We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best of Rome”

Private Tour of Rome
Book In Advance
More Info
$50.19*
and up
Skip-the-lines Colosseum and Roman Forum Tour for Kids and Families
Ranked #14 of 778 Tours in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Private Tour of Rome offers personally guided day tours in and around Rome and excellent tour guides. They will tell you those fascinating facts that are not in the guidebooks and will lead you to some of the most famous sights in the world.Their fluent English-speaking guides offer tours of the highest quality which are not only informative but entertaining as well. Visit the Vatica, the Colosseum, the Sistine Chapel, the Pantheon and much more with Tours of Roma.
Leiston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The best of Rome”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We decided to celebrate our 30th anniversary in Rome and wanted to enjoy the city to it’s full. We researched, decided and booked three Rome City tours; Sightseeing Walking Tour, Coliseum & Ancient Rome Tour and the Vatican Tour. We were very impressed with the organisation before our visit; the speed of response from their office and the information packs were impressive. We had a similar experience to others in that we needed a last minute change in itinerary due to Pope Francis staging an event at the Vatican – without the advice from Anna we would never have known.
We were met by our guide for the duration; Lara on the day of the first tour and she walked us round the sights of the City centre. She paced the walk impeccably and her selection of sights was excellent. The Coliseum tour was next and without her it would have taken us considerably longer and I’m sure we would have seen and understood much less. The final day was spent at the Vatican and similar to other reviewers we were so pleased as Lara guided us through the fantastic place and concentrated on what we wanted to see. If it had been left to me we would have spent far more time getting through the early galleries and would have been exhausted before we arrived at the Raphael rooms!
We very much appreciated Lara’s thoughtful consideration and knowledge sharing whilst with and would highly recommend this organisation.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 16MartynB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,277
    17
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Educational and Enjoyable”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We went on the Private Tour - Rome Day Tours and we couldn't recommend it more highly. With so many such tours being offered in Rome, it must be very hard to choose between one and another but having been on this one, we can't imagine how any other could be better, hence the five stars.

In the company of Vera, our guide, we were shown all the best bits of Rome in the limited time we had without feeling that we were rushed or herded from one place to another like cattle and she had the uncanny knack of imparting knowledge in an interesting way.

Touring the Colosseum, Vera's use of illustrations on her tablet and the book she brought along with her brought its history to life for both our kids (aged 14 and 12) and us.

As for the The Vatican, without Vera and her structured tour we wouldn't have known where to start and would have been going round in circles in its vastness and not seen half the things that we did.

She had an amazing knowledge of the city and was able to give us little bits of general knowledge that we would have had no idea of if we had travelled independently (who would you ask why all the buildings and the iconic pillars of buildings have holes in them and who else would show you the proper way to drink from the numerous fountains scattered around the city?)

Following this experience we look forward to visiting Rome again and took no chances - at The Trevi Fountain we threw the requisite coins from our right hands over our left shoulders.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank SKM91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Simply The Best Way to Experience Rome”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Friendly, flexible, and extremely knowledgeable - Rosella was a perfect guide and a perfect host.
The arrangements were flawless - despite a last minute change due to Pope Francis staging an event at the Vatican - and it all went very smoothly.
We came away feeling that we had really seen and understood the treasures of Rome, as well as feeling that we had been welcomed by a native who shared her passion and love for the city and culture.
They really deliver what they promise - cannot recommend too highly.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank jaudi993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Private tour of the colosseum and the roman forum”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We had a difficult trip planned to Rome as we were leaving from Civitavecchia the day after arriving in the city and only had 1 afternoon and evening to do it all. Private tours of Rome were the only tour company to respond to my requests at a number of companies for help in planning our visit as having not been to Rome before we had no idea what we were getting into. This demonstrated a customer orientented service that won me over before we even arrived. They delivered excellent advice and made planning our rushed visit possible. The communication during the planning of our trip from Canada was equally as prompt.

The tour provided by our guide Viera was excellent. Private tours of Rome set up a meeting time that worked well with our schedule. Our guide was punctual, and was aware of our time crunch. She gave a very informed and organized tour of the colosseum and even brought materials with her to help bring the colosseum to life. She had an excellent knowledge of the subject and we left the tour feeling that we had learned something more about the places we saw with Viera than anything else we have seen on our trip.

I would definitely recommend this service if you are looking to plan ahead and want a top quality tour.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tristan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walchwil, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It would be hard to imagine making our way through the Vatican Museum, Basilica, and Sistine Chapel, with four children under th”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our tour of the Vatican Museum, Sistine Chapel, and St. Peter's Basilica. Lucca was a fantastic guide for our group of four adults and five children (6,8,9,10,12). He kept the children entertained, interested, and happy throughout the entire tour. He was very informative and fun to listen to. At the end of the tour he took the time to bring us to a restaurant that he recommended, which was a wonderful end to our day. We would highly recommend Lucca!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Kemsss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Private Tour of Rome also viewed

 

Been to Private Tour of Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing