We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Budget Hotel!”
Review of Hotel Bergamo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Bergamo
Ranked #988 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Budget Hotel!”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a 6-day trip to Rome where we stayed at this nice hotel 2 blocks from Termini. We stayed in Room 40, which had a nice firm king-sized bed and bathroom. There was heating provided, but being northern Europeans, I'm afraid we ended up opening the windows at night as we are used to sleeping in a cold room. The room was cleaned very well each day and the bathroom was spotless and well supplied with towels and soap. Our only complaint would probably be that the water pressure was quite low in the shower, but the water itself was hot and the hair dryer certainly worked very well for a lady's longer hair. all of the staff we met spoke reasonable English and were very helpful.

On the down side (but which will not stop us from staying here again) is that perhaps the noise in the hall during the evening could be a bit much for some (the night clerk going back and forth to let in late night visitors) and as room 40 faces the street, it could be too noisy for some, but we are sound sleepers and just looked on it as part of the local colour. Although it was noted that one could get BBC World News on the TV, we never managed to find it, but since we were on holiday, it's not a major problem.

Another thing to be aware of is that it is not very well signed. Like many Roman hotels, it shares a building with other hotels and we couldn't spot it from across the street easily.

The marble floors are excellent on the feet after a long day of sightseeing. We got there early and they kept our bags and later placed them in our room once it was ready and when we left, they also kept our bags safe until our evening flight. Lovely place and I'm hoping we can go back there again soon.

Room Tip: Room 40 faces onto the street, which might be a problem for some who are light sleepers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IdahoSwede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    47
    56
    27
    16
See reviews for
20
49
32
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 6 Contributor
657 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 444 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Hotel Bergamo is so close to Roma Termini Station, what makes evrything easier. There are nice restaurants around, you can browse trip advisor from the hotel and just go. Elettra was good. The hotel is quite cheap for rome, so if you are one of those who just book hotel to sleep and have a private bathroom, it totally worth it. Not for business men or tourists for more than one week, there's also a nice supermarket around and for those who like to walk fontana di trevi can be reach by feet.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcelo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

This hotel is just a few steps from Termini station, in a building housing several budget hotels - look for the "Scott House" sign. There is a tiny lift to the 2/F. We had a decent, clean budget room, with WiFi. The staff were friendly. If you have long legs, be prepared to sit sideways on the toilet, as it is crammed into a narrow corner!

The neighbourhood may seem a bit intimidating to some people, but should not pose a problem if a little bit of care is exercised.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Reasons why should go for it:
1. Good for a budget hotel.
2. Close to Roma Termini..so you wont have to worry even if you get lost.
3. Very hospitable staff
4. Clean rooms
5. Best part -> They offer to keep your baggage, even after you've checked out, that too without any extra charge.
6. They also have a hair dryer in the bathroom :)

It is difficult to locate in the first time.
If you need a/c in your room, please checked beforehand if your room does, cos ours didnt.
This is by a busy street, so till you'll hear noise till late at night until the restaurants close.

All in all, I would love to go for it again, because of the staff, location and the value of money factor.

Room Tip: Check for a/c if you need it. Not all the rooms have it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PriankaMitra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Hotel is a minute away from the Rome Termini station. Since we took few intercity trains, the location was very convenient. Hotel is located on the 2nd floor of a building. The room and ensuite were reasonably sized and clean. Hotel offers free Wifi. There are no washing facilities, AC nor breakfast facilities. We used the luggage storage facility before check-in and after check-out.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DashYaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perugia, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012 via mobile

I stayed just for one night, while I was traveling. It is very close to the Termini train station and the prices for a single room are very cheap. Unfortunately my room was not cleaned as it should.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matty83pg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Augsburg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

This hotel is cheap, but I wouldn't say that it is good value for money. When we checked in the reception area smelt! It was not clearly signed or easy to find. Whilst it is close to the main station it is too close and it is just as easy to get the Metro and stay a bit further away and have a much better experience. The bed was bowed, there was hair in the shower and it was dirty. We ended up paying the cancellation fee (one nights stay) and changing back to another cheaper hotel that we had stayed out close to Republicca station (one Metro stop from the main station) which we enjoyed much more. Oh, another thing, I (being 6ft tall) couldn't fit on the toilet, and my wife (5.7ft) struggled :(.

Room Tip: Rooms one or two Metro stops away for the same or a lower price will likely yield a better experienc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clayton R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
La casa dell'arte
La casa dell'arte
#965 of 1,261 in Rome
87 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Washington
Hotel Washington
#1,051 of 1,261 in Rome
149 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Leone
Hotel Leone
#426 of 1,261 in Rome
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Chicago
Hotel Chicago
#941 of 1,261 in Rome
138 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Orlanda
Hotel Orlanda
#291 of 1,261 in Rome
402 reviews
Esquilino
Virginia Hotel
Virginia Hotel
#732 of 1,261 in Rome
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bergamo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bergamo

Property: Hotel Bergamo
Address: Via Gioberti 30, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #988 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Bergamo 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Bergamo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing