We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sarah we are coming back..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residenza Torre Colonna
Ranked #57 of 3,779 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 16, 2011

My fiance and I stayed at the Torre Colonna one year ago and still talk about it daily. Between Feliche (spelling?) and Sarah mixed with the rooftop views, breakfast served with strong espresso and good calories for a long day of walking we were in heaven. I loved that i was in a comfortable hotel, while still feeling like I was not hidden from the real Rome. The nicer the hotel the more distant the people and their culture tend to be. this was a perfect mix.

Dinner reccomendations were great, the Trevi close enough to stroll by every night on the way home... and for the night you just had to much wine... roll over to the Cork Inn(http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/Restaurant_Review-g187791-d1310616-Reviews-Cork_s_Inn-Rome_Lazio.html) bar 20 yards away for a good beer and a soccer match with rowdy Italian fans. (yeah they like Irish bars too)

Try to plan your days ahead of time so Sarah can give you her advice... she is such a wonderful hotel owner and we will be coming back.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brett H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (451)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 451 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2011

This is a fabulous find, handy for everything. A stones throw from the forum, colosseum & Trevi fountain. Rooms are unique and comfortable. Nothing is too much trouble for the friendly staff and the owner Sarah will help you find anything you need from taxis to great places to eat. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms are perfect, you can,t go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2011

Torre Colonna is an ancient tower turned private residence turned guest house. It has a unique history as well character and charm. Each floor is it's own room and each room is different. We had the opportunity to see several rooms at the guest house and each room is very cool. Noise was never an issue and free internet / wi-fi in each room was great. The daily breakfast is not to miss. The fresh squeezed orange juice and cafe were a fantastic way to start the day. Our favorite amenity was the roof-top deck with amazing views along with the very comfy hot-tub. Torre Colonna is very close to popular sights in ancient rome and also a hop on hop off bus.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

a wonderful place for a romantic interlude!
a real boutique hotel - one bedroom per floor in a medieval tower very centrally located and scrumptious breakfast, not to mention the jacuzzi on the roof-terrace with great views of the city!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tlewis49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

We stayed in this guesthouse for 4 nights in October 2011, and as far as location is concerned, this is probably the best place in Rome to be staying in, if you want to do traditional tourism. Walk out of the door, turn round the corner, and all the treasures of Ancient Rome are at your feet! No painful bus or tax journeys, just a lot of walking. A lot has already been said about the location of this place here, so I can just testify that this is all true, the location is GREAT.

In fact, there are a lot of great things about this guesthouse: excellent choice of foods for breakfast, suitable for all tastes and requirements, civilised breakfast hours, a rooftop with tables to sit, great views and even a hot tub (if of course you are brave enough to sit in it, considering it must have been used by hundreds of other people), friendly and unobtrusively helpful staff, speaking a few European languages (English native speakers are so spoilt they assume that everyone should speak perfect English, slightly forgetting the fact that this is Italy!), quirky interiors, spiral staircases, walls so thick that you could defend yourself against an army (on the negative side, no mobile signal!), free wi-fi, a great ice cream shop round the corner, and so on and so forth. Needless to say, all this comes with a considerable price tag, but it’s a treat.

Some other details: Torre Colonna is situated on a noisy street corner but in our room they had a double set of double glazed windows, which cut out the noise completely.

The bathroom was good; we were on the first floor, and our bathroom had an excellent Jacuzzi shower in a sort of ‘pit’ that you had to climb down into. Able-bodied folks won’t find this difficult, but the very overweight and/or disabled most definitely will. You have been warned.

The cleanliness standard was high and the room was cleaned and tidied every day very well.

I am quite a fastidious person, but I am finding it hard to say anything critical about it. Perhaps one thing - contrary to other people’s complimentary comments about the decor, I found it quite ghastly: harsh modern metal furniture, lamps without shades that hurt your eyes, modern abstract pictures – colourful, but looking odd in a medieval tower. But that’s obviously a matter of taste. The important thing is that it was all clean and the bed had a good memory foam mattress that was comfortable to sleep on. The rooms are dark, as the windows are small and some of them face the shady narrow lane – but what else would you expect in an ancient tower? It is expensive but it seems to be always full, so it must be the right price.

In short, it’s five out of five, and we would come again (Just need to save up a bit...)!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank praskovya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

All around this small BB breathes love, all the details seem to be taken care of with lovely dedication: the decoration, the room furniture, the breakfast, the staff, the elevator, and of course, the terrace and the jacuzzi on the roof with view to the vittoriano's building. It is just "incredibile", specially during night, all calm and relaxing with some birds flying around.

The only downside could be a bit of dust in the room the day we checked in, I guess It had been some days without usage and not dust-cleaned before we got in. However, it did not affected a bit our lovely experience here.

I will recommend this place to everybody visiting Rome.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pau A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2011

We just got back from a fabulous trip to Rome. It took me over a month to book our hotel and Torre Colonna was a perfect choice. It was close to everything - we easily walked every where (with an 8 and 10 year old). The hotel is very unique and my children loved it. The roof top views are amazing! The breakfast was yummy and the staff were very friendly and helpful. We definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mehmet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trevi
Domus Libera
Domus Libera
#82 of 3,779 in Rome
133 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Navona Queen
Navona Queen
#26 of 3,779 in Rome
490 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Corso 281 Luxury Suites
Corso 281 Luxury Suites
#48 of 3,779 in Rome
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Cardilli Luxury Rooms
Cardilli Luxury Rooms
#23 of 3,779 in Rome
450 reviews
Trevi
Arpinelli Relais
Arpinelli Relais
#11 of 3,779 in Rome
324 reviews
Trevi
Daphne Trevi
Daphne Trevi
#85 of 3,779 in Rome
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza Torre Colonna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Torre Colonna

Address: Via delle Tre Cannelle 18 | Angolo Via 4 Novembre 101, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trevi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 3,779 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: $156 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Residenza Torre Colonna 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each room has a Nespresso machine, a kettle with a selection of fine teas, a touch screen computer, a safe, a minibar and hairdryer in the bathroom. All our rooms have 2 sets of double glazing and air conditioning/heating. . Our breakfast,(with freshly squeezed orange juice) is very abundant and has become quite famous! We have roof terrace open day and night with a spectacular view 360° over Rome. All our rooms are stricktly no smoking however smoking is permitted on the roof terrace. Wi-fi is free of charge. Airport pick-up service is available at a very reasonable cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Residenza Torre Colonna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Torre Colonna Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing