We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice B&B, Excellent location.”
Review of La Papessa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Papessa
Ranked #119 of 3,712 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 9, 2013

In short, I agree completely with all the nice descriptions by other guests: The modern and well equipped rooms, the friendly and efficient service etc.etc.etc.
Two small comments, though, which apply to many hotels in Rome: Rooms are very well insulated, but nothing can completely stop the sound of an Italian ambulance siren tthrough a narrow street at night. And you must be able to walk the stairs up to La Papessa.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joralfen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CATERINA P, Responsabile reception at La Papessa, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Dears,

thank you very much for your comment.

All of us were pleased to welcome you and we hope to meet you again for your next trip to Rome.

"Grazie" again from La Papessa Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (282)
There are newer reviews for La Papessa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 282 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed at La Papessa last week for a few days while on vacation in Rome. The hotel is perfectly located--almost all major attractions are within easy walking distance. The rooms are fine--nothing extravagant, but clean and big enough and a great value for the price. The staff is extremely kind and helpful. We couldn't have been happier about the stay. If you are looking for a hotel with the perfect location and a great price--I highly recommend La Papessa.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EARPAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CATERINA P, HOTEL MANAGER at La Papessa, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

Hello Dears,

thank you for your review. We're happy that you enjoyed your stay at La Papessa and we hope to welcome you again.

Grazie and Arrivederci,
Caterina and all the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

With it's location in between Trevi Fountain and the Pantheon you can't find a better spot to be. All the major sites are within walking distance. The room was fine, neat and clean and the cold beer we found in the mini-bar upon arrival after a long trip sure hit the spot! Only criticism we had was one that the owner can do little about: this location is on a main street with lots of traffic and noise. If you're not used to that, it can make for a bit of disturbance at night like it did for us. Other than that it's a perfect B&B.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank WinnieB63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CATERINA P, HOTEL MANAGER at La Papessa, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

Hello Dears,

Many thanks for your review .
We are happy that you enjoyed La Papessa, but we are sorry for the noise that comes from the street. As you could see there are double glasses in the windows but in the meantime we're looking for something else that can stop the outside noise (maybe some special inside windows). The noise is a problem of the historical centre.
We hope to welcome you again and in this case we will assign you the quiet room (facing on the courtyard), you should just ask for it..

Thanks again and Ciao,
Caterina and the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Great location in city center, restaurants and shops. Everything is within walking distance.
Our well decorated room was very nice and comfortable; housekeeping was top notch.
Staff friendly, responsive, patient, and helpful, especially the tall woman at front desk.
Breakfast was a perfect start to the day, with a good supply on fresh ground coffee.
Just one negative point, the street noise, could be a problem if you're a light sleeper.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 293983John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CATERINA P, HOTEL MANAGER at La Papessa, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Hello Dears,

thank you so much for your review.
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at La Papessa and we're sorry for the noise from the street but..so is our city center!!
We are pleased to have met you and we really hope to welcome you again for your next trip to Rome.

Ciao,
Caterina and all the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Marcella gave us a warm welcome and we were given the room that we hoped for. It was a spacious and clean room with a nice view. Every morning there was a nice breakfast to start the day with. The location is perfectur stay was so pleasant that next time we will definately stay at Papessa again!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thewanderer2105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CATERINA P, Responsabile reception at La Papessa, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2013

Dears,

thank you very much for your comment , it is so important for us and for our job. Thank you also for having mentioned me, I try every day to make a good work and you make me know that I can.

Grazie again, I hope to welcome you very soon for your next trip in roma.

Ciao e arrivederci,
Marcella.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed in la Papessa for a couple of days during our New Year vactions. First of all, it's worth mentioning, that our communication with hotel was quite intensive before arrival. Catherina recomended for us couple of restaurants for New Year Eve and also an excursion program for the visit. As a result, wonderful restaraunt close to hotel was chosen. Also during the stay Massimo and Catherina showed us Rome from the tops of Rome's hills. So we had an unbelievable present to see Rome from the windows of Fiat 500 shown by Romans!!!This is really unbelievable experience!Regarding La Papessa!!!First, location-location-location!It is just in the heart of Rome, 5 min to Forum, 5 min to Trevi, 5 min to Pantheon and so on!!!! Second, rooms were quiet and clean. After long-long day of excursions, you can drink a cup of tea in your roam(there is a teapot), watch an Italian channel or look through guide books(there is a collection of guidebooks dedicated to Italy). Breakfast was also good. Dolce, fruits, yougurts, salami, eggs and caffe!The atmosphere was nice and very friendly!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lidia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CATERINA P, HOTEL MANAGER at La Papessa, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

Dear Lidia,

thank you so much for your kind review. We were pleased to have welcomed you. I thought that my Fiat 500 was too small for you but it was so nice when you told me that it was your favourite one.
I enjoyed our tour by car as you apreciated our city and I've seen the smile in your face.
I really hope to welcome you again and to know how you improved your Italian (it is already a good Italian).

Ciao,
Caterina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I had a wonderful stay at this hotel. The bed was comfy and the windows blocked out a lot of the street noise. This is an excellent location for checking out the must-sees of ancient Rome. I would definitely stay here again. Super nice staff. The only issue was had was booking one room that was bigger and getting stuck with a smaller room. However this seems to be the norm in Italy.

Room Tip: Some rooms are bigger than others.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bamoram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CATERINA P, HOTEL MANAGER at La Papessa, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

Hello,

many thanks for your review and of course we hope to welcome you again
Our rooms are all Superior and the size is more or less the same. One is smaller than the others (IL CAVALIERE DI SPADE). The "PAPA" has a sofa and it is a bit more comfortable than the others. Your room "IMPERATORE" and the "IMPERATRICE" have an armchair but the size is the same. As you know we have few rooms and it is difficult to assign a specific one, so that we apoligize if we couldn't assign you the one that you requested.
You also was super nice and we're pleased to have met you, as we are opening some new rooms, next time we will assign you the biggest one.

Ciao,
Caterina and all the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trevi
Hotel Regno
Hotel Regno
#156 of 1,267 in Rome
1,711 reviews
Colonna
Albergo Cesari
Albergo Cesari
#108 of 1,267 in Rome
1,575 reviews
Trevi
Hotel Caravita
Hotel Caravita
#101 of 3,712 in Rome
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trevi
Via del Corso Home
Via del Corso Home
#100 of 3,712 in Rome
141 reviews
Trevi
I Tre Moschettieri Luxury Guest House
Trevi
Town House Fontana Di Trevi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Papessa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Papessa

Address: Via del Corso 241 | Angolo Vicolo Sciarra 61, 00186 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trevi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 3,712 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: $109 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Papessa 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Papessa is located in the historical centre at 200 meters from Trevi's Fountain and 800 meters from Spanish Steps. Located in a XVI century building, our strategic position let you reach by foot all the most important places: Circus Maximus, Colosseum, Pantheon, Piazza Navona, Campo de'Fiori or to take the bus to the Vatican Museums. Pubs, trattorie, osterie, typical restaurantes and the shopping area of Via Condotti, Via Frattina, Via del Corso are just next to us. BREAKFAST Breakfast is served in the breakfast room or can be served in the room at a free cost. It's at continental way (8:00-10:30), with a rich choice of beverages (coffee, tea, italian cappuccino, milk, fruit juices, hot chocolate) and foods (toast bread, jams, butter, croissant, boiled eggs, cheese slices, italian salami, fresh fruits, cereals, yogurts, home made cakes). On request we can provide diabetic and celiac breakfast (no extra charge) STAFF We speak English and Spanish, some French, Portoguese and German and we will be very pleased to assist you and to help you with informations about the events and the curiosity of Rome. A city map will be provided and we will show you how to reach the main famous places. We are at La Papessa every morning from 8:00 untill 13:00 and sometimes also in the afternoon but you can always reach us by phone or Whatsapp - also during the night, just in case of any emergency :: ROOMS The rooms have decorated high ceilings (XVIII century) and antique forniture. Elegant and comfortable for a special relaxed vacation Double, double + extra bed or quadruple, they all have: private en-suite bathroom (shower box, courtesy kit, hair dryer) free wifi minifridge air conditioning safe (lap top size) tea/coffee facilities (tea/coffee free begs included) TV telephone for free local calls and emergency calls Daily Cleanings from 9:00 untill 11:00 For late arrivals, we can provide cold plate packaged directly in the room (extra charge) From 1st January 2011 a city tax will be applied, it is €3,5 per person per night Checkin until 18:00 (6pm) Checkout from 8:00am until 10:30am Please, inform us about your arrival time as we haven't any 24h reception service Airport transfer service (€50 to 80) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your La Papessa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Papessa Guest House Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing