We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant apartment and very friendly owners”
other travelers have booked this property
The Master Bedroom- Photo by TripAdvisor Official Photographer,
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Master Bedroom- Photo by TripAdvisor Official Photographer,
The Master Bedroom-TripAdvisor Photo The Master Bedroom-TripAdvisor Photo
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
213 reviews
The Master Bedroom- Photo by TripAdvisor Official Photographer,
The Master Bedroom-TripAdvisor Photo
The Master Bedroom-TripAdvisor Photo
The Second Bedroom-TripAdvisor Photo
The Second Bedroom - TripAdvisor Photo
The Second Bedroom-TripAdvisor Photo
The Second Bedroom - TripAdvisor Photo
The Kitchen-TripAdvisor Photo
The Kitchen-Custom Interiors- TripAdvisor Photo
The Kitchen-Artworks-Photo by Owner
The Kitchen-TripAdvisor Photo
The Kitchen - TripAdvisor Photo
The Kitchen- By Night-Photo by Owner
The Bathroom-TripAdvisor Photo
The Bathroom-TripAdvisor Photo
The Bathroom-Wide Jacuzzi Tub/Shower-Photo by Owner
The Bathroom-TripAdvisor Photo
The Bathroom-TripAdvisor Photo
The Kitchen-Photo by Owner
The Hallway-TripAdvisor Photo
The TV Lounge/Living Room-TripAdvisor Photo
The Elevator-Vintage Otis Elevator/Lift for 3 people -TripAdvisor Photo
The Entrance-Art Deco Marble Foyer-TripAdvisor Photo
Our 1936 Art-Deco Building-TripAdvisor Photo
Our Street-TripAdvisor Photo
The Master Bedroom for 2 people - Comfortable Memory Foam Mattress-Photo by Owner
Sunny Second Bedroom for up to 3,  garden balcony, view of rooftops and Castelli Romani Hills.
The Sunny Second Bedroom-Hand-Made Cabinetry-Photo by Owner
The TV Lounge/Living Room- TripAdvisor Photo
The TV Lounge/Living Room-TripAdvisor Photo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Rome, Lazio

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 213 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Stephyiin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant apartment and very friendly owners”
Reviewed May 24, 2012 for a stay in May 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Apartment in awesome state done by owner. Very homely and cosy. Very Thoughtful. I would recommend this apartment to friends and family.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caroline1...
Seattle, Washington
1 review
“Wonderful Stay at Minerva Apartment in Rome”
Reviewed May 19, 2012 for a stay in May 2012

My husband, son and I had a wonderful stay at the two bedroom Minerva apartment while we were in Rome in early May. We found the apartment on Trip Advisor and we were very impressed with the lovely apartment, the way it is furnished, and the attention and responsiveness Mary Therese and her husband Wolfango gave to us during our stay.

The apartment has been wonderfully remodeled by Wolfango and you can see the intricate workmanship in the woodwork and tile work throughout the apartment. We absolutely loved the huge bathroom which has two bathroom sinks, a large jetted tub and shower, and we made use of the washing machine in the bathroom. The large apartment by American standards had ample room for the three of us to move around.

The apartment is conveniently located to a supermarket and places to eat. It was very easy to either walk to the Coleseum and other sights or take the train. Since there were 3 of us, we decided to take a taxi from the airport to the Minerva apartment and it cost us 40 euros, well worth the cost.

We enjoyed the sights of Rome and we wished that we had scheduled more time in Rome and at the Minerva. We couldn't be more happy with the apartment and were well taken of by Mary Therese and Wolfango, ensuring that all our needs during our stay were met. Mary Therese and Wolfango told us that they are available 24/7 and we could call them at any time of the day if we needed something from them, which is unheard of and incredible service. On the day of our departure, Mary Therese and Wolfango came by to call a taxi for us and to make sure that we got off alright.

All the raving reviews of the Minerva on this site are true. We will definitely recommend the Minerva to all our friends and hope that someday we will be able to return to Rome, stay at the Minerva and see Mary Therese and Wolfango again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything, especially the bathroom.
Liked least: Liked everything.
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 18, 2012
Dear Catherine and family,

Hello. Many thanks to you for the nice review, we appreciate that people take time to show future travelers the continuing quality of the Minerva, it is important. We are so glad that you had a good stay, we hope that you have many wonderful memories of Rome to share back home. Hopefully you'll be back again to Rome one day, one trip is never enough!Thank you and Best regards,

Mary Therese and Wolfango
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dmbfan771...
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Perfect Stay in Rome!!”
Reviewed April 14, 2012 for a stay in April 2012

I searched Trip Advisor for months looking for the perfect place for our family of 5 to stay while in Rome. Since we have 3 adults and 2 children (6 and 14 months) we were looking for something bigger than a hotel, but still right in the middle of the action. The Minerva fit the bill exactly. I booked via email months ahead of time, and we stayed in contact to confirm as the date got closer. The hospitality started when we booked the apartment in January (our trip was in April). Mary Therese emailed me a 14 page word document with details about everything from transportation to local restaurants in the area. When the date finally arrived she and Wolfgango were waiting at the apartment and helped us settle in. Armed with a detailed map of the area and a highlighter, Mary Therese mapped out the entire city giving us recommendations on eating and activities in the area. The apartment was great, with enough room for us to spread out. They had the crib set up in our room and even bought milk for her and put in the fridge! They made sure that we had everything we needed for our vacation. We could have stayed there and talked with them for hours!! The apartment has 2 televisions with English speaking channels (although we never watched them!), Wi-Fi, free telephone service in case you need to call a taxi or make a dinner reservation, and a great bathroom with double sinks and a huge jacuzzi tub, which my older daughter and I loved!!! Unfortunately, my entire family got a 24 hour stomach virus, and Mary Therese offered to take us to the local clinic. We thankfully did not need to go, but the gesture was nice. The apartment is next to several restaurants, 2 metro stops within a couple of blocks in either direction, the bus line right outside the door, and the best gelato shop in all of Rome is across the street! We went every night we were there! The apartment is stocked full of up to date guide books and language translation books in order to help map out your vacation. We highly recommend the Minerva if you are visiting Rome!!! Thank you so much Mary Therese and Wolfgango!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hospitality
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 13, 2012
Dear Shaun and family,

Hello,

Thank you much for the kind review, we appreciate it much. We hope that your stay was a memorable one and that you have a chance to be back to Rome one day, once is never enough! It was a pleasure meeting you, truly, and if your cousin ever decides to come live in Rome, like he enthusiastically expressed, we are happy to give any tips and help he may need. We wanted to thank you for the foodstuffs you donated to the house, that is much appreciated, as we like to create a chain effect of donating a little something for the next arrivals, an old tradition in Italy in mountain inns, which we adopted. Many thanks to you for staying with us,
Best regards,

Mary Therese & Wolfango
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reblc
New Brunswick, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Roman Christmas”
Reviewed March 26, 2012 for a stay in December 2011
1
person found this review helpful

My husband, teenage step-son and I spent 8 nights (Dec 22-29) at the Minerva Apartment. We found the apartment to be a good size for three people who are used to having their own space. The apartment is located in a 'real' neighbourhood, not extremely close to the major tourist attractions, but we were able to walk easily to the Colosseo, etc. and Bascilia San Giovanni in Laterano, and the Manzoni Metro station (Line A, which runs to the Vatican) is not even 5 minute walk. This is a much nicer Metro station than the Vittorio Emanuele station. We made use of the grocery store across the street practically every day, and there were two restaurants that we enjoyed in the area, Il Tempio Minerva and RomAntica. Also, a tram and bus stop are DIRECTLY in front of the apartment building! So, although the neighbourhood might not meet romantic notions of Rome, it does have conveniences that other neighbourhoods might not have.

The kitchen, bathroom and bedrooms all met our expectations. The road can get busy, so be sure to use the metal shutters at night. Our hosts certainly made us feel welcome and went so far as to help me get my 'late' suitcase back, by making phone calls and waiting at the apartment for it to arrive while we were out sight seeing.

The apartment certainly added to the pleasure and memories of our Christmas in Rome!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space, wardrobes in bedroom, wifi, kitchen
Liked least: Not used to traffic noise - I live in the suburbs!!
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 25, 2012
Dear Rebecca and John,

Hello.Thank you much for the review! We hope your Christmas was a good one at the Minerva, in Rome, and that you have many good memories to share back home of your stay. Did you throw a coin in the Trevi fountain? Odds are you'll be back in Rome again one day...one trip is never enough, they say. Rome is very lovely right now in late March, with 70 degree days and bright sunshine, and light breezes.

Best regards,

Mary Therese and Wolfango
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TereFuf
Ferrette, France
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent apartment, attentive and committed owners”
Reviewed March 11, 2012 for a stay in February 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Mary and Wolfango were attentive right from when I enquired via TripAdvisor. The apartment was exactly as described and information was correct and upto date. They were there to greet us and spent some hours in showing us the apartment and enthusiastically describing the delights of their city with maps - which was inspiring and very helpful. There have useful city guides and lots of local contact infos. The apartment is on the 5th floor (small lift) and has two bedrooms, one larger and can act as a living room given a 3rd bed and sat TV. The hallway also has a TV and a comfortable sofa. Kitchen and large family bathroom all separate off the hallway, so plenty of room even with 3 laptops and 2 teenagers. Wifi very good (gets busy in the evenings). Kitchen very well stocked and we ate in often (local supermarket just opposite and famers market 3 blocks away). One small tip - serving spoons for Salad would be a helpful addition. Great icecream place over the road (but no ice box in the aparment so buy only what you'll eat in the moment). The road is busy with cars and trams - but apartment is quiet (good windows) and we slept very well (beds very good).
Located in a non-touristy area, so you see some more gritty city life, but is residential and safe. It is within walking distance of the Colliseo and Fori Romani, otherwise bus and metro are a few blocks away and communication is easy. If you really get lazy, taxis seem to be 15EUR home from anywhere in the city.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Home from home feel inside
Liked least: The extra few blocks to walk at the end of the day, from the metro or bus
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 10, 2012
Dear Teresa and family,
Many thanks for your kind and truthful review. We will take up your tips as soon as possible. We hope your stay was a good one and that you have many good memories to share back home. We were thrilled that the girls enjoyed reading the books in the house, we are still adding more all the time.Many thanks for the great care you had for the house, we appreciate it much. It was wonderful meeting you and we hope you'll be back to Rome again one day, once is never enough.

Best regards,

Mary Therese and Wolfango
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JENKS18
CARDIFF
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“GOOD QUALITY AND CONVENIENTLY SITUATED APARTMENT”
Reviewed February 18, 2012 for a stay in February 2012
1
person found this review helpful

My family has just returned from a wonderful holiday in Rome. We enjoyed staying at the Minerva - the location was fab for self-caterers, and the shower was great! We had a warm welcome and Mary's notes in advance meant that we hit the ground running and made the most of our stay. We managed to avoid ALL queues. How? Visit the Vatican after lunch, and arrive at the Colosseum by 8.30am.
Thank you very much for everything Mary and Wolfango.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Good beds and good shower
Liked least: Lack of proper sofa.
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 17, 2012
Dear Daniel and Sophie,

Hello, thank you very much for the nice review, you really put your heart into it! We are so glad that you had a good stay in Rome and appreciate the comments you leave for future guests, that helps them understand the continuing quality of the Minerva and gives some tips on navigating Rome tourist sites. We hope that you have many good memories to share back home and that you'll be back to Rome again one day, once is never enough!

Best regards,

Mary Therese and Wolfango
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne C
Potomac, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stay here when you come to Rome!”
Reviewed January 16, 2012 for a stay in January 2012

In January 2012, I spent a week at the Minerva with my son and his girlfriend. We loved it and recommend it without hesitation.

The Minerva is spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The kitchen is well stocked. Although it is only a 15-minute walk to the Colosseum, it is not in the center of the tourist district, providing an opportunity to live among the locals. There is a supermarket across the street, a lively market a couple of blocks away, and many very good and inexpensive restaurants. Public transportation to all of the best sights is simple and cheap. Tip -- we found that if we were in a place not served by the Metro or by buses that go nearest to the Minerva, we could easily get back to the apartment by riding a bus to the Termini train station and catching the tram to the apartment.

Mary Therese and Wolfgango were top-notch hosts, extremely warm and helpful. Mary Therese showed us how to get around and served as a concierge, making dinner reservations for us, etc. Wolfgango showed us how everything worked in the apartment and entertained us with stories about Michaelangelo (he is an art history professor).

I hope to come back to Rome and to stay in this lovely apartment again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness, hosts
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 15, 2012
Dear Joanne and family,

Hello. Sorry for the belated reply, many thanks for the nice review of the Minerva. We hope that your stay left you many warm memories to bring back home with you. Hopefully you'll be back to Rome again, maybe in a warmer season next time, one trip is really never enough!

Best regards,

Mary Therese & Wolfango
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing