We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No one home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bed a San Pietro Roma
Ranked #1,387 of 3,642 Rome B&B and Inns
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“No one home”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I was suppose to be there for two nights. I picked it as they had airport pickup and drop off. I called, and got an answering machine. Took an expensive cab ride. NO ONE WAS HOME. It looked like he rented out apartment in a building. I had no one else to go. Slept on a park bench, hoping that in the morning he or anyone would show up. Nope. Called again, nothing.

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Zult2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiziana P, Proprietario at Bed a San Pietro Roma, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear “Zult”,
we remember perfectly who are you and everything about your reservation. First of all we are very sorry for what is happened to you, we think that all our positive reviews certificate that our mission is the satisfaction of our guests so you can understand that reading about your experience is very sad for us. By the way, we are happy that you left your review because we have finally for the first time the opportunity to communicate with you (we have not your contact details) and in the same time we can leave a message to all our future guests about some important information. Answering to your words:
- ABOUT THE PICK-UP SERVICE: it’s very very CLEAR everywhere (on our official website and on all our partner’s websites, including the one on which you made your reservation) that our guests have to book the pick-up service from the airport contacting us before their arrive and telling us the flight’s details. It’s also CLEAR that this service is not free (sorry, how could it be free???).
- ABOUT YOUR CALLS: dear Zult, when our guests make a reservation throw the partner website that you used, for contract they receive a voucher with all our contact details and most of all with all the important check-in information. The most important information, that you can read also before booking in our B&B details, is that “our guests have to contact us to arrange their preferred check-in hour”. This because we are a family B&B and so we have not a 24h/24 reception. Some websites, like the one you reserved with, for privacy reasons don’t give us our guests contact details (like email or telephone number) so it was impossible for us to contact you (our guests know that we send minimum 2 “welcome” emails to ALL with the detailed information for the check-in, including a map). Please, consider that one month before your arrive (seeing that you didn’t contact us) we asked orbitz.com to send this messages to you and they ensure us that they did it (contact us if you want that I send you this confirmation). So you had minimum 3 or 4 messages from us in which we prayed you to contact us to arrange the check-in. But let’s say that you had problems with your email providers, ok. On your arrival date, we waited for your call all the day, and this until 2 in the night and called also the customer service the day after to have news about you!!!
- ABOUT THE ANSWERING MACHINE: please, ACTUALLY call us and ACTUALLY listen our message in the answering machine, we give our guests 2 others telephone numbers to call if the first is unavailable. In total 3 telephone numbers!!! Are you sure that you called us??? We neither received any message about someone trying to call us!
- ABOUT THE MORNING AFTER: Tiziana every morning arrive at 7.30 to assist the breakfasts and to clean the rooms, and stayed until 2pm. Nobody called or used the interphone and think that she have not any hearing problems!!!
BY THE WAY, LIKE ALWAYS, WE INVITE YOU TO TRY AGAIN WITH US!!! Bye!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    26
    3
    5
    2
See reviews for
22
36
11
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed in this b&b last week, there was 15 of us in total and we all fitted in nicely.
The owner was very friendly and understanding. Our flight was delayed because of a fuelling problem so we were late in meeting him, but he remained very welcoming. He settled us all in and was always a phone call/email away.
We had a maid/housekeeper in every morning from 8am making us breakfast and leaving clean towels/making beds. She was lovely! So helpful. She called us some Taxi's because we couldn't communicate well with the taxi service. She was GREAT with our two children, making them hot milk and feeding them sweet treats at every occasion. A very lovely lady who went that extra mile to help.

Every room was well equipped with fridge/hairdryer/bathroom/storage space, the showers were powerful and hot.
The balcony was the best part! It was huge, the sun shone in on it, it could be accessed by 3 out of the 5 rooms AND there was a hammock.
There was a sitting/hallway where we could all sit at night also, which since we were a larger group with children it was perfect.

The location was also great. There was a bus stop directly outside the b&b with frequent busses into st peters area. It is a short 10 mins walk from the metro station, and there are lots of restaurants around about, as well as super markets, and the cafe downstairs was perfect.

The owners of the b&b were helpful - they reccomended a restaurant to us, which was close by and easily the best one we went too all week.

Over all I would rate this 10/10

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hollstarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mammaguapa, Proprietario at Bed a San Pietro Roma, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you very much for your nice words, it has been a pleasure to have all of you for your marriage and we are very happy that the sun of Rome gave you as present that wonderful weather! You are very nice people and we wish you all the best!
See you soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2011

I was there with my teenage daughter. Real value for money. Located in a 'real' non tourist neighbourhood, in a modern apartment building. The room is simple but pretty and has basics, including wi-fi. Don't expect luxury, but comfort. Great balcony to have coffee in the morning or evening. The couple that runs it is VERY helpful and nice. It is about 10-15 min walk from the Metro (subway), and 35 min walk from the Vatican- we used the Metro all the time because we like to walk, but there are also a lot of buses going past it. There are some nice, non-tourist cafes/restaurants- and a gelateria- on the way to or near the Metro station (Cornelia). There are also some cafes in a piazza about 5-10 min walk in the other direction towards the Vatican, but those were closed when we were there (summer vacation). Just make sure your map includes the area, since it is not on the tourist map you get for the center, and walking from Cornelia station can be a little confusing since it has several exits on different streets.
A few tips: Coffee at breakfast is great (and if you can figure out the machine you can make some all day). Food less so, but for what you are saving compared to other places you can skip that and get fresh croissants in a cafe.
The key to the outer door (of the building) goes in both ways, but turns only when it is inserted in one way- so if you can't open it try again (we almost panicked our first night about being locked out...)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nd82011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

This place is (I am not kidding!)
a. Not close to St. Pietro Square
b. This place has no nice restaurants or breakfast places close by
c. had a screaming baby in the room next door
d. the prices of services DO NOT deliver value
e. Although the hostess who runs the place is nice, she has no idea what she is doing.
f. If you are a couple seeking a nice relaxing luxurious break, this is an ABSOLUTE NO
g. the bathrooms are super small
h. there is one room which is big in size, but the others are just gaudily bright!
i. the rooms names are based on the colours of the walls, and I am not joking, our walls were fluorescent!
j. lastly the only thing that saves you here is the air conditioning in the rooms which is powerful enough for the Italian heat!
k. oh and did I mention that because the hostess wants to save electricity bills, the place is completely (and dodgily) DARK when you arrive back, we had to literally fish for the light buttons for 10 minutes before we figured it out, meanwhile someone could have harmed us in the dark! Now that is not a great experience for a holiday~
l. COUPLES I INSIST DO NOT GO HERE

Room Tip: If you do decide to take up this offer inspite of my advise, then pick the Orange room, it is a lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jujuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mammaguapa, Proprietario at Bed a San Pietro Roma, responded to this review, July 27, 2011
Dear guest, we are very sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay! We actually don't remember about any of our guests who left our B&B unhappy as you are saying, by the way we will try to answer to all the points of your message. And most of all, even if we think that you have been a bit bad with your words, THANK YOU ANYWAY!!!
a) (distance from S.Pietro square) everyone can check that we are quite close, if you don't want to walk it's only 3 minutes with a bus;
b) (”no nice breakfast place close by”) if you have been in our B&B you have to remember that our guests have breakfast on our nice terrace, if you want to have breakfast outside Rome has thousands of places!!!
c) (“screaming baby in the next door”) we are sorry if it disturbed you but family with children in our B&B are welcome and yes, babies sometimes cry or scream!!!
d) (prices) everyone can check that our prices are lower that the average prices of the B&B in San Pietro district;
e) (hostess) sorry but we don’t understand exactly what do you mean…
f) (luxurious break) do you want a luxurious holiday and you go in a B&B???
g) (bathrooms) we have normal size bathrooms (and of course we respect the law sizes);
h) (room size) our smaller room is 15mq!
i) (walls fluorescent) ahahah this is funny!
j) (air conditioned)  we thanks god you are happy about one thing!
k) (to save electricity bill…) dear guest, we don’t know why but you have been a bit cruel with us in your words. Don’t you think that one of the other guests could turn off the light going to bed or outside? It happens in our B&B (more than one told us) because our guests feel like at home and turn off the lights when they don’t need. And the funny thing is that we always have to tell them to keep them on for the other guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2011

This place is NOT for you if you like to take one good vacation per year! It is far from all the major attractions and the verde room which we stayed in is particularly gaudy. The air conditioner takes ages to cool down the room and the overall entrance of the building is a put off.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luxurytravellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mammaguapa, Proprietario at Bed a San Pietro Roma, responded to this review, August 19, 2011
Gentle guests, we are very sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay. We can only agree when you say that our B&B is not a luxury place. It is true because you didn't book a 5 star Hotel but a familiary B&B with many comfort (private bathroom, air conditioned, fridge, tv sat, free wifi). About the air conditioner it is very strange... maybe you pressed the wrong button on the remote? ("dry" or "heat" instead of the "cool" button...). By the way thank you for your feedback, next time please (wherever you will go) tell soon the owners if there is any problem, so that maybe it is possible to do something to solve it. Bye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2011

I found this b&b very nice and cosy. The owner Tiziana is extremely kind and welcoming, the rooms are big and very well furnished and the breakfast is served on a big balcony. It is a little bit far from the city centre but the bus stops right in front of the building and the Vatican City is just a few stops away. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpiceFra84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
145 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2011

I stayed at B&B San Pietro - Sep 2010

Pros
1. Good Value
2. Clean
3 Internet with one shared computer
4 Friendly staff
5 Supermarket near by called PAM
6 Own shower and Toilet
7 Own Cooker, Sink and Fridge (small)

Cons
1. Breakfast was not always early, considering nothing was fresh except the coffee
they could have left our breakfast in our rooms the day before so we could have break fast at anytime and go out at anytime. Once I waited and thought not worth the wait I am wasting valuble time in Rome and just brought breakfast.
2. It's was not that easy to find as it was a flat in an appartment block - so you can't see a sign from the street.

The B&B was about 10 to 15 mins walk from the tube station which is ok, not too far.
You kept the key until you left unlike some where you have to give the key back everytime you go out, not sure if that is a pro or con - you have the feeling of more freedom but then with pick pockets maybe its a good idea not to have the keys.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InfoseekUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Hotel La Genziana
#450 of 1,256 in Rome
118 reviews
Prati
San Pietro B&B
San Pietro B&B
#437 of 3,642 in Rome
41 reviews
Prati
B&B A Roma San Pietro
B&B A Roma San Pietro
#2,065 of 3,642 in Rome
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
B&B Roma Centro San Pietro
#2,168 of 3,642 in Rome
82 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Al Centro di Roma B&B
Al Centro di Roma B&B
#190 of 3,642 in Rome
251 reviews
Tiburtino
B&B Foscari House
B&B Foscari House
#229 of 3,642 in Rome
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed a San Pietro Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed a San Pietro Roma

Property: Bed a San Pietro Roma
Address: Via Gregorio VII 466, 00165 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,387 of 3,642 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bed a San Pietro Roma 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located only a stroll from the famous Vatican area, and within easy distance of the centre of Rome. Also nearby is Castel San'Angelo, Piazza Navona, Campo de' Fiori. Our charming B&B is convenient to shopping, fine dining, and all of Rome's most treasured central landmarks. Our charming, and affordable bed and breakfast in Rome is located on the first floor of an ornate Liberty-style building, situated in one of Rome's quiet corners.All our rooms have ensuite bathroom with shower and hairdryier, TV sat, WI-FI free connection, fridge, air conditioner.If you are planning to visit the capital city of Italy with your family, and you like personal ambiance, you may seriously consider to stay at the B&B San Pietro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Bed a San Pietro Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing