We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything You Need”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gli Scipioni Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #22 of 3,735 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Everyone here has said it, David has thought of everything to make your stay comfortable. There is so much food you could have a midnight snack every night!! The rooms are so comfortable and David a great meet and greeter. He recommended the restaurant over the road which saved us a load, also provided us with a map (ok, the only complaint... Not a great map :) ... Sorry David;).) can we have one with pictures the right way round :)? Would definitely come back and as the other reviewer said, you really must stay here.
Thank you David xxxx

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLISCIPIONIBB, Owner at Gli Scipioni Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Hey Lisa,
Thank you for the fantastic review!
I'm very happy to hear you guys had a great time in Rome at our b&b.
If memory serves me correctly I do remember you mentioning that awful map to me, it was a map you picked up from somewhere else and not one of our's. All our maps are from the local Rome Commune and are detailed official maps that show the correct locations of all the attractions in Rome which do not have photographs on them.
Sorry definitely not the map we supply to our guests!
Saluti
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (537)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

176 - 182 of 537 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2012

My husband and I had a four night stay here in September and loved it. From the first email enquiry regarding availability right through to our departure, David (owner) was on board and so helpful.

All the other reviewers have been absolutely correct - rooms are lovely, clean and spacious. Kitchen is overstocked with nibbles and easy to eat packaged items. It is in a safe area, with everything within walking distance. There is even a laundromat on the corner so getting a bag wash done was so simple.

David can not do enough for you - he describes himself as "your uncle in Rome" - and that sums up how comfortable you feel with him. He gives a very personal service and genuinely seems to enjoy his role. We had a problem with the delivery of some football tickets we had pre-purchased and David went out of his way to help us.

[Just as a side note - if you are catching a taxi from the main railway station (Termini) to the B&B then expect to pay around the 15euro. Our trip to the B&B was 38euro - return was 12euro. This has nothing to do with the B&B and happens everywhere in the world - but thought it might be helpful for other travellers to know.]

If anyone out there is contemplating going to Rome then I would have to tell them they are mad if they don't stay here!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DomC159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

My family and I (family of 6) stayed at Gli scipioni this September for the first leg of our vacation, i chose this b&b because of all the reviews i've read here in tripadvisor and i want to pay it forward and give a stellar review for those who are looking for an excellent place to stay in in Rome. David is such a gracious host, we personally welcomed us to his B&B and gave us a tour of the place. The rooms (we booked 2 rooms) we're beautifully furnished with big comfortable beds, TV, Dvd player, in-room safe, air conditioning, ample room for luggage and hanging clothes. The bathroom is en suite and beautiful as well. Everything was clean and organized, towels we're provided, as well as toiletries and slippers. There's even a stack of dvds to choose from to cap off the day and hunker down to a good movie. The kitchen is well stocked with water, juice, cookies, etc, there are even ice cream pops in the freezer.

Location: Ah the location! It was perfectly located just a few blocks from the vatican. There's a metro station right around the corner and buses are also nearby. There gelaterias and restaurants just outside the b&b as well.

I have absolutely no regrets whatsoever with choosing David's b&b as our first base for our Europe family vacation. All other places we stayed in simply couldn't compare to Gli Scipioni B&B.

Thank you sooo much David! =)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katherine425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed for five nights early October 2012.
The Gli Scipioni is an outstanding B&B and David Reid is a perfect, caring host.
He made sure we were happy , stocks up food enough for an army unit, wrote us a personal note on the only day we hadn't seen each other and will always go out of his way to satisfy.
The room was spacious, has all facilities of a five star hotel and is always kept spotlessly clean.
We will definitely recomend The Gli scipioni to all our friends visiting Rome.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yael134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Once again, we lucked out. Like our first night in Rome, our reservation to stay at this B&B was decided at the last minute after deciding about 7 days prior to arrival to cancel our original Rome B&B (5 nights) and start looking for alternatives that gave us a better feeling (as good a feeling as you can get from Trip Advisor of course). From my blackberry during happy hour on a Friday, 7 days out from arriving in Rome, I fired off a quick email to the Gli Scipioni B&B “info” email address asking about availability. To my surprise and delight, I received a very prompt response from a friendly, well written “David”. After a couple of exchanges, I learned that David was of Jamaican/British decent and had married an Italian woman and had been making a go of the B&B business for a few years now. He quickly confirmed availability and started corresponding with me on a regular basis leading up to our arrival in Rome. Let me just say that having this kind of unsolicited, friendly support leading up to a long trip of this kind is wonderful, though you don’t truly appreciate how wonderful until it’s not offered.

David welcomed us to his B&B with smiles, warmth and genuine sincerity. A quick tangent – don’t trust GPS to find this place. Just use the street names and numbers – they were well marked. B&B is on the north side of Gli Scipioni (a road), about 50m west of Ottaviano. David spent the next hour introducing us to his immaculate, fully stocked and very modern B&B. At the outset of this introduction, he described his philosophy to B&B’s as being born out of a long history of travel, during which he “always wished his B&B’s had this or that”. In response, this B&B has everything. Hitting on the big points:

Rooms: Large, bright, up on the fourth floor and away from most street noise. Very comfortable. In room safe. Satellite TV and DVD player complete with David’s personal collection of DVDs (if that’s your persuasion whilst on vacation). Large washroom (all of them are in suite to clarify) with a showerhead that had built in LED lights for some fun effects while showering. Just saying. :P

Kitchen: truly unique. Fully stocked with everything from pastries, spreads, antipasti meats, cheeses, juices, breads. You can indulge a late night craving for a sandwich if you so desired.

Location: exactly two blocks north of Piazza Risorgamente (spelling might be a little off there) – but basically two blocks northeast of the Vatican. Quiet, friendly, safe neighbourhood with Gelatterias and restaurants everywhere.

Celiacs (gluten free) – the piazza I mentioned above has one of the top two gluten free restaurants we discovered while in Rome. Email me if you’re a celiac and would like some more information.

Final thoughts: David and his Gli Scipioni B&B provides an amazing, all inclusive B&B feel with clean rooms, safe, accessible location and all of the information you may need regarding how best to explore the city. You have no doubt while you’re staying there that you’re being taken care of (David emails regularly and spends a few hours every day just hanging out in the Kitchen just to make sure everyone is being taken care of), which fuels you with the confidence to explore the Eternal City and enjoy every moment.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sergio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

i stayed at gli scipioni for 4 nights from sept 24th to sept 28th, the room was very spacious,very clean and tidy just as it should be. i was met by the owner himself david and what a tremendous host he was, he gave me loads of very welcome and splendid advice and could not of been more helpful.the b&b is in a great location for the metro and restaurants, by the way i ate at vito's pizzeria across the road and the food was excellent,i had a great time in rome and david helped me to ensure it was a memorable one.. well done and david is THE MAN !!

Room Tip: do what i did and read the reviews on trip advisor and dont go by the position of how they are ranke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dolmiomartyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed at Gli Scipioni for 6 nights from Sept 6-12. Where to start. Wow, the room was great, modern, clean, stocked with everything you need, very spacious. The kitchen was very clean, well stocked 24 hrs with lots of different things to choose from for breakfast. The location is ideal for exploring Rome. Very close to the Vatican. Threre are many great restaurants and shops within walking distance. Most importantly it is very close to the metro and bus stops. My husband and I enjoyed our trip to Rome, and felt at home at the B&B. What makes this B&B even better is the owner, David. He is very friendly, made us feel at home. He was very helpful, had a map set up, asked us about our trip and recommended great places to eat, shop and sightsee. I am glad we picked this B&B.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmc_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Gli Artisti Bed & Breakfast
Gianicolense
Casa Eli Roma
Casa Eli Roma
#6 of 3,735 in Rome
276 reviews
Campanella3
#3 of 3,735 in Rome
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
A View of Rome
A View of Rome
#18 of 3,735 in Rome
888 reviews
Prati
QuodLibet
QuodLibet
#4 of 3,735 in Rome
1,170 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
At Your Place
At Your Place
#40 of 3,735 in Rome
991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gli Scipioni Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gli Scipioni Bed & Breakfast

Address: Via Degli Scipioni 53 | Apartment 11 - 3rd floor, 00192 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 3,735 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: $86 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Gli Scipioni Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed And Breakfast Gli Scipioni
Bed & Breakfast Gli Scipioni Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing