We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to stay”
Review of Mecenate Rooms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mecenate Rooms
Ranked #891 of 3,735 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 6, 2013

I was in Rome with my mum in April 2013. I've found this place on the internet. The location is fantastic, the Colosseum is just in few minutes walking distance. You can find nice restaurants, shops in the area. The rooms are tidy, the personal is nice and they are always there to help. I can recommend this place. Krisztina

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Krisztina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 167 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2013

Getting a hotel in Rome can be really hard at certain times of the year, and always expensive. Having to spend a night in Rome, a friend suggested this place. Run by two extremely charming young girls who bought this ground floor apartment as an investment, and have done it up into 4 ensuite rooms, it is my best find in a long time. The rooms are spacious, with immensely high and gorgeously vaulted ceilings, decorated with quirky personal taste - not the usual IKEA matching lamps, but personally chosen 1950's vintage furniture. Spotlessly clean, and with wifi, coffee and tea making facilities they are a steal in and of themselves. Team that with the location, a 2-3 minute walk from the Colosseum, which you can even see from some of the windows, and this place is unbeatable. It will be my first choice every time I come to Rome in future.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Calpurnia33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay - terrific central location - very close to Colosseum; restaurants and transport systems to all major attractions. We didn't need any taxis everything accessible by public transport. We felt very safe both in the B&B and the location.
Rooms clean, Marta and Camille were great really helpful - I didn't realise there was no reception as such and Marta bless her waited an hour for my daughter to arrive. Would definitely stay there again .

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Usherxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Mecenate was my fourth B&B on my trip through Italy and I absolutely loved it. The ladies are wonderful and were so flexible with arrival time and responsive to all my emails. The room was spacious and clean and the B&B felt personal. You really do get the feeling of living in Italy. It's in a primal location away from all the noise. In front of you is a small park which you walk through to get to the Coliseum. You are instantly in walking distance to numerous restaurants and the Roman Forum. A year later I returned with my husband (boyfriend) at the time and he simply loved it. As another reviewer mentioned, you are on the first floor so there is no need to haul your luggage up stairs which not knowing on my first trip to Italy, became a big deal. I had stayed in numerous B&B and must say this one always stands out as being one of my favorites.

Room Tip: I stayed in the Giovenale Room. From the window you can see the upper half of the Coliseum. Beautifu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank feyamor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Terrific location, a short walk through a lovely park to the Coliseum. The neighborhood was safe feeling and only a few blocks to plenty of restaurants. Camilla and Marta were very helpful and the room and bathroom were clean and comfortable. Unlike a previous review we didn't find it noisy and the windows were fitted with shutters. A big plus was that it was on the ground floor, so no lugging cases up stairs. Hopefully we will be back one day.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ozart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Enjoyed staying in these rooms rather than in a hotel. They had everything we needed including wifi & tea & coffee making facilities. Location just a couple of minutes through the park to the magnificent Coliseum so we were able to walk back after dark and enjoy the floodlit view of this wonder. Many restaurants from 0 - 5 stars within 5 minutes walk. Marta was extremely helpful with any inquiries I made by email before arrival and I particularly recommend the airport transfer company they use. We were collected by a uniformed driver right on time from the front door and delivered to the correct terminal in a very short time and at a price barely 10 Euros more than if we had walked back to the Termini and caught the direct train.

Room Tip: Catch the local bus from Termini very cheaply to reach the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaigeySouthAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Let me first start out this review by stating Camilla and Marta (the inn keepers) were extremely helpful, gracious and wonderful hosts who helped us emensely throughout our stay.
But there were some issues...
The rooms are loud, especially the red painted room and the other one bedroom. It's not even that the street is extremely busy, it's that the windows are paper thin, and you can hear everything that happens in the lobby area as well. They could improve this by getting some better insulated windows and a more private and insulated entrance door to the rooms.
The rooms were well appointed but the bathrooms left little to be desired. The showers are hard to use, which wouldn't be a problem for me since I prefer baths. However I couldn't take a bath in our tub because it was very dirty. The shower curtain was disgustingly moldy. All they needed to do was a buy a new shower curtain and scrub the tub a bit better, easy fix. The rest of the room was very neat, clean and well furnished. They do not change your sheets every day however, which didn't really bother us.
The location is a bit off the beaten path.
I loved the breakfast in the cafe across the street. Cappuccino was delicious!
And again the hosts are very lovely.
All in all an average stay but if they fixed the noise issues and bathroom problems, it would be
very good.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JTBarnard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Mecenate Palace
Mecenate Palace
#166 of 1,271 in Rome
1,741 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#458 of 1,271 in Rome
297 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,271 in Rome
6,918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#350 of 1,271 in Rome
434 reviews
Domidea Hotel
#221 of 1,271 in Rome
661 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#111 of 1,271 in Rome
1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mecenate Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mecenate Rooms

Address: Via Mecenate 79 | Rome, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #891 of 3,735 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: $64 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mecenate Rooms 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mecenate Rooms is located in the very heart of Rome, close to the Colosseum, the Roman Forum and other interesting places. Our 4 rooms are equipped with the best comforts and furnished with great care! Colosseo and Vittorio Emanuele are the closer underground stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Mecenate Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing