We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Served it's purpose”
Review of A Casa di Penelope

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
A Casa di Penelope
Ranked #3,156 of 3,743 Rome B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 7, 2010

We ended up staying in Casa Di Penelope after the place we were supposed to be staying in the same building was apparently "under construction"! Very clean, modern rooms, perfect for location and exploring Rome.

More a room in an apartment block than a hotel or B & B, walls very thin...but other than that if you need somewhere cheap as a base to sleep and shower whilst exploring Rome this place is perfect.

Babu, the owner was very helpful...

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fishmina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (171)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 171 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2009

I can hardly call it a b&b. It seems to be a large apartment converted into a hostel-style acoomodation, but with private bathrooms in each room. The place itself is located in a large residential/office building on the second floor. Once you walk in, there is a tiny reception area and about 6 or 8 rooms directly adjacent to the reception area. Hence, there is no privacy whatsoever.

The rooms themselves are rather large, newly furnished and simply decorated.

The location is very close to Termini, however not ideal for sightseeing. We ended up going to Piazza Navona and Espagna area every day which was far from the accomodation. Next time I would stay in one of those areas because you can walk anywhere from there and all the restaurants/attractions are located there. Termini area is dirty and not very nice at all.

The "apartment" setup really threw us off, it was quite awkward. You could hear everything what was going on in the reception area, and I am sure they could hear everything going on in the rooms. For this reason alone I wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2009

Excellent location, funky décor and clean and tidy

We stayed at the Bed & Breakfast A Casa Di Penelope in Rome for 5 days in June. We flew into Ciampino airport which is about 30 minutes drive into the centre of Rome. You can buy your tickets either at the booth in Ciampino airport or at the Bus stop which is out of the airport and to the left. Return tickets are 8 euros each. The bus drops you off at the train station. The Penelope B&B was about a 5/10 minute walk and very easy to find. We emailed the B&B prior to going and the owner send us instructions from the Train station, very helpful!

The B&B is very modern and new. It’s decorated with white walls and floors and is extremely clean and tidy. Our room had a double bed, Plasma TV, Mini fridge, Air conditioning, bathroom with Shower. The rooms were cleaned daily with fresh towels.

The rooms are fitted with safety security boxes but were not working and had not been activated even through the B&B had been open for 2 months. This was not ideal as we had to carry our cash around Rome for the 5 days. Even though your room is secure still would have been better to have.

The Bed and Breakfast offers breakfast but its within a café round the corner, the owner took us round on our first morning, this was perfect for us as we had a quick pastry and coffee and away we went.

The B&B is in a perfect location as you are out of the centre but still in easy distance for everything. You are next to bus stops and metro centres. We didn’t take any public transport whilst in Rome as we walked everywhere and found this easier, cheaper and you got to see more things, but its totally up to yourself. It was about a 30 minute walk to the Trevi Fountain, 40 to Coliseum and about the same to the Vatican.

Around the accommodation there is excellent restaurants, we were a couple and ate out every night for about 40 euros all together that included, 2 first courses of pasta, 2 main meals with sides, half craft of wine, water and coffee. Excellent value and the food is great!! Don’t eat around the tourist attractions as you will get ripped off and the food doesn’t taste the same as the smaller, family run businesses.

On our last day we had arranged to pay for the accommodation with our visa card, the owner told us his machine had not been set up, this was really inconvenient as we had to then take money out of the ATM which charged us a £40 fee (equivalent to another nights stay) . This should have been noted on the website that he could only take cash. Again this should have been sorted due to the B&B being open.

But all and all a very good place to stay, excellent location, reasonable cost, very clean and tidy and good customer service from the owner. Would definitely recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GemmaUK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lamarti86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Toby E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Laurica V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Francesco R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
UNA Hotel Roma
UNA Hotel Roma
#97 of 1,270 in Rome
3,149 reviews
Esquilino
Suite Dreams
Suite Dreams
#107 of 1,270 in Rome
1,505 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#456 of 1,270 in Rome
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,270 in Rome
6,965 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#111 of 1,270 in Rome
1,235 reviews
Domidea Hotel
#227 of 1,270 in Rome
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Casa di Penelope? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Casa di Penelope

Address: via Varese, no 5 | Marsala - Termini, Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3,156 of 3,743 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: $45 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — A Casa di Penelope 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Casa di Penelope" embodies a new concept of Hotel, a unique space with several rooms where art, atmosphere and hospitality blend together and create a fascinating path of sensorial involvement. Design... Comfort... Innovation... Location... Vision...every room is an open space designed to be a synthesis that gives a broad liberty of expression to our guests embraced by the milky white of our industrial resin floor. Hands... Mouth... Ears... Nose... Eyes... every room is characterized and become a unique space defined by the details that live within it: original works of art made of Bakelite and designed by Giovanni Lamorgese in every bedroom, vintage objects shown in the hall. The building is located in the Umbertin area very close to Termini station, 10 minutes by walk from the main important monuments of Rome like the Colosseum an the Roman Forum. The Vatican, the Spanish steps, Trevi Fontain, Piazza Navona are all no more than 15 minutes away from the hotel on public transport. To get to Fiumicino airport it takes 30 minutes by train from Termini station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your A Casa di Penelope reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Casa Di Penelope Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing