We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Telegraph Suites
Ranked #250 of 3,690 Rome B&B and Inns
Greenbelt, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great location and hotel”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed in the Ugo Tognazzi apartment in August 2012. It's located on the third floor above street level (4th floor by American standards). It was a large space, including a separate kitchen/living room and a bedroom. It also had a loft area in the bedroom where two single beds were set up for our children.

The suite was very comfortable and had everything we needed. The staff at the front desk was always very helpful with our questions and requests, directing us toward a grocery store or getting a cab to drive us to the airport. I called them before we arrived as we were scheduled to arrive after their office hours and they were most accommodating and helpful over the phone, letting me know a night guard would be there to show us to our apartment, which happened.

The bed was large and comfortable and the AC was more than adequate to keep the apartment comfortable (it may not suit people who like an AC running at 70 when it's 90 outside but that's just wasteful anyway). I loved the shower and the bathroom was small but modern and well appointed (we traveled with our own toiletries.)

We used the kitchen for breakfast only (there's a small Despar grocery store a few blocks from the hotel where you can purchase everything needed for breakfast) and it was fine although I never got the kettle to work (I used a pan to boil water for tea). There also was a washer in the kitchen (laundry detergent available at the front desk for 2 Euros) although we didn't use it.

The hotel also has a great location, 10 minutes away from the Coliseum or from the Trevi Fountain. We really walked all over Rome from this strategic central location. We always made a detour by the hotel room in the afternoon to take a short rest from walking and the heat.

There was a little bit of noise but this is expected from a large city like Rome. The noise never prevented us from sleeping (walking all over Rome for a day will tire you enough anyway). Yes, there was some activity early on (the recycling truck dumping a full container of glass bottles will wake you up). If you're susceptible to noise, bring a pair of ear plugs or choose to stay outside the busy city. I must say that the restaurant below the hotel (Cabana) was closed for its annual vacation when we visited.

Finally, the street in which the hotel is a short alley just off Piazza Venezia. Granted, it isn't the prettiest street around and you should be aware of your surroundings. But that applies for anywhere you travel.

Overall, a great little find for a family of four, at a very reasonable price. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KSB_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    86
    17
    4
    4
See reviews for
185
128
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Had four nights here in July/Aug 2012 and was very pleased with my choice. We were a family party of 7 and were allocated two apartments on the 3rd floor with an inter-connecting door.

The e-mail communication with the Dolce Vita, prior to arrival, was very prompt, with good English.

The location is perfect, right on the corner of Piazza Venezia. This meant that it was only a couple of minutes walk from the "Wedding cake" and the Forum, with the Coloseum only 5 minutes further away. Within a similar 5 minute walk radius will take you to the Piazza Navona and the Trevi Fountain. All the major bus routes (we used the buses to the Vatican and the Main railway station) are a one minute walk from the front door. You can buy the bus tickets (€1.50 for 100 minutes unlimited travel) at the small shop near the end of the road to the apartment. Do not forget to validate the tickets in the machine on board (when you first get on the bus). The main shopping street (Via Corsa) is one block away.

I am a bit confused by the comments regarding the "alley way". The entrance door is straight onto a narrow road, but is deadend for cars, with a pedestrian alley way at the end of this road. It is not dark during daylight hours! At no time of day did we feel unsafe. There was noise early in the morning (one day was the bin men!) but the location more than compensates for this.

There is a lift to the main floors. It is small but fine.

The accomodation is great. Each apartment had a lounge/dining room which incorporated a small kitchen area plus a main bedroom with a mezzanine floor off it (with a single bed on). The bathrooms were small but well fitted. Note: there areonly showers (not baths). There were five steps from the lift to the front doors and and further three steps between the lounge area and the bedrooms. One of our party used a wheel chair but could manage these steps OK. Each apartment was well kitted out with crockery and cutlery, plus sufficent pots and pans - so self catering was easy. In addition, one of our apartments even had a washing machine. The 3rd floor had a outdoor patio area which was great for puting out the washing to dry.

Both our apartments had two air conditioning units (one in the lounge and the other on the mezzanine bedroom area). These worked well, but did need the "on" button pressed twice to operate them - maybe this is why previous reviewers had problems.

All the receptionists were friendly and helpful and spoke good English. We arrived at 11.00pm and were met by the night porter. He had no English but was helpful and showed us how everthing in the apartments worked.

There are plenty of cafe and restaurants around, but the nearest grocery store is a good 10/15 minute walk away. However, it is near the market in the Campo de' Fiori, which is the place to buy your fruit and veg.

All in all the apartments were very good value for money.

Please note that the top attraction - the Domus Romanus - is just across the main street from the apartments. This is great, but prebook as only 15/20 people are allowed on each tour.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DMSBIKER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We traveled to Rome at the end of July after enjoying a wonderful experience in Umbria. Coming to DVR was a low point of our trip. The people at DVR were not very hospitable. The rooms are not what they seem. The air conditioning was not adequate. Access to the building is somewhat scary -- off a dark, dirty, crowded alley. We were misguided through both their website and personally by the people running the residence about the space. We traveled with our three young children and had paid more for a room to have a larger space and a bigger bathroom to accommodate us but this was not the case. They charged us more money but did not deliver. They misguide people on the descriptions of the space they offer. The air conditioning was completely inadequate for the rooms. We had it at the highest setting but it was warm at best. The person at the desk was unhelpful and actually quite nasty when we spoke with her about what we could do about these situations. We were bullied into paying the full amount even though we had to leave to due to the space not being able to provide what we needed. We respectfully tried to work with them to work out an amicable solution but they would not have none of it and feel perfectly fine with charging us the full amount. We would not only NOT recommend DVR as a place to stay in Rome we would advise you not to stay there. They are unreasonable people. It's amazing that in this day and age of the customer being very important that they treat theirs so poorly. We read some of the other reviews and worry that the people who own the place are writing them to make you think it is better than it is. DVR was a real negative point on our trip.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FedeDolceVita, Direttore generale at The Telegraph Suites, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Dear guest,

We aren't surprise to see your review. We would maintain our professionalism despite your misconduct. We would only communicate that we received an email some times ago where you threated us to damage our reputation if we won't refound the amount of your stay. During your stay I personally worked with you and I claim to have been really polite and available to find a solution for you. I would underline that we assigned you the exact apartment you booked and you really know that. I would also remember you that you invented some excuses to demonstrate that something in the apartment didn't works (as the air conditioning). Once I've been in your apartment to check possible malfunctioning you slam the door of the bathroom on me and I didn't say anything because I'm a professional person and there were also your kids in the apartment. I don't want to say anything more but let me confirm that we're proud of our work and proud to haven't give way your blackmail.
We hope you won't have the same conduct in every structure you book and you will respect more people that work inside.

Kind Regards
Dott.ssa Federica Bianchi
Dolce Vita Residence
Direction&Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Stayed at this Hotel/Residence twice and loved it both times. The location is PERFECT!!! It's right in the center of town, right near Piazza Venizia. It's a bit busy because it's a HUGE Roundabout but in the end it's easy access to shopping, sightseeing, taxis, food and all the wonderful cafes. The rooms were laid out very nice. Lots of space, came with the important things like a "bialetti" for coffee! After all, we're in ITALY, it's a MUST to have coffee/espresso all day long! It was safe, easy to access (well not including the mini elevator) but at least they had one, and most importantly it was CLEAN! Service was great, the ladies at the front were ever so helpful with their italian accents and all... There is one downside to this location, it's off an alley and the workers in it are noisy early in the morning (5am) till late at night (1am) so if you're jetlag better get earplugs to get some rest to break it. Overall... its a great place, great price, great location with great service. One more thing... there are cafe's out front that are open 24hours that serve beer and coffee 24/7!!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuamTopher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

July was hot as hell and with the two kids this place was perfect to get back in the hotel during the hot hours, get a shower and then get back to visit other places. The air conditioning is great and the place have enough space for all 4 of us.
The rooms are modern and comfortable with a lot of wardrobe space. The kitchen was really convenient and well equipped, we cook it there 3 times and saved some money. Another convenient item is the washer.
The place was quiet even being so close to the Venetian Square

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caiusdalmau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We stayed in the Anna Magnani apartment on the 3rd floor. Apartment was spacious and clean with a well equipped kitchen and a washing machine. ROME was hot, hot, hot but apartment had three very good air conditioners so we were comfortable day and night. Bathroom was excellent and the apartment had a second toilet. A large terrace was situated on the third floor of the hotel. It didn't have any views but it was very peaceful to sit there in the afternoon. Great location, walking distance to most attractions, but also very convenient to catch buses from Piazza Venezia just around the corner. Staff were very helpful and went out of their way to assist us. Felt very safe in the area and happily walked the local alleys to restaurants late at night. We really felt at home

Room Tip: Third floor apartment was very quiet and there was a terrace located on the same floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FEV25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We selected this place based on the recommendations of this website. The is the second time we choose a place based on scores and it will be the last.

It was boiling hot in the rooms, no air conditioning, terrible beds, more a kin to a camping. We were woken up at 2 am by the flat upstairs havings a shower. Just terrible.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mm1357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trevi
Hotel Piazza Venezia
Hotel Piazza Venezia
#310 of 1,261 in Rome
208 reviews
Trevi
Cosmopolita Hotel
Cosmopolita Hotel
#308 of 1,261 in Rome
1,262 reviews
Trevi
Hotel Mancino 12
Hotel Mancino 12
#46 of 1,261 in Rome
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Trecento
Hotel Trecento
#508 of 1,261 in Rome
118 reviews
Trevi
Via del Corso Home
Via del Corso Home
#97 of 3,690 in Rome
139 reviews
Trevi
Domus Libera
Domus Libera
#68 of 3,690 in Rome
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Telegraph Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Telegraph Suites

Property: The Telegraph Suites
Address: Via del Mancino 11, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trevi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #250 of 3,690 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Telegraph Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Telegraph Suites welcomes its guests in exclusive designed suites in the heart of Rome, located just steps away from Trevi Fountain and major shopping streets such as Via Condotti and Via del Corso. Charm, elegance and design all come together in a unique location to guarantee privacy and comfort within a spacious suite which offers unequaled excellent service of Hotel accommodation of a very high standard. Each suite has been uniquely designed and has a sixties style with modern contamination: all suites have comfortable king-size bed, heating and air conditioning, complimentary minibar upon arrival, satellite TV with LCD screens and free high-speed Wi-Fi internet access. Nearby sites and attractions include the Roman Forums, the Spanish Step, the Pantheon and Navona Square. Rome's major train (Termini Station), bus and subway stations are nearby. The helpful staff is at guests' disposal to book trips and excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Telegraph Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolce Vita Residence Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing