We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like family, ate like pigs!”
Review of Taverna Flavia

Taverna Flavia
Ranked #1,024 of 12,524 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $29 - $35
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Felt like family, ate like pigs!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were in this section of Rome for a week and ate here three nights. From the beginning, they treated us like family and we enjoyed awesome meals. The owner was ever present, keeping a watchful eye on things and every night was special for us. Salvatore, our waiter, was very well versed in the wine list and he picked out different appetizers each night. Can't wait to return.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CinVinman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    217
    81
    48
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Italian Tourists”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

The food was average but I have had much better in Rome and the prices were quite high for what you get. This restaurant is more designed for tourists rather than being a restaurant that the locals go to. The emphasis was on famoue people who have eaten here in the past but the present does not live up to the reputation.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Sherry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Food...”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Lovley place to eat. Great authentic cuisine. Average priced and good portion sizes. The restaurant got very busy, but they were able to get us a table quite quickly and as more people came they brought more tables outside.
The only downside is they didn't take our bread away when we asked them to and then charged us 4 euros and the tables were rather close together. Would go back to the restaurant when we return.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Clarissa87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“very good”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

really love Italian cuisine with its strong flavors and spices. in this tavern we ate very well and had good service

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank brock c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent food......but”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Restaurant deserves 5 stars for its excellent food. Reasons for giving fewer are:
Our two first choices of main course were unavailable early in the evening.
We sat outside to enjoy the warm evening. The tables are closely spaced and the couple who sat next to us during our main course smoked more than they ate, which was unpleasant.
The young waiter was friendly and enthusiastic, but tried too hard to persuade us to order more than we needed.
There was a long delay getting the restaurant's credit card reader to work.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Taverna Flavia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing