We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, shocking food.”
Review of Taverna Pretoriana

Taverna Pretoriana
Ranked #3,244 of 12,362 Restaurants in Rome
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Esquilino
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great service, shocking food.”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

It was our last night in Rome, we had lunch across the road and it was perfect. I felt like a pizza so we tried this so called pizzeria. The pizza topping was nice but the base would have to be the worst I have ever had. There is no way the chef is Italian. My wife pasta tasted like a curry dish. I really felt sorry for the waiter as he was doing a excellent job.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Pietro S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    169
    119
    53
    62
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
57 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good food,good service and excellent experience!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

I don't get bored of this place, it doesnt matter how many times I go to Rome I will always go back there!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mahara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Value for money and lovely food”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I made a trip advisor account purely to review this restaurant! We were recommended to go here by our hostel. The food was really nice, and the restaurant was very busy every night with locals which says a lot about it. We even got free wine given to us the first time we went there! It is really cheap and simple, tasty food. A must-go place in Rome, don't fall into the trap of eating in really expensive restaurants with average food! (It is closed on Saturdays, beware!)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Olivia_Grace_1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I've stayed in Roma quite a few times and have been to this restaurant multiple times each visit. The staff is the best, very attentive and overall amazing. The food is great, good price and good portions. This is a place that locals visit which should say something in itself. Don't get caught up in the tourist trap places, paying for overpriced mediocre food when you can eat at a great local place like this :-) Can't wait to eat here again in November!!! Try it out!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizzieschiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
369 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 562 helpful votes
“Simple, straightforward, value for money”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Recommended by our hotel, no hidden extras, unlike so many rip-off restaurants in Rome.

Good simple Italian food, nothing pretentious or elaborate, just great value for money. There are several hostels nearby, so it was lovely for us oldies to be sitting outside cheek by jowl with young people from all over the globe - we like to talk to them! So if you're not into this, sit inside - its surprisingly large in there.

We enjoyed it so much that we dined here again on our last night, in preference for anywhere more fancy - that must be a recommendation!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jj-the-jetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Taverna Pretoriana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing