We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gli Scipioni Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #19 of 3,709 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Gli Scipioni B&B is such an amazing find in Rome, not your usual B&B which we found to be a huge positive. It is more of an 'independent' stay, so rather than having your host set a strict time for breakfast there is a fully stocked pantry and fridge of simple but tasty food for you to fix yourself something whenever you like, and of course is not just limited to breakfast. Excellent location right around the corner from the metro, and nearby the Vatican. Rooms are clean and very spacious for Rome, you even get your own fridge in the room!, and are well appointed and pretty stylish. One thing to note on finding the place when you first arrive, there is another B&B in the same building with a very similar name (which we thought when arriving and trying to buzz the floor was the same place), so make sure you use the buzzer panel to the left of the entry doors for the building as you are looking at them.
David the owner was very helpful in his emails to reserve and remind us of our stay, and very accommodating during. Thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Damienm1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (529)
There are newer reviews for Gli Scipioni Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

132 - 138 of 529 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2013

What a fantastic place! Everything you could possibly need and then some more. Great location, minutes walk to the Vatican, great restaurants right at the doorstep, metro station right up the street....what more could you want. We even walked right into the heart of Rome and its wonderful sights!
Clean and tidy, plenty of options in the fridge and cupboard for breakfast, vino in the room. Absolutely amazing value fir money.
If ever I return to Rome this will be my first call!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013



Location: The apartment is in the best location you could ask for. Everything was within walking distance and if you do need the metro it is literally around the corner.

The apartment: It's on the 3rd floor of an apartment building (with lift). Once you go up, you go through the front door and there is a kitchen which is jam packed full of food and drinks. There are 9 different cereals to chose from as well as bread, eggs, bacon, fruit etc. You help yourself whenever you want...it's not a served breakfast which was perfect for us as we could just eat whenever. Just past the kitchen are the 3 rooms each with a queen size bed, a sofa, tv, and it's own private bathroom. The room has all the little bits and pieces you could ever need (including vino!!). There are only 3 rooms in the b&b and the owner doesn't live there but he's just around the corner if you need him and he's always dropping in to top up the fridge and welcome new guests in. The cleaner Carlos comes in everyday to refresh the rooms.

The owner: David was wonderful. Spoke very good English (he's from England so he'd want to speak good English ;) ). He sat down with us for about an hour with a map and circled all the must see & do's in Rome. He even booked a driver for us for our early morning departure.

Thanks David for a wonderful stay. We will definitely be back next time we are in Rome and will recommend the b&b to our friends.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheecy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

David responsed to my email very quickly and the B&B is lovely and cozy. The location is perfect for us to visit Vantican museum and St Peter square. And we can take the metro (about one minute walk) to most of the tourist places we want to go in Rome.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alicelin07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

I stayed here for 6 nights after travelling for 10days in venice and florence..and this is the best bnb I've ever stayed.

David is so hospitable and never fails to drop an email (if he doesnt see us) to
check on us everyday.
The home is stocked with so much food that it can probably last a week! And the best part is, you are free to eat and consume any food you can find, any time anywhere.

The location is also fantastic, being near to the metro and 10mins walk to vatican.

I stayed with a 9month old baby boy and he really likes the place.crawling from room to kitchen and back.

PLan your trip and book this place as soon as possible, as david is running on almost 100% occupancy

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gnoskcoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLISCIPIONIBB, Owner at Gli Scipioni Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

10 minutes walk to the Vatican???
Did you take the long way there it's only 150 metres away!
Hey Alice & Bin,
Thanks for the great review.
Regards to all in Houston Texas from Rome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Gli Scipione was the best. It's in an excellent position - close to the Vatican and close to the metro.
the rooms are comfortable and clean but you also get so many treats - wine, bottled water, dvd collection, great selection of snacks.
And then there's the kitchen which is so full of food you won't ever go hungry: fruit, eggs, cheese, sliced meats, bread, cakes, croissants, breakfast cakes ... and if you do have to eat out there are two fantastic restaurants right downstairs.
You could have an amazing holiday and not walk further than the 200 metres to the Vatican!
Don't stay anywhere else I n Rome.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penelope B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

A wonderful place to stay- fantastic host (thank you David!), a great location (just around the corner from the Vatican and the Metro, in an area with lots of good places to eat), and a beautiful room in the world's greatest city. I definitely will be returning!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McGlade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Vatican / Borgo
Vatican View
Vatican View
#38 of 1,267 in Rome
745 reviews
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,267 in Rome
735 reviews
Prati
Tango Hotel
Tango Hotel
#50 of 1,267 in Rome
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
Gli Artisti Bed & Breakfast
Prati
QuodLibet
QuodLibet
#4 of 3,709 in Rome
1,129 reviews
Prati
A View of Rome
A View of Rome
#20 of 3,709 in Rome
883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gli Scipioni Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gli Scipioni Bed & Breakfast

Address: Via Degli Scipioni 53 | Apartment 11 - 3rd floor, 00192 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 3,709 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: $113 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Gli Scipioni Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed And Breakfast Gli Scipioni
Bed & Breakfast Gli Scipioni Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing