We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent authentic Roman food and prices” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trattoria Il Ponentino

Trattoria Il Ponentino
Ranked #6,940 of 12,046 Restaurants in Rome
Price range: $20 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Trastevere
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
92 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Decent authentic Roman food and prices”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

This little trattoria is in my neighborhood and I've eaten there a number of times. It's never outstanding, but the food is generally good, the service friendly and attentive and the prices very reasonable for what you get. The tourist menus are a good value. I often get a pizza for carryout and it's a fine Romana style pizza for only 5 euro as they discount for take-away. They now have a buffet of fresh sauteed and marinated veggies that is very good. And a nice outdoor dining area. I find the service better inside.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank romalaurita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    269
    307
    228
    179
    271
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Bad Service - bad food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

We had two Menus and two ind. courses. Most of it was horrible. The Indian waiter was one of the most unfriendly waiters I had. Food was partly cold, fatty, fish uneatable. Would never go here again

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcus W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pas de Calais
Level Contributor
195 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Very good indeed for what you pay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Lots of negative reviews. Hmm. We had lunch there today and then looked it up on Trip Advisor. Surprised at so many negatives. Leisurely lunch for two of tripe and chicory, lasagne, extra water, bottle of wine, a pana cotta and a coffee. Just over 30 euros and sitting outside on a lovely sunny day in Rome. The place was packed and everybody was having a good time. Haute cuisine it isn't but then it doesn't pretend or set out to be. It's a very cheap trattoria in a city full of very expensive ones and some reviewers need to get real in my humble opinion.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PasdeCalaisJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The West
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Busy and Cheap. Total Trastevere experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

This place is a beehive at dinnertime. The pastas are really simple and good. The pizzas are huge and delicious. The house red wine is better than some expensive bottles in the U.S. It was a little chaotic until the maitre 'd showed up in his Italian suit and started barking orders to the waiters. Suddenly it was a well (olive) oiled machine and the service stepped way up. We enjoyed it thoroughly. Two pastas, chicory, wine, and a pizza were under 25 Euros.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Roadprisoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“It's cheap.....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

....and it should be. Ok, it's in a relatively nice location in a very small piazza (ish). That's more or less where the pleasant experience ended for us. It certainly wasn't a horrific lunch, but everything from the service to the food was mediocre at best. I'd love to go into more detail, but there just isn't much more worth saying. This is a tourist trap (despite other reviews to the contrary - at least when we we there). The service was slow (veeeeeery slow) and the food was bland. No-one could speak English, which I can understand as we're in Rome, but it was frustrating as the place attracted so many tourists and Italian is hardly a global language....anyway, we would suggest there are many better trattorias in Trastevere....

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Howzit_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Trattoria Il Ponentino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing