We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for the price”
Review of B&B Alex

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
B&B Alex
Ranked #2,921 of 3,779 Rome B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Initially a little hard to find, and also requires you to walk through a slightly 'dodgy' neighbourhood. However, the owner was helpful when we arrived. The room was very clean, well ventilated and the bathroom was clean (however an empty toilet roll and full rubbish bin was found on arrival). The kitchen is small but you can cook in there. The breakfast is not very good, with a very small juice, some crackers and jam. We made our own in the end. Very close to train station and a short walk into the center of the city. The surrounding area however (as mentioned above) is a little intimating and wouldn't walk around at night alone. Overall a good stay and fairly priced accommodation. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McSnazzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 59 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2011

Room was clean,mattress was badly in need of changing as had seen better days,badly sagging and dipped,very sqeaky.bathroom was clean but shower tray plughole kept blocking causing it to overflow over bathroom floor.Modern tv in room but all italian speaking.
Breakfast was a joke you have to go to bar next door with a ticket.Breakfast consists of one cup of coffee and one croissant/cake with no refills.Overall very disappointed with this hotel so can't recommend to anyone i would find another hotel in the room

Room Tip: find another hotel in the area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gerard q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

We waited until the last minute to book our hotel - read booked the same day we checked in - so, we ended up with B&B Alex. A very reasonable hotel, but quite pricey for what it is. Seems to be an old apartment, converted to a hotel.

My one major complaint was the mattress - which was awful. VERY squeaky and soft - but our days were so long and exhausting that I slept just fine, regardless. Lighter sleepers might not have the same luck. Also, no wifi. I would not book this place again unless their price was drastically reduced.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank damirandveronica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2009

The location was very good, pretty much ideal for sight-seeing in Rome. It's almost right next to the main train station , which gives you access to both metro lines allowing for easy transportation to the majority of Rome's famous sights. Although there is a lot of bad press about the area around the station, we did not find this to be the case, and the plethora of cheap and cheerful restaurants in the nearby area meant eating out at night was simple and convenient. There is a small kitchen in the hotel that provides you with all the basic amenities, and there is a Spar next to the train station where you can buy food pretty cheaply. The room itself was actually a family room, which meant there was plenty of space for the two of us. The bed was comfortable, although the sheets were not changed on a daily basis. It isn't really worth paying for breakfast as there is only a very limited selection of food and drink available; however, this is fairly typical of Italian breakfasts. The reception staff were friendly and helpful, however the fact that reception is not manned 24/7 did prove to be a problem when checking in and out - be sure to tell them exactly what time you plan to arrive as otherwise they may not actually be there!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnny_number9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ben h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gabriel215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: 方便的位置,房間乾淨但沒有冷氣
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank saukik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
San Lorenzo
Athena Hotel
Athena Hotel
#959 of 1,272 in Rome
358 reviews
Esquilino
Il Giardino di Daniela
Il Giardino di Daniela
#2,081 of 3,779 in Rome
23 reviews
Prati
Alex Bed and Breakfast
Alex Bed and Breakfast
#2,574 of 3,779 in Rome
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
B&B Rome For You
#872 of 1,194 in Rome
2 reviews
B&B Alex e Cris
#379 of 3,779 in Rome
87 reviews
Abbraccio B&B
#2,735 of 3,779 in Rome
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Alex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Alex

Address: Via Milazzo 23, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,921 of 3,779 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: $44 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your B&B Alex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing