We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Bred and snack in Rome”
Review of Panella

Panella
Ranked #316 of 775 Dessert in Rome
Cuisines: Italian, Street Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Esquilino
Paris, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Bred and snack in Rome”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Walk down from Santa Maria Maggiore towards San Giovanni in Laterano. You will find it on your left.

Pick inside what you want and sit outside

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank dkirsner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,423 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    381
    423
    216
    181
    222
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
47 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good Place for a Glass of Wine and Some Nibbles”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I have been to this place about 3 or 4 times.
It is not my favorite place, but I keep going back.
Could be the great location - central but not in the middle of the hustle and bustle of tourism.
Could be the delicious wines. They also have prosecco and cocktails.
Could be the ambiance. Havinga drink in a fancy bakery is always a nice change.

I have been for the aperitivo/happy hour as well as the brunch.
The aperitivo is good.
Food is quality. But you cannot serve yourself so it is a true aperitivo. You will want to have dinner later on.

Brunch is not brunch.
It is aperitivo on a late Sunday morning.
The only thing that was close to brunch food, was a few (by the way delicious) cakes.
If you are looking for a comforting American-style brunch, this isn't the place.

But if you are in the mood for some tasty bakery treats and wine, this does the trick!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lueez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fairly good but expensive”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We sometimes go to Panella for breakfast, Italian style breakfast of course, or just to have a caffè con lo zabaione which I would gladly recommend to everyone. This coffee is something you definitevely have to try while in Via Merulana. Needless to say, they have exquisite cakes, my favorite one are those al pistacchio. They also have some salty pastries, but you can't pretend to go there and have a proper meal, this is just a bar/pasticceria where you grab a snack and enjoy an excellent coffee.

This place is always packed with people, both locals and tourists. Having sad that, it's not a kind of bar/pasticceria where you sit down for a languorous coffee and cake session. On your short stay there, I am sure your senses will appreciate the amazing assortment of cakes and pastries that look very inviting. For those I have tried, I can say they are very delicious.

The negative side of this place are prices- Panella is ridiculously expensive. However, having a cup of coffee there is something everyone can afford.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Veccili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
85 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Tasty treats”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

On our first night in Rome we were very tired and had walked around quite a bit before choosing this restaurant/bakery. They had a very nice spread of many little dishes. For 12Euro you got a glass of wine or drink of your choice and all-you-can eat of the dishes served. The employees will place on a plate the samples you want. I personally found that the service was fine. There was a language barrier, but how hard is it to point at what you want and add a little grazie. All these tasty bites really hit the spot. The area was busy and interesting.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Larababe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent ... but EXPENSIVE”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

This place got my attention because it was packed - and it seemed to be mostly locals. Italians, anyway. They have an exceptional assortment of snacks and light meals and you can try one or a sample a dozen. You can browse their counters and choose a little of this and a little of that. Self - service is key, here, perhaps the issue Kay C mentioned about lack of service - you SHOULD go inside and pick something, of the many, to get started - otherwise, you can try to get the attention of the waiter, but it seemed everyone there knew that you should go have a look, first - I WOULDN'T FAULT THE STAFF. They have a "service" area ... and a "self-service" area, where I'll bet Kay C sat. The printed menu is limited - best to go in and see what they have today and what looks good TODAY. It's different every day.
Everything I tried was excellent - FRESH - including the best pizza I had in Rome. Crust was thicker than your typical pizza in Rome, but it is also a bakery and the crust was somewhat bread-like, but delicious.
I tried several of their pastries as well - some of the best I've had anywhere in the world.
I picked a loaf of bread to go and, when I asked for the "conto" it was already included on the same check and brought to my table.
It is just off the street, but still within people watching view of the busy Via Merulana, Just SW of Termini train station and 5 minutes from Piazza Vittorio Emanuel.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank davcer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Panella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing