We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good”
Review of Ottaviano Augusto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ottaviano Augusto
Ranked #1,265 of 3,734 Rome B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed at the Ottaviano Augusto this past October. Great location with a easy walk to the Vatican. Nice old building updated and modern. Huge wooden door main entrance leads to a large hallway, stairs and elevator. We were on the 2nd floor in a smallish room but well appointed, good size bathroom and patio. Surprisingly super quiet even in downtown Rome! Mauro met us and gave us lots of information. While there was no refridgerator in the room there was one in the hall for communal use, plus free use of wi-fi. Very reasonably priced considering its location. Would recommend it to anyone who seeks budget accommodations in Rome with a super location!

Room Tip: There are several rooms so not sure how the others were but ours was a double with a patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crazyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 42 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2011

Excellent location. Within walking distance of all attractions and amenities. Cozy, comfortable room, not luxurious, but good basic quality. Owner is very courteous and helpful. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Choose the comfort room if there are two of you. It is worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank due_oriani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2011

The location allowed us visiting the Vatican in a walking distance. To other places we used the metro and buses. The room was very comfort and quiet and provided all our needs (including a fridge allowing storing food and beverages). I definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ayelletg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2011

I've been there again recently, and they upgraded all the rooms. Now there is a King bed, large TV, AC, a real fridge, fast WiFi and a PC if you do not have yours. Nothing to say about location: 3 min to the Vatican and yet very quiet.
But, above all, the bathroom is clean and brand new and this is what I care the most.

Room Tip: One room comes with an inner patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2009

My adult daughter and I stayed in the Ottaviano Augusto small double room for four nights. We decided to stay close to the Vatican, and this is two blocks from the Piazza of St. Peter and less than that to the Vatican Museum. The street outside is bustling, but the apartment is interior, with windows onto a sunspace rather than the street, and was totally quiet. The only indication we had that there were other people in the building was the occasional soft sound of steps on the floor above us.

The room is indeed small, but the only inconvenience from that was that the back person on the bed had to climb over the front person to get up. It is comfortably equipped with everything except a large floor space, and that can be found in the common room if needed. In the room, a small table folds out from the wall, perfect for eating or a couple of laptops, with folding chairs (or the edge of the bed) for seating; a closet for hanging clothes is located near the high ceiling, with a clever hooked pole for hanging and removing the hangers, and with drawers and shelves below. The bathroom is spacious and charmingly modern, but has the smallest shower (all glass) I have ever seen. A small lcd tv is mounted above the bed. The sheets were smooth and heavy, not at all like typical hotel sheets.

Everything looks brand new, and the remodel is very well-done, not done on the cheap like some places I can recall.

Rome was very hot while we were there, but the air-conditioning in the room cooled it extremely quickly when we came in, so turning it off when we left, as requested by a sign, was no problem. In addition to our room, we had access to a common room with a couch, (very old) computer with internet access, tv, dvd player, and table for four to eat or play games. There is even a piano, because the host is a professional musician. I am actually writing this on the computer in this room, as we get ready to leave for the train.

I would definitely recommend this place to most of my friends, but not to all. If you want room service, or at least an attentive, present host, you will not be happy here. Our host was available at all times by phone, but was not on the premises; make sure if you plan to stay here to give him an accurate time for your arrival so he will be waiting. There is no kitchen, or even a refrigerator, at least in the small room and common area. And if you are large, in any dimension, the small room is probably not best for you, since the bed is a standard double and the shower is so small.

Breakfast is not served onsite, but instead is provided with coupons for a cappucino and breakfast pastry at a cafe half a block away.

The only negative that affected us was internet connectivity. Our room was wired with very fast ethernet and our host provided a cable, and that worked fine for one computer at a time. But we did not have wifi; our host volunteered to enable it in the apartment, but warned that because of the thick walls (at least a foot!), wifi is not able to penetrate to our bedroom consistently. Since the common-room computer worked if we both needed to be online at once, we just did without wifi. If it will be important to you, talk to the host before making your reservations--or bring a wireless router of your own, for your room.

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ConvenienceFirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Matteo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Ta med öronproppar då sängarna är sköna, men knarriga.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#462 of 1,271 in Rome
297 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,271 in Rome
6,918 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#352 of 1,271 in Rome
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Domidea Hotel
#219 of 1,271 in Rome
661 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#111 of 1,271 in Rome
1,228 reviews
Esquilino
B&T Rooms
B&T Rooms
#1,886 of 3,734 in Rome
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ottaviano Augusto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ottaviano Augusto

Address: Via Ottaviano 25, 00192 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,265 of 3,734 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: $65 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Ottaviano Augusto 1*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ottaviano Augusto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing