euros to me because it was his own fault that he got lost. I don't know what we would have done without Antonella's assistance. For all Antonella did for us, I told her she was now Saint Antonella, the patron saint of hapless travelers. After settling into the new B & B Antonella called us to see if we needed anything and even after returning home she emailed us to see if we were ok. I can't praise Antonella enough for everything she did for us. Thank you, thank you!!

Room Tip: All rooms spacious, quiet and immaculately clean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Stayed at this lovely B&B from 27 - 30 Dec. It is clean, cosy and comfortable, and has a relatively big room for Europe. The kitchen is always well-stocked with ham, cheese, butter, milk, biscuits, bread and beverages including tea, coffee and juices, making sure the travellers don't go hungry.

It is located along a quiet stretch which is great for resting especially after a tiring flight and a long day of sightseeing. The location is fantastic as it is takes less than 10 minutes to walk to Vatican and less than 5 minutes to the closest metro station. It is also just 5 or 6 metro stops away from Roma Termini train station, which is convenient for those who are travelling to other cities. Apart from that, there are also many cafes close by so you never have to worry about your meals.

Lastly, I just wanted to say Antonella and her team is great! The team's wonderful level of customer service started from our email enquiry about the accommodation all the way till after we checked out! They arranged the airport transfer for us and was very helpful and catered to our last minute request to book transport on our check-out day. During our stay, Antonella was very hospitable and made sure everything was ok for us. A day after we checked out, she even made the effort to email us just to make sure we reached our next destination safely!

Overall a pleasant stay and lovely experience!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 4, 2014

I am a lone mature female traveller, I stayed at this b&b during Xmas and could not fault it in anyway whatsoever. From booking right the way through to post departure the customer service levels were outstanding. The b&b's location is perfect just around the corner from the Vatican and on a quiet side street in a lively area full of restaurants, shops and cafes.
My room was spacious and thoroughly cleaned every day with every single facility (including a hairdryer).
I highly highly recommend this b&b, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Try Vito's restaurant across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RACHEL A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisville, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We are a family of four and have visited this amazingly wonderful B & B while visiting Rome, Italy this past October. We cannot say enough wonderful things from staying there and Antonella and her amazing staff are just that: amazing! The B & B are in the best location if you want to visit the Vatican, only minutes away by foot. Their warmth, hospitality and genuine caring for people truly shows from the yummy snacks left in the kitchen to enjoy 24/7 to the little post-it notes left on our door inquiring how our day was or if we needed anything. We stayed in the family unit (bright orange room) and felt that we had plenty of room amongst us! The beds were super comfy and the room was cleaned to perfection! We will definitely stay again our next time thru Rome! Love and miss you Antonella xxoo

Room Tip: Be sure to wear good padded walking shoes while in Rome, as many of the streets are cobble-stoned!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jabo058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Gli Artisti Bed & Breakfast
Campanella3
#8 of 3,642 in Rome
369 reviews
Prati
QuodLibet
QuodLibet
#4 of 3,642 in Rome
1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
La Cupola del Vaticano
La Cupola del Vaticano
#34 of 3,642 in Rome
293 reviews
Star of Rome
#32 of 3,642 in Rome
406 reviews
Prati
A View of Rome
A View of Rome
#20 of 3,642 in Rome
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gli Scipioni Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gli Scipioni Bed & Breakfast

Property: Gli Scipioni Bed & Breakfast
Address: Via Degli Scipioni 53 | Apartment 11 - 3rd floor, 00192 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 3,642 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Gli Scipioni Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed & Breakfast Gli Scipioni Hotel Rome
Bed And Breakfast Gli Scipioni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing