We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Carbonara..... ever maybe?”

Luciano Cucina Italiana - Roma
Reserve a Table
2
Sat, 2/22
8:00 PM
Ranked #1,356 of 14,714 Restaurants in Rome
Price range: $22 - $38
Neighborhood: Parione
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Parione
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Luciano is simply the king of carbonara! Discovered this place with a business partner and what a restaurant! Being Italian I am very fussy about carbonara, but this one.... just fantastic! Nice Italian atmosphere, staff is efficient and service is good! Had an assortment of starters (don’t miss the Alici Farcite) and then the carbonara! Well chapeau Luciano! No other words!

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank manfredip2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (415)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 415 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2020

I would be not able to comment on food, because we were refused to make reservation. We were party of eight, two families with grown up kids. I have no idea what made restaurant staff treat so badly, may be the rain outside and our wet umbrellas:-). The restaurant was not packed ,but we were told that we cannot make a reservation, not for today, not for any other day of the week.
Kids even tried to talk to the host in Spanish , guessing may be they did not understand that we want to make reservation for other days. Very unpleasant experience. We turned around and went to Aristocampo at Campo de' Fiori a minute walk and had a wonderful meal and great treatment.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Escape40398
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2020 via mobile

We were sent here by a dear friend that owns a major restaurant in Rome. In fact, this person called and made the reservation for us. Upon arrival, they couldn’t find our reservation, and sat us next to the coffee machine. The restaurant was basically empty, and yet they somehow gave us one of the worst tables in the house.

We ordered water and a glass of wine, plus three courses of food. An antipasti, a primi, and a secondi. We told our server we were sharing everything. First course came out, two plates and all was well. My glass of wine was finished before the suppli were finished, and stayed empty and on the table until dinner was finished. No one ever asked if I wanted another glass. Our water also was empty and I had to ask for a refill. The pasta course was their famous carbonara. Instead of splitting the pasta they brought out the pasta along with main course. When I told the waiter we were sharing the pasta and we didn’t want the main course until after we were done, after a bit of an attitude he took it back. The carbonara was outstanding, super rich, but delicious. The main course of lamb ribs and potatoes were a a HUGE disappointment. Obviously they didn’t remake the lamb, it was keep warm and came out way way over cooked. Almost inedible . But no one cared. We left almost all of the lamb...and no asked why.

While we were eating they were using the coffee machine steamer to clean their wine glasses. As I said, we were seated next to the coffee machine and the steam was actually reaching our table. This shouldn’t be done during service if they are going to sit customers there. And, while we were having our main course, they started spraying down the counters with detergent.

This is a very handsome restaurant with a really nice feel to it. Staff all have earpieces in so you think they would be a model of efficient service. Not at all. They truly could have cared less

We have been to Rome many many times in the past. This is the first time we were served the three courses and a check and were out in under an hour!! Sorry to say, one of the worst restaurant experiences ever in Roma.

NOT RECOMMENDED

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Sockster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2020 via mobile

Best Carbonara in Roma ! We visited this restaurant on the Roma Eats food tour (also amazing!!). This was by far my favorite meal of my entire trip - so good it ruined all other meals ! I can’t wait to return in February !

Date of visit: November 2019
Thank mkyeager1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2019

Fun, funky restaurant with delicious food (and that's from a non-foodie who rarely gives five stars). Try to go on a weekend or holiday so you can have the lasagna. Best ever! The cheese was seared perfectly, and the meat sauce was more of a garnish than the main event. For dessert, have the tiramisu -- a creative version that literally has to be "cracked open."

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luciano Cucina Italiana - Roma also viewed

 

Been to Luciano Cucina Italiana - Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing