We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, clean, friendly owner” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Habana's Design

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Habana's Design
Ranked #1,435 of 3,735 Rome B&B and Inns
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location, clean, friendly owner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Arriving at Roma Termini by train, it is a 2 minute walk to this B&B. You get 3 keys (Front door, appartmentdoor & room) so you are free to go and come as you please. Eventhough you are very close to the station, there is no problem with noise from trains at all! You do hear some cars, but no trains!

Clean room, proper bed, mobile airconditioning, nice flat screen TV, and a easy safe to keep passports etc. Breakfast is very limited (some juice, cereal and milk and toast in the hallway that you can take to your room, but you should really go out and eat anyways, Rome has fantastic food).

Very friendly and helpful owner. After check-out (10.00) we could leave our bags and take the 2 keys with us (only to leave the room key) so we could pick them up when we liked (in our case around 17:30).

I would say this has everything you need for a visit to Rome, highly recommended.

As an additional tip, 2 restaurants within walking distance where we had the very best food:

http://www.trattoriavecchiaroma.it/
http://www.trattoriamorgana.com/

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evdz80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    29
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
34
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

It's very close to the Central Station, literally 5-minute walk and about two streets off the main road. We arrived late (about 10pm) but all we had to do was to just press the main door bell. The owner answered, opened the main door and let us in.

Breakfast was basic but the owner was nice to wake up early and buy us coffee when he knew that one of us was a coffee person. He offered us a city map and wrote us the wifi password upon our arrival.

The room was also neat, clean and bright, though the shower room could be a bit small and the water wasn't as boiling hot, which is something that you would want to have during the cold winter. If you're traveling during winter like me, one thing to note is that the heater isn't very strong and you probably wanna wear a sweater when you go to bed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jojofan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
131 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

I have always stayed in a 4-5 star hotel whenever I travel but I decided to be more frugal for this Italy trip as I have just quit my job. Rome is an expensive city for hotel accommodation. Although I have never stayed at a B&B, I decided to be a little more adventurous. I read a lot of B&B reviews around Termini area before settling on La Habana - a cozy, tastefully decorated little apartment with 3 rooms.

The B&B is located in a building on the 2nd floor. We arrived on a Friday morning at 11am and were too early for the 1pm check-in. There is an old looking lift but it works perfectly! So no lugging up our luggage. The owner was very nice and he let us leave our luggage outside the room. He also provided a map of Rome city for us. We picked the smallest yellow themed room as we didn't feel the need for a bigger one since we would be out most of the time. The room was clean and cozy for the 2 of us and the bed was just nice, not too hard, not too soft. There was a LCD TV but there was only one English channel that played super old MTVs.

As stated, the room did with come with an air-conditioner but it wasn't the wall-mounted ones we are used to. This one is a portable air-conditioner which was noisy. The piping which was supposed to be plugged into the window to release the hot air was loose so we had to push it though the window.

Breakfast was provided every morning on the counter-top in the walkway and the spread was very good. There were fresh pastries, bread, yogurt, bananas, cereals, coffee, juice etc. We brought the breakfast into the room where we sat at the table to eat comfortably.

The other 2 rooms were occupied throughout our stay but we hardly saw the occupants. They were very quiet and nobody disturbed anyone with loud talking or TV.

The bathroom was clean and I like that the toilet paper was the thick kind and not the cheap thin ones. Packets of shampoo/body gel were provided but we didn't use them. Towels were also provided but strangely, we had small towels for the 2 nights and bigger ones on the last night. One complaint I had was the poor water pressure in the shower. It was difficult to shower and I took forever to wash my long hair. The other complaint is the creaky bathroom door. It creaks really loud when we open and close it. The owner should really oil the hinges.

I also like that the room and toilet were cleaned every day and towels were replaced.

As for the location, La Habana is located directly less than 5 minutes walking distance from the train station. The room was quiet other than the occasional traffic noise. There are a lot of cafes, eateries and restaurants around the area. One thing to note... there are many touts in the area outside the B&B. We just declined politely and walk away without much issues except for one who harassed us. We also returned before 8pm every night as there are a lot of black people in the area and they do get rowdy when they get drunk.

Room Tip: If you do not have big luggages, the small yellow themed room is perfect for 2 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marietang79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landgraaf, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

It's a great budget b&b close to central station and a couple minutes away from the colosseum. The room was big enough and clean. Breakfast was basic, but we had a great stay and we would certainly come back!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay_K89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jinan, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

I stayed in this lovely hotel for four nights and it is really a good place to stay. The fashion room, the warm staff and the perfect location which is very close to termini make this small B&B a perfect place to stay. Also, the price is good compared to other hotels. I will be back once I get chance to go to Rome.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenniferzhen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

I did a lot of research to find a place in Rome that was close to the train, queen or king size bed (couple), good size shower, bathroom amenities included (blow dryer) and a price range between $100-$120 per night. THIS WAS THE PERFECT PLACE! You will read other reviews suggesting the location was questionable. However, even though the foot traffic outside the flat wasn't the most desirable, we totally felt safe and it didn't bother us at all. If you live in a city you are used to areas like this.It was one block from the train station (we traveled by foot and train so it was super easy!) and it was so peaceful (can't hear the trains). We were welcomed by Ulli (the owner) and he couldn't have been more helpful providing a map and good local spots to visit. We wouldn't have known about some of the local hot spots if it weren't for Ulli (highly valuable). We woke up each morning to a yummy breakfast (coffee, hard-boiled eggs, pastries, cereals, fresh fruits, yogurt and more). He rents out two rooms and we never saw our neighbor or heard them. We did enjoy seeing Ulli and his wife and we were very social with them. If you want privacy they will definitely give it to you. The location was perfect for walking to the local tourist spots and we even took the underground subway which was at the train station to get to the Vatican City. The transportation is super easy, no need for a car. The room was spotless/modern, the bathroom was very clean, new towels, wall mounted blow dryer, shelves for toiletries, free wireless, able to open the window for fresh air, large and spacious room with lounging seats. Ulli has worked hard and continues to update and add new features to the room. The front door to the building is locked (he gives you keys while you stay) which made it very secure a and safe. We loved our stay and would absolutely go back.

Room Tip: You would be happy with either room, there is only two.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stacey06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

The place is 3minute walk from termini station, the rooms are quite big and the bathroom was clean!

The breakfast was simple but good, continental breakfast, personally enjoyed a lot.

The owner was very nice and there was no problem with leaving the luggage on last day and picking it up in the evening just before flight.

Definately value for money and great location (decent restaurants nearby)

If I return too Rome again, I'll definately stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Izabelitta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Gioberti Art Hotel
Gioberti Art Hotel
#123 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Esquilino
La Girandola Bed & Breakfast
Esquilino
B&B Rome's Angel
B&B Rome's Angel
#740 of 3,735 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Flowerome
Flowerome
#696 of 3,735 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Esquilino
Valentino House
Valentino House
#1,112 of 3,735 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Esquilino
Hello Kitty B&B
Hello Kitty B&B
#2,773 of 3,735 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Habana's Design? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Habana's Design

Property: Habana's Design
Address: Via Carlo Cattaneo 31, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,435 of 3,735 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Habana's Design reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Habana Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing