We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect base from which to explore Rome!”
Review of 38 Viminale Street

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
38 Viminale Street
Ranked #1,608 of 3,712 Rome B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 9, 2011

We stayed here for a long weekend for our aniversary. We decided on room only - however we found out that you get a complentary cappucino when you present your keycard to the bakery downstairs so breakfast is very cheap! The room was spacious and elegant - ensuite bathroom with jacuzzi shower and a safe in the room too. It is perfectly central and we walked everywhere (except to the vatican - take the metro) - to the spanish steps in the north, to the colluseum in the south and everywhere in between. We opted for the airport transfer. At 50 euros it's a little pricey but comforting when arriving in an unfamiliar city at 6am! On arrival we were greeted with perfect english and a city map with advice about how to get around. We would definitely return!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Parrot_rap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dario R, Direttore at 38 Viminale Street, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2015

Dear Guest,
We are really glad to hear that you have enjoyed so much your stay at Al Viminale Hill Inn & Hotel.
Indeed our central yet quiet location is one of our asset as well as the attentive and genuinely caring staff. Thank you also for suggest our place, we give you our promotional code "viminalehill" to use only in our official web-site to get the best rate we have.
We look forward to your next visit for a new unforgettable experience.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
There are newer reviews for 38 Viminale Street
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 71 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2010

We stayed here for three nights. Upon arrival we were met by Emiliano, who was extremely friendly and informative. He accompanied us to our room, which was spacious, clean and elegant, with a huge and very comfortable bed, and an en-suite shower room. The power/massage shower was extremely beneficial after miles of walking around wonderful Rome! The room was cleaned, and linen was changed every day. Our request for an iron and ironing board was met immediately and delivered to our room without delay or fuss. We found the hotel without any problems, having looked for the door plate directly opposite the Operal house, as advised by Emiliano. The lift in this building is one of the few-remaining traditional lifts in Rome, located in the central stairwell, and added to the charm of the building, and our stay in general.

There are numerous amenities near to the hotel including an express supermarket, off-licence, and wonderful restaurants and sidewalk cafes. The main railway/metro/bus station is within a five minute walk of the hotel. All Rome's main attractions are within walking distance, the Vatican being the only destination that we reached via the metro.

In all, we had a hugely enjoyable stay here, and will most definitely be returning!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jilona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dario R, Direttore at 38 Viminale Street, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2015

Dear Guest,
The team and I felt very proud while reading your extremely positive feedback. Thank you very much for the positive review of our hotel!
Our daily main concern is to look after our guests offering them our undivided attention.
We then look forward to welcoming you back to our centrally located hotel, we give you our promotional code "viminalehill" to get the best rate only trough our official web-site, to get the best rate we have.
Best regards and thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2010

This hotel is in a very handy location being near to but far enough away from the main station. Can walk to all major sites from the hotel. Rooms are nice and clean with views over the street below. Very few services or facilities, barely looks like a hotel, but homey just the same. Good value for Rome.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JasoninNewtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dario R, Direttore at 38 Viminale Street, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2015

Dear Guest,
The team and I felt very proud while reading your extremely positive feedback. Thank you very much for the positive review of our hotel!
Our daily main concern is to look after our guests offering them our undivided attention.
We then look forward to welcoming you back to our centrally located hotel, we give you our promotional code "viminalehill" to get the best rate only trough our official web-site, to get the best rate we have.
Best regards and thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2010

What a find! after much researching glad i found this place, excellent rooms with dvd/flat screen and a small selection of dvds to borrow, bathroom excellent, very comfy bed, tea/coffe making facilities on the landing outside the rooms.
set in a lovely grand building wiyh a fantastic old fashioned elevator.
The receptionist was very helpful on arrival with maps and places to visit, but this b/b is not manned all the time if your the sort of person who needs someone on hand 24/7.
excellent location to explore from in the centre of all the tourist sites, would definatley return!!
my only problem has nothing to do with the hotel, we did not find one nice restaurant that we enjoyed while we were in rome!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nickyboy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dario R, Direttore at 38 Viminale Street, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2015

Dear Guest,
We are really glad to hear that you have enjoyed so much your stay at Al Viminale Hill Inn & Hotel.
Indeed our central yet quiet location is one of our asset as well as the attentive and genuinely caring staff. Thank you also for suggest our place, we give you our promotional code "viminalehill" to use only in our official web-site to get the best rate we have.
We look forward to your next visit for a new unforgettable experience.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2009

We booked through Booking.com. The hotel has a cancellation policy that we did know about. We were travelling by road to Rome and our van broke down 4days before we were due to arrive. We were in the middle of nowhere with a language barrier, no internet connection, and eventually a mobile phone that wouldn't work - yes a lot of bad luck. Before our phone stopped working we phoned the hotel to cancel our stay and we were told that we had to cancel via booking.com or we would have to pay the full amount. We explained that we had no internet connnection and the phone number for booking.com that they gave us would not connect. We finally managed to speak again to the hotel explaining that we couldn't get through and after explaining all the situation we were in she spoke to the manager who agreeded on letting us pay 50% (180Euro) (normally 100% cancellation fee at this stage of cancellation.) I told her that we would cancel it as soon as we could either speak to them or use the internet. I thanked her very much for allowing us the 50%. Our phone stopped working and we still had no internet connection, however we found a store that sold phone cards and finally got in touch with booking.com. We told them that the hotel reduced the cancellation fee due to fact that we had so much bad luck . While we were on holidays still an email came to my home email address that i didn't pick up until 10th October and it was addressed to someone else so i ignored it. That was the email explaining to us that they were charging the 2nd lot of 50%.
I am not impressed at all with the lies that were told and the unfair nature in which it was handled when we had contacted them verbally, and although showing some sort of compassion in the first instance, turned around and changed their minds.
I will never stay here when i next travel to Rome, and i would recommend to anyone that if you do book this place - beware of the cancellation policy - they are not compassionate in any instance!
They received 360Euro for nothing!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Service
2  Thank Terinjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rescator, proprietario at 38 Viminale Street, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2010

We would like to answer to an unjustifiable complaint wrongly made by a client and with which we categorically disagree.

The aforesaid client made a booking for a double room from 10th to 13th September (3 nights) for a total cost of €360 through Booking.com, on 25th May 2009.

It is clearly and expressly declared in the general conditions for booking that the cancellation of a booking should take place up until and not after 48 hours before the date of the booking, after which the entire cost of the booking will be charged to the client.
The client was completely aware of these conditions as is made quite clear in the wording of his complaint, therefore he has no motive for complaint since, if there were any errors, they could have only been his own.
It followed that, independent of the reason which had determined the delay in the cancellation of the booking and which could not constitute extenuating circumstances, our administration debited the sum owed, in correct observance of our cancellation policy.
Moreover it must be stressed that the client had only communicated the cancellation on 9th September and therefore well after the 48 hour limit of the our cancellation policy.

Therefore we cannot be accused of any incorrect behaviour since it has done nothing more than carry out what is clearly and accurately stated in the booking conditions on the Booking.com website.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2009

We enjoyed our stay here. Great shower friendly staf. Just have to say when you will arrive. We have done breakfast once there, was good. Also enough possibilities nearby.
Staff also has good tips about restaurants . Would certainly go back again.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angelasten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dario R, Direttore at 38 Viminale Street, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2015

Dear Guest,
We are really glad to hear that you have enjoyed so much your stay at Al Viminale Hill Inn & Hotel.
Indeed our central yet quiet location is one of our asset as well as the attentive and genuinely caring staff. Thank you also for suggest our place, we give you our promotional code "viminalehill" to use only in our official web-site to get the best rate we have.
We look forward to your next visit for a new unforgettable experience.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2009

After doing much research for where to stay while in Rome, my wife and I decided to try this place out. It was less expensive than all the fancy hotels, (and some of the not-so-fancy hotels), but was SOOOOO nice! It ended up being a great deal! Air conditioned room, large bed (hard to find in Europe), 32 in HD flat panel tv on the wall, massage-shower. It was great!

The staff were very kind and helpful. Even though they weren't always there (it's a bed and breakfast, what do you expect?) You could leave them notes and they would help you out as soon as they returned.

Great location, within easy walking distance to most major sightseeing attractions.

The only MINOR hiccup was the scary elevator. (We had to use it when we arrived and left because of all our luggage). It must be at least 100 years old! But still worked, and the rest of the time we used the stairs. (Needed all the exercise we could get after all the amazing food we ate in Rome!)

Also, there is no indication that you are at the hotel when you arrive. (It shares a building with other offices and appartments.) So make sure you have the address right, and ring the correct buzzer when you arrive!

I would definitely stay here again when in Rome. Sure there may be other nice places to stay, but this was such an excellent experience I wouldn't risk staying anywhere else and not having as great a time. And it's hard to beat the price!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt1027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dario R, Direttore at 38 Viminale Street, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2015

Dear Guest,
The team and I felt very proud while reading your extremely positive feedback. Thank you very much for the positive review of our hotel!
Our daily main concern is to look after our guests offering them our undivided attention.
We then look forward to welcoming you back to our centrally located hotel, we give you our promotional code "viminalehill" to get the best rate only trough our official web-site, to get the best rate we have.
Best regards and thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Al Viminale Hill Inn & Hotel
Esquilino
Hotel Sonya
Hotel Sonya
#246 of 1,267 in Rome
1,508 reviews
Esquilino
Lirico Hotel
Lirico Hotel
#218 of 1,267 in Rome
1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,267 in Rome
4,236 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Columbia
Hotel Columbia
#104 of 1,267 in Rome
831 reviews
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 38 Viminale Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 38 Viminale Street

Address: Via del Viminale N. 38, Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,608 of 3,712 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: $79 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The exclusive 38 Viminale Street De Luxe is situated opposite the prestigious Opera Theatre in the centre of Rome. Furthermore we are situated within a short distance of some of the principal historic Rome landmarks: the Colosseum, The Spanish Steps and The Trevi Fountain. Almost all rooms face onto the street and enjoy suggestive views onto the Opera Theatre. We ensure that you will find everything of the highest possible quality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire and Booking.com so you can book your 38 Viminale Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing