We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay”
Review of La Papessa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Papessa
Ranked #128 of 3,669 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
“Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Our stay at La Papessa was wonderful experience. The Hosts spoke English well (which was nice for us) and were very helpful. The location was excellent. Our room was large and beautifuly decordated, quite and very clean. The bed was very comfortable. Our private bathroom was big and had lush thick towels. The B & B is located on the 3rd floor. There is an lift. We would highly reccomend La Papessa, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CATERINA P, hotel manager at La Papessa, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Hello Dears,

thank you so much for your review. We are happy that you enajoyed your stay at La Papessa and that you recommend it to other guests.

It was nice to talk with you during your stay and we really hope to welcome you again!!

All the best,
Caterina and all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    80
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
68
147
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

We were first daunted by the stairs, we were told by a workman the lift wasn't working and 6 flights of stairs with bags was hard work. The lift was working by the way!! Our room was remarkably quiet and a good size , importantly it was quiet. The only downsides were the shower cubicle, it was a tad cramped and for any large person it would prove very difficult to use; and the Wifi, which proved a tad temperamental. The location is absolutely great, so central to all the wonderful sites of Rome, we walked everywhere!
We were given a lot of help in arranging tickets for visits to the Vatican, certainly made things so easy for us. Continental breakfast was just fine, a good start to the day. All in all a great little guest house, we would most definitely come back

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ThomasAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CATERINA P, HOTEL MANAGER at La Papessa, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Hello Dears,

thank you very much for your kind review. Yes, the shower cubicle of your room is the smaller one in the B&B but also it is the only one with Jacuzzi shower system!!

We really hope to welcome you again at La Papessa,

Ciao a presto,
Caterina and Marcella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

My mother, sister and I stayed in a double room with extra bed, and the room was great. Big bathroom too. The air conditioning worked fine, but the wifi in the room was very in & out. Our telephone did not work either. The breakfast is good but not great. They are very helpful in planning your trip, providing maps, recommendations, etc. and it has an incredible location. A little tricky for taxi drivers to find but really not a big deal. We walked to the Pantheon, Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain. Incredible location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TakingmymomtoEu... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CATERINA P, hotel manager at La Papessa, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dears,

thank you for your kind review.

We were pleased to welcome you and, yes, sometimes there were some technical problems (wifi and telephone) that didn't depend on us but by network problems of the citybut and we have not been able to solve them.

As we always say, we appreciate all the suggestions of our guests (I mean for the breakfast) in order to do the best day by day.

Hope to welcome you again in a future.
Ciao,
Caterina and Marcella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herne, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The visit in Rome was a surprise for my wife and my thirteen years old son at the end of a four week roundtrip. I chose the La Papessa after I've checked more than hundreds of other accommodation facilities in and near Rome. I am very happy that I've found the La Papessa as a base to explore Rome. Very nice guesthouse in the heart of the city. Centrally located. Everything is in walking distance. Cosy and nice decorated clean rooms.
If you know the ordinary italian breakfast then the breakfast at La Papessa is more than average. Catherina who runs the Inn was lovely. She gave us so many tipps where to go in the evening and what is worth to visit at which time and what not. Many greetings to Massimo her husband who made a small privat city trip with us and showed us places that aren't nomally mentioned in any city guide. From a party of two it's worth considering about the taxi service they offer. The costs for the train to Termini and the bus to the guesthouse are nearly the same like the special rate for the taxi. And it's very convenient, too. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael_Gr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CATERINA P, HOTEL MANAGER at La Papessa, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dears,

thank you very much for your review. It was so nice to talk to you at breakfast time and to know about your experience in the other country where you stayed before checkin at La Papessa. You're really a lovely family!
Massimo and I hope to meet you again (there are more other unknown places in Rome to visit by private tour!!)

All the best!
Ciao,
Caterina and Massimo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

At the corner of Via del Corso and Vicolo Sciarra, the inn is located on the 3rd floor of an old palace. It has only six bedrooms, all with 12 foot ceiling and private bathroom. A cab was sent by the inn keeper to collect us at the airport and a gentleman was waiting for us when we arrived. He show us the way to the inn and to our surprise we ended up in a very large, well decorated and quiet bedroom with painted ceiling; all that in the very heart of Rome. From La Papessa, we could walk everywhere from the Coliseum to the Vatican. The inn keeper, a charming young lady speaking perfect English, was very friendly and knowledgeable about the city. She also was of very good advice for restaurants. Our three nights stay was very restful, particularly after busy days exploring the city. Thank you La Papessa.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reimmop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CATERINA P, HOTEL MANAGER at La Papessa, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you very much for your review.

We were pleased to welcome you and we're happy that you enjoyed your stay at La Papessa.

Hope to meet you agin in a future.

Ciao,
Caterina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012 via mobile

The is so central. No complaints. Avoid the restaurants at the entrance to the hotel as they are for tourists who don't know any better. We did take a restaurant reservation for Il Flachetto da Donato from this hotel which I also reviewed. Wouldn't recommend.

Anyway. Check in was a treat and the hotel transfer arrangement was welcomed.

Our room was excellent and well groomed and air conditioned. Wifi didn't work well in the rooms. Neither did the hot water which had to be turned on from a service room in the hallway before use. A little annoying for sure but fixable!

Would definitely return. Oh, would prefer to have real cheese on the breakfast platter as opposed to processed Kraft cheese!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TORN1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mudgee, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Stayed here as a couple for 3 nights in April 2012 and this was our first stop in Italy. We booked here after reading reviews on Trip Advisor & we were not disappointed. We booked a driver through the guest house to bring us from the airport, which was well worth it after a long flight from Australia. There is a small flight of stairs & a small lift (would fit one person & a large suitcase or 2 people on their own). We were met by Caterina who helped us carry heavy bags after we missed the lift. She was friendly, spoke great English, made us coffee, showed us our room & gave us handy information about restaurants etc.
Our room had a great feel to it, was comfortable with a wardrobe, small table, tv with lots of English channels,...which was great as many places didn't offer this. There was also free wifi. There was an opening window that looked down along Via del Corso. The bathroom was clean, convenient & little extras were provided.
La Papessa is in a great location for the major attractions. We walked everywhere from here as there is so much to see that you might miss out on if you don't walk. There are lots of places to eat & shop nearby. The train station is not far away. It cost us 8Euro on our departure.
Breakfast is served in a small area next to reception including pastries, cheeses, cold meats, cereal etc. It was a bonus to have toast as lots of place we went to didn't have toast. Caterina was there to make coffee & have a chat each morning.
We met Marcello on our last morning. She was also welcoming & friendly. Because we were leaving early the next, she arranged a breakfast tray to be left in our room so we wouldn't miss out.
We loved La Papessa & would highly recommend this as a place to stay for their location & service. We would definitely stay here again. Thank you Caterina & Marcella

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarissaN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trevi
Hotel Regno
Hotel Regno
#158 of 1,259 in Rome
1,673 reviews
Colonna
Albergo Cesari
Albergo Cesari
#108 of 1,259 in Rome
1,547 reviews
Trevi
Hotel Caravita
Hotel Caravita
#80 of 3,669 in Rome
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trevi
I Tre Moschettieri Luxury Guest House
Trevi
Via del Corso Home
Via del Corso Home
#109 of 3,669 in Rome
136 reviews
Trevi
Town House Fontana Di Trevi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Papessa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Papessa

Property: La Papessa
Address: Via del Corso 241 | Angolo Vicolo Sciarra 61, 00186 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trevi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 3,669 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Papessa 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Papessa is located in the historical centre at 200 meters from Trevi's Fountain and 800 meters from Spanish Steps. Located in a XVI century building, our strategic position let you reach by foot all the most important places: Circus Maximus, Colosseum, Pantheon, Piazza Navona, Campo de'Fiori or to take the bus to the Vatican Museums. Pubs, trattorie, osterie, typical restaurantes and the shopping area of Via Condotti, Via Frattina, Via del Corso are just next to us. BREAKFAST Breakfast is served in the breakfast room or can be served in the room at a free cost. It's at continental way (8:00-10:30), with a rich choice of beverages (coffee, tea, italian cappuccino, milk, fruit juices, hot chocolate) and foods (toast bread, jams, butter, croissant, boiled eggs, cheese slices, italian salami, fresh fruits, cereals, yogurts, home made cakes). On request we can provide diabetic and celiac breakfast (no extra charge) STAFF We speak English and Spanish, some French, Portoguese and German and we will be very pleased to assist you and to help you with informations about the events and the curiosity of Rome. A city map will be provided and we will show you how to reach the main famous places. We are at La Papessa every morning from 8:00 untill 13:00 and sometimes also in the afternoon but you can always reach us by phone or Whatsapp - also during the night, just in case of any emergency :: ROOMS The rooms have decorated high ceilings (XVIII century) and antique forniture. Elegant and comfortable for a special relaxed vacation Double, double + extra bed or quadruple, they all have: private en-suite bathroom (shower box, courtesy kit, hair dryer) free wifi minifridge air conditioning safe (lap top size) tea/coffee facilities (tea/coffee free begs included) TV telephone for free local calls and emergency calls Daily Cleanings from 9:00 untill 11:00 For late arrivals, we can provide cold plate packaged directly in the room (extra charge) From 1st January 2011 a city tax will be applied, it is €3,5 per person per night Checkin until 18:00 (6pm) Checkout from 8:00am until 10:30am Please, inform us about your arrival time as we haven't any 24h reception service Airport transfer service (€50 to 80) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Papessa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Papessa Guest House Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing