We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent price June 2009”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Merulana Star
Ranked #1,665 of 3,734 Rome B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 19, 2010

My friend and I stayed at the Merulana Star last year June 2009 for a mere 55 EUR per room, not including A/C. I was a bit hesitant since it was so incredibly cheap, but my worries were put to shame.
The hotel is located on the 1st floor in a residential building. It was extremely difficult for us to find, since there is no sign on ground level. The only sign, was on the corner of the building's first floor, which was barely visible due to the trees on both sides of the road. So remember to keep your eyes open and note that the hotel is located on the same side of Via Merulana as Teatro Brancaccio which is the neighbouring building.

We got a triple room even though we were only two, that meant we had more than enough space - around 20 m2. The room was spotless and we got fresh towels every day, I don't think the sheets were changed at all, but we only stayed 3 nights, so that wasn't really a big deal. There was the option of A/C for 10 EUR extra per day. Since our room was facing the busy and noisy Via Merulana, having the windows open at night was out of the question, so we had no choice but to pay the extra 10 EUR/night.
There was no option of breakfast at the hotel at the time of our stay, but that did not matter since the hotel is a stone's throw away from the best bakery in town: Panella l'Arte del Pane - Via Merulana 54. With plenty of seats, you can start the day off enjoying a nice caffe latte and croissant for under 2 EUR observing the locals as they casually drink an espresso and eat a pastry; standing upright. Something I could never do :-)
For dinner options I would highly recommend a Sicilian restaurant further down the road on Via Machiavelli, 5 called Baia Chia - they mostly serve sea food and the owner and staff are welcoming and very entertaining. The price range is very reasonable - we both had a primi, a secondi with side orders of grilled vegetables, a bottle of wine and the worlds best espresso for under 80 EUR. Compared to the prices in Copenhagen that is quite cheap and the food was absolutely yummy.
The area felt safe no matter the time, and that was a big issue since we were two women travelling. It was close to the Termini Station and around a good 10 minutes walk away from The Colosseum. If you are somewhat fit and able, the hotel is within walking distance to all the major sights. If walking is an issue there is both a Metro stop nearby Vittorio Emanuele and several buses stopping along the Via Merulana.
On the day of departure we were late and unfortunately I forgot my phone at the hotel. After several calls and emails, they verified that they had found it. But it took them around 3 weeks or so to send it back to me, I don't quite understand why that was. When I finally received it again, 4 weeks after my departure, the settings of the phone had been changed completely which leads me to believe that someone had used the phone and maybe that is why they were in no hurry to return it. But then again: I am just guessing.
I am currently planning my second trip to Rome, and I was going to stay at the Merulana Star once again. It is a no frills hotel that is perfect if you are only going to sleep and shower there, but the prices have sky rocketed to around 90 EUR per night for the same dates as my last stay. But the price now includes the use of A/C. Unwillingly I have therefore found another place to stay for my second trip to Rome.

What I like:
- Very cheap accommodation (summer 2009)
- Proximity of the sights
- The staff - we got a thorough guide from the owner when we arrived, useful tips on what to see and when to go
- Reception open 24 hours
- Across the street from the best bakery
- Clean large room with en suite bathroom.
- Never heard any of the other guests staying - if there were any.
- Did not have to pay for the return of my phone.

What I dislike:
- High prices (summer 2010)
- If you are a foodie like me, there's far between the good winebars (enotecas) and restaurants in the area. The nearest winebars we found were located around the Monti/Colloseo area
- The bed was nowhere near comfy - but after a full day of sightseeing you are not too fussed about a minor detail like that.
- The noise from the street. Our room was facing Via Merulana, but a couple of ear-plugs and again the exhaustion from walking around town made us quite deaf and we slept like babies.
- There was a small closet for our clothes and stuff. But as the sliding mechanism was broken, we could only access the part for the hangers. And since there was only 3 hangers we couldn't really un-pack.
- That someone had been messing with my phone and the 4 weeks I was phoneless. But then again, I shouldn't have forgotten it in the first place ;-)

All in all the hotel was very reasonably priced in summer 2009 and had the prices not increased 25 EUR per night I would definitely be staying there again.
I would without doubt recommend it but not to a ludicrous 90 EUR per night. But maybe they have upgraded the beds, the closets and all the sights, by some law of physics yet to be discovered, have been moved closer to the hotel.
Back in the real world, I have a hard time imagining how the Merulana Star could justify a price change of that calibre. The only change I can see on their website is the added Breakfast Lounge, which in my opinion is a bit useless given the bakery across the street.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarwat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (92)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 92 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2009

We booked the hotel through internet after read some good reviews. We booked 2 rooms for 6 people, cost 70 euro per room. We chose the hotel because of the price and location. The hotel was relatively close to Vittorio Emanuele station (2 stop from termini station). Just make sure you know how to go the hotel since from underground stop, could be confusing. We found out also there's a bus stop really close to the hotel (not sure the bus #) if you want to go from/to Termini Station. The sign of the hotel was also not obvious, so just try to remember how's the front door look like from the picture on the web.

The receptionist was very nice and helpful. He explained to us how to reach most of tourist area around the hotel. He can speak English very well and willing to help. There're 6 of us, and we got 2 separate rooms but all at the same level (first floor, above ground level). There's small lift if need to bring some luggage, but we didn't use it though since we didn't bring large luggage. The room was clean and big enough. The third bed was small but it's good enough for our son. Inside the room, you can find basic amenity.

There's small cafeteria just below the hotel, and cost 5 euro for breakfast (descent breakfast, coffee, fresh orange juice, bread, croissant).

Cons: additional cost for AC ~ 10 Euro, small shower, small TV with limited channe

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank icedrag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2009

Pros:-
Great location, on a main bus route the fourty something express and within 10 minutes walk to Emanuelle Metro stop/ Termini Station and the colleseum. We walked everywhere (a good pair of shoes are recomended) which was relatively easy with the Map we were given by the Hotellier. An hours walk from the Vatican (with lots of great sites to see on the way) which is the further point away. Lots of places to eat close by, there's a good Gelaterria further up the road and also many little shops, selling fresh fruit etc.

Great service, the Reception staff were very friendly and had decent english. The rooms were cleaned everyday and fresh towels provided.

The bed was very comfortable, two singles but together which made a King size bed and we were upgraded for free to a room big enough to have two more guests (a spair thin mattress and a single chair/bed) The bathroom was very small, but had all that was needed a good shower, sink and toilet. There was a "mini bar fridge" but it wasn't very cold with snacks/ drinks at an extra charge ( we used it to store grapes in) I believe air conditioning is an extra charge too, we didn't use it and were fine lying on top of the thin sheets.

Buffet breakfast is offered each day as an optional for 5 Euros per person, this includes croissants, coffee, hot milk, cereals, ham, cheese, bread, biscuits and cakes, hot chocolatte - we used this service twice and it was OK. 8 Euros in the cafe below for breakfast. Or near Termini there are more cafes which offer english/irish/american breakfasts.

Cons
- Rooms were rather warm and so air conditioning would have been nice (there was a unit but we never tried it)
- Noisy, because your on a main road, right in the centre of the city with single glazed windows it is quite noisy. I slept fine, but if your a light sleeper you might be best getting very good ear plugs.

I booked this hotel to reduce costs and because I didn't mind just having the basics to have a great location. I was very happy with this hotel, it was better than expected. It is not a hotel for those who want luxury/relaxation.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soniabladex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2009

My partner and I had a very nice stay for 5 days at Merulana Star. We are 20 and 24 years old and was in Pisa, Florence and Rome this summer.

The hotel is situated on a road with large trees and a nice selection of cafes and shops. Perfect location for experiencing the eastern part (archeological sites = 5 min walk) of rome center, and close to metro if you dont want to walk to the western part.

The standard is simple but was perfect for us. Everything is new and there is a nice little flatscreen tv and lots of storage for cloth in the rather small room. Bathroom was nice and big enough.

Rooms are cleaned nicely every day, and linnen are changed every second day. Place is run by kind brother and sister, and they speak english and are ok helpful.

There is a small fridge with drinks and snacks (room for more).

This is a nice place if you are after a cheap double room, and wanna stay close to the center.

It is possible to walk to the hotel from the Termini Station and you don't need to pay the 27 euros taxis will try and charge you (its a 10 min walk).

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuneSonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017
Thank Marco L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank thanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Florida
Florida
#960 of 1,271 in Rome
197 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Flavia
Hotel Flavia
#681 of 1,271 in Rome
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Verona
Hotel Verona
#299 of 1,271 in Rome
661 reviews
Colonna
Hotel Stendhal
Hotel Stendhal
#105 of 1,271 in Rome
949 reviews
DeA Suite Roma
#308 of 1,165 in Rome
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Merulana Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Merulana Star

Address: Via Merulana 240, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,665 of 3,734 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: $59 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Merulana Star 1*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Merulana Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing