We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant with very friendly staff”

Mamma Angela Trattoria
Ranked #505 of 13,057 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $51
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Esquilino
Description: Mamma Angela serves high quality Italian and Roman cuisine with an American twist. Excellent selection of Italian and regional wines and delicious daily specials. Mamma's prides itself on refreshing its menu every season, adding seasonal and premium ingredients local to the region.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Excellent restaurant, serving great Italian food with very friendly staff, who engage in conversation on the food and especially the wines. We went there twice in our trip with free glasses of prosecco and even free coffee. Highly recommended for travellers in Rome and staying near the central Termini station.

Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Mamma_Angela, Manager at Mamma Angela Trattoria, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Thank you for your review and for your custom. I'm really happy to read that you enjoyed your meal so much that you returned again as so many of our customers do. We have a great team of servers who are customer focused and we pride ourselves on providing outstanding service!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,577)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,010 - 1,014 of 2,577 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2013

Excellent food, waiters were lovely. Good atmosphere. Tables close together, but not a problem.food well presented and good choice on menu.

Thank spikeLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Mamma_Angela, Manager at Mamma Angela Trattoria, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Thank you very much for your review and for your custom. We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Rome:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Unfortunately I think the restaurant has become a victim of it's own success. I had the sea bass which was good, unfortunately my husband had the pasta with seafood which was overcooked, the pasta was soggy and the seafood mediocre. We have been in Italy for over a week first in Sperlonga on the coast and then yesterday we came to Rome. Our experience thus far has been that the restaurants pawn off the stale bread on the tourists at a charge of one or two euros but the pasta generally until tonight was quite good. The restaurant was full with people waiting and so I understand that presenting a pasta dish al dente would be difficult and I also realize that giving customers a complimentary limencello might compensate some people for soggy pasta but not us. We get enough overcooked pasta at home so were disappointed and feel their 2012 excellant rating no longer applies.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank susanbbanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Mamma_Angela, Manager at Mamma Angela Trattoria, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

I'm always disappointed to read that a customer has not enjoyed their experience at Mamma Angela's. It is unfortunate when we make a mistake and overcook a customers pasta, it doesn't happen often but we all make mistakes for which we can only apologise. Our seafood dishes are all prepared with fresh mussels and clams for which we usually receive rave reviews. If we do make a mistake with a dish please tell us and give us the opportunity to change it for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

First of all, it was open in the afternoon :) The pasta with pecorino cheese and black peppers was very tasty, and the tiramisu was one of the best that I have tasted! The wine (chianti classico, docg) recommended by our waiter was also quite nice with our lunch.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank esrave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Mamma_Angela, Manager at Mamma Angela Trattoria, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Thank you for your comments. We have an excellent selection of desserts, our most popular dessert is our Tiramisu which at Mamma Angela's is second to none!!! Tiramisu is a classic Italian dessert made with cream, mascarpone cheese, savoiardi ( ladyfinger ) biscuits and coffee.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We tried this restaurant based off a friend's suggestions and the reviews on here. I am writing this review as we sit here, an hour since first being seated, still waiting for our second course. It has been 20 minutes sine our first course plates were taken away and even they sat on our table for 20 minutes waiting to be taken away. The table next to us were seated 10 minutes after us and still got served first.

In the end we had to get up and ask where our meals were as none of the waiters were responsive. We arrived at 8pm, so before it got busy, and the waiters don't look rushed off their feet. Once our meals were delivered we did get an apology but we then had to wave down a waiter to get the bill (finished plates in front of us still after ten minutes!) as they continued being non proactive.

The food was good (seafood risotto and grilled chicken for mains) but it was the only positive on a disappointing evening.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank OhnoTimbo47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Mamma_Angela, Manager at Mamma Angela Trattoria, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

I'm really sorry to read that you didn't enjoy your experience at Mamma Angela's. We take customer service very seriously and are always disappointed when for whatever reason we don't meet or exceed our customers expectations. In your case I can only apologise!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mamma Angela Trattoria also viewed

 

Been to Mamma Angela Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing