We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic base for exploring Rome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Five Oscars Inn
Ranked #87 of 1,089 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic base for exploring Rome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

A tremendous bargain in a city that can be quite expensive accommodation wise. It's located roughly 15 mins walk from both the Colosseum and the Trevi fountain (in opposite directions). Massimo, the host, was an absolute gentleman and was very helpful in pointing out places to see in the nearby area. There were some excellent bars and restaurants nearby too. I couldn't recommend this place highly enough. The rooms might be a little on the small side but they were immaculately maintained as was the bathroom. Wifi was excellent too.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cianos78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    27
    8
    0
    2
See reviews for
9
72
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

The Five Oscars Inn was at first a little tricky to find! There was an ancient door in which you ventured towards an archaic, gothic lift with the traditional doors that you pull open. It was completely unexpected! At first our opinion was to find another hotel but as soon as we went upstairs and met the hotel owner we felt at home. He was very knowledgable about the ancient city and gave us a map with circled places that were a must see. Of course the obvious like the Roman Forum and the Trevi Fountain, but he also recommended traditional Roman restaurants which were delicious. The hotel was located centrally and only took a 10 minute walk to get the Trevi Fountain and about 15 minutes to the Colosseum. The room itself was perfect, it had a beautiful bathroom suit which was spotlessly clean and the bedroom had gold interior decor. We opted for the small double which was plenty big enough for 2 girls sharing as we were only visiting for a few nights. Breakfast was served at the cafe opposite in which you could order a pastry, coffee or tea and ham and cheese toasties; a good start to a day of touring the city. You were given a key to open the large wooden door and for your room which was great as you could come and go as you please. The manager told us to treat it like our own home. Don't get put off by the outside as inside it is a hidden jewel. I was definitely stay there again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Cbrown16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Venezuela
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

The location is perfect, the hotel is near all the most important attractions, the room was perfect, and the owner, Massimo, was very helpful during our stay, he recomended us the best restaurant in Rome, it was very close to the hotel as well. The cost-value relation is incredible, you will really feel at home. We hope to return.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Led V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

Top marks and all credit to the owner, Massimo, who adds a personal touch and takes genuine interest in the comfort of his guests, arranging airport transfers, maps, directions, restaurant tips and more. Our room was very beautiful and tastefully decorated, silk wallpaper(!), colour changing 'mood' lighting, welcome chocolates on the pillow, tea/coffee in the room - all very clean and neat. The location is perfectly situated centrally - in the 3 nights we stayed in Rome we saw 90% of the major attractions on foot without using any public transport. I would definitely stay here again and recommend the Five Oscars to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarsGemini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north west
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stayed at The Five Oscars Inn for two nights (2-4 Dec) and couldn't fault our accommodation. Excellent value for money - the room and bathroom was lovely and clean and the location fantastic and near all the tourist spots. A special mention to Massimo (the owner) who made the trip extra special by arranging taxis to take us to and from hotel (45e) and taking the time to show us the best way to get to the various sights. Would highly recommend for the price. Brian and Lorraine

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattjay40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilly, Brabant, Belgium
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

Hotel very well located. 10 min from the Trevi fountain and from the Coliseum.
Rooms very quiet and clean.
DVD device in the room with a choice of DVD available for free.
This hotel is perfect for a long week-end. We stayed 2 nights and it is perfectly situated with a bus stop at 2 min and a street with restaurants at 2 min too.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vero2803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

We stayed at this hotel from 13 November until 20 November 2013. Mr Massimo (the owner) is very kind but you only see him when you check in as the hotel doesn't have a manned reception desk. We stayed in room 202 and the 4 (new) rooms on this floor are part of the Quality Inn Rome (as the Five Oscars Inn is actually located on the 1st floor of the building). Nevertheless, the room was very decent, good bed, very well isolated from street noise, electronic safe, electric kettle and a small fridge. The location of the hotel is really splendid: most of the places of interest are at walking distance from the hotel.
Major minus point: the breakfast (served opposite the hotel) is only one croissant, one cup of coffee and one glass of orangeade. When I told Mr Massimo about the poor breakfast his reaction was that Italians prefer a large dinner instead of a large breakfast.....
For the rest we enjoyed our trip and the hotel room very much.

Small minus points: plastic disposable cups and beakers, airconditioning

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brammetjeNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Five Rooms Rome
Five Rooms Rome
#77 of 1,089 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Campo Marzio
Ripetta 25
Ripetta 25
#10 of 1,089 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Monti
Soggiorno Comfort
Soggiorno Comfort
#2,265 of 3,762 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
New Generation Hostel Santa Maria Maggiore
Trevi
Mood Suites Tritone
Mood Suites Tritone
#13 of 1,089 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Monti
MarcoAurelio49 Apartments - Colosseo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Five Oscars Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Five Oscars Inn

Property: The Five Oscars Inn
Address: Via Milano 49 | 1° piano - Int. 6, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 1,089 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Five Oscars Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome! We will take care of you from the moment of your booking and we will give you accommodation in our quiet and comfortable rooms that have just been refurbishe. The Five Oscars Inn is located in the heart of the city, a stone's throw from the most important museums and monuments. The ideal place for your tourist itineraries on foot, which we will be happy to prepare together with you with enthusiasm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Five Oscars Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing