We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great place to stay”
Review of Mecenate Rooms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mecenate Rooms
Ranked #681 of 3,617 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
2 reviews
“A Great place to stay”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

The room is big, neet and in a great location to visit Rome.
The staff are excellent and friendly and very helpful.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mayuran S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    52
    19
    7
    1
See reviews for
20
113
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
Reviewed June 20, 2012

This was a lovely place to stay the room was lovely, big and clean with everything you could need and only a couple of minutes walk from the coliseum. Breakfast was great and everyone was friendly and very helpful. If you like your privacy and being able to come and go as you please this place is perfect as you have keys to the front door. I can't recommend it enough!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Samantha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Me and my fiance recently stayed at the Mecenate Rooms and we were extremely happy with our stay. The location was fabulous with so many nice restaurants and bars around it. The stroll through the park to the Coliseum was lovely. The staff were very helpful and the rooms were spacious with their own bathroom and amazing tall ceilings and windows. The only complaint that we have was that the shower was difficult to function and took a bit of fiddling with to get going, nothing that wouldn't stop us from going again though!
The breakfast across the road was very basic but filled a hole until we had a fantastic Italian lunch in the centre. We would definitely recommend Mecenate Rooms as it was great value for money. It was also easily accessible from the Termini train station (in which we had got a coach to there from the airport) as it only took 15 minutes to walk to the hotel.

Thanks for a great stay Mecenate Rooms :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ifeifebaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Very convenient location, about 5 min walk to a metro stop, shopping, dinner, and or the Colesium. The women that run the hotel are nice and helpful. I would recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone, it was truly a great experience!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovestravel83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Mecenate rooms is a great little b&b, the location is fabulous, with the Colosseum a short walk away. The rooms are really beautifully designed and contain everything you need - even a kettle (I think this is quite unusual for Europe outside of the UK?).

The price is fantastic and the b&b would really suit you if you like to 'do your own thing' - you don't have breakfast there but in a little cafe over the road which you claim with a voucher and the desk isn't manned 24 hours a day. However, Marta is really helpful and gave us advice over the phone when we needed it and she couldn't be around.

Some people have commented on the noise, the rooms are on the ground floor and there is a road outside. If you are used to complete silence then this may disturb you but I think it was much quieter than I would expect from a major city and I never found it to be so bad I couldn't sleep.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skinnytinni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the Mecenate B&B for one week in March 2012. Owners are friendly & helpful. Free, reliable wifi in the room is great. Great location, 2 minutes to the Colosseum & Subway system. Safe location. Once you get your bearings of the city, it's easy to walk around. The Termini Station is about a 15 minute walk up the main street, & easy to walk to once you know where you are. Self serve laundry on the main street, about a 10 minute walk, handy.
Only 4 rooms, so quiet. Double bed, TV but no english news stations ( you are in Italy ). Breakfast is a croissant & cappuccino across the street, basic, but gets you out the door. Very affordable, compared to hotels.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank chester38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

A group of 5 friends stayed in the Mecenate Rooms for a long weekend and have to stay it was well worth it. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable even for 5 girls and it was great that we were next door to each other. The accommodation is ideally situated for visiting Rome - its a casual stroll through the park, the Coliseum is facing you and then the trains and tourist bus are at the end of the park perfect for commuting around Rome - we even used the tourist bus for our taxi at night time when heading out. The staff were extremely helpful for the duration of the visit. Breakfast is provided in the small restaurant in the park, its perfect for whats needed. This was a perfect stay for a briliiant weekend - 3 years of we're still laughing about it.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheec99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Miclad B&B Colosseum Guest House
Monti
Terme di Traiano Bed and Breakfast
Monti
Nerva Accomodation
Nerva Accomodation
#85 of 3,617 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
I Capocci
I Capocci
#83 of 3,617 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Monti
Merulana Suite 2
Merulana Suite 2
#108 of 3,617 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Monti
Retrome Rome
Retrome Rome
#468 of 3,617 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mecenate Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mecenate Rooms

Property: Mecenate Rooms
Address: Via Mecenate 79 | Rome, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #681 of 3,617 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mecenate Rooms 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mecenate Rooms is located in the very heart of Rome, close to the Colosseum, the Roman Forum and other interesting places. Our 4 rooms are equipped with the best comforts and furnished with great care! Colosseo and Vittorio Emanuele are the closer underground stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mecenate Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing